We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Cosy, relaxing atmosphere & helpful personnel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Tuscia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Tuscia
Ranked #245 of 512 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Leiden, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“Cosy, relaxing atmosphere & helpful personnel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

The hotel is outside the medina, however it is not too difficult to reach the centre from there. The rooms are cosy, the hotel is very nicely decorated and gives a good feeling. Personnel is very helpful and pro-active.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swedish_Lithuanian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    53
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
18
75
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Well what can I say, just a simply delightful place. We were recommended this place by a lady that met one of our group in India and what a fantastic recommendation it was. We booked through booking.com. I contacted the Riad before we went and they kindly offered to arrange transport to pick us up as the Riad is very difficult to find first time – I would strongly recommend that if you book here you take them up on this offer – its not expensive and very helpful.

When we arrived at the Riad, Naima was so welcoming, she made us some lovely mint tea and cake and showed us to our rooms.

Now if you are expecting a 4 star plush hotel – you are in the wrong place! If you are expecting an authentic Moroccan experience then this is the place to be.

The rooms are simple, but clean, and comfortable. In typical Riad style there is a lovely inside courtyard with open roof, there is also a lovely lovely roof top area where you can look out over the Medina and either sit in the sun or shade and relax.

Our hostess, Naima was so lovely, nothing was too much trouble, breakfast is served between 8 and 11 am, but its nice if you let her know what time you would like it, again it is simple, but filling and really sets you up for the day. She very kindly offered to cook for us as well and we took her up on her offer on our final day for lunch – we were not disappointed – she cooked us a fantastic Moroccan Chicken Tagine which was superb – probably one of the best we had all holiday. She also arranged an excursion for us up into the Atlas mountains which was a lot of fun.

Would we return to the Riad – yes – would we return to Marrakech – probably not – the experience was great but once was enough!

Moving away from the Riad, a few tips for Morocco; the Medina is an impossible place to find your way around – if you can get a good map before you travel I would recommend it – we didn’t and spent one day exceedingly lost and it was quite frightening; not from the point of view of the people but because we simply could not find a way out!

Do not follow any one anywhere – however helpful you think they are trying to be – we got conned one day into going down to the Berber Tanneries because apparently it was the only week of the year they were there (yeah right!). First of all we were tripped up by a motorcyclist who said he was sorry, asked where were going – trying to be friendly, we said the Souks he said oh you must visit the tanneries and of gosh here is a tanner he will take you down, foolishly we followed, he spun us this line of how it was his father’s business blah blah blah – left us at the tannery with someone to show us round who duly did so then dumped us in a shop at the end. After being shown all the goods we said we did not want to buy anything and left; as we left I saw the first guy who had let us down there hanging around and then the other one who had showed us round the tannery turned up demanding money because we had not bought anything for our trip round the tannery – we managed to get away with throwing a few coins at him – my husband firmly told him we were not having it and we walked off – that was our unpleasant experience.

The other thing is that they try to sell sell sell to you all the time and that puts you off. If you want to buy something but don’t like the pushiness of it all there is a government run shop down by the catacombs which has prices on the merchandise and is very reasonable.

Do stay at Riad Dar Tuscia
Do go down the Souks for the experience.
Do drink orange in the square it is delicious
Do visit the Yves St Laurent Gardens
Do eat authentic dishes
Do be vigilant
Do enjoy your Moroccan experience
DON’T be conned

Room Tip: They are all different so any is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Crystalfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Tucked away in an alley near Gare Routiere is a gem of a Riad - felt more like home than a place to rest my weary bones exploring the old town and a well placed base of operations. The staff are very warm and hospitable, and are incredibly helpful in arranging excursions and guidance in what to do in the old/new town.
Highly recommended, and would have no hesitation in staying there again should I ever decide to pop back to Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irfan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

On welcome I was greeted with the most amazing pot of mint tea. All the staff were very friendly and warm. The room was very clean and comfortable.

The house itself is situated very close to the main Medina and taxi are literally a 3 minute walk away.

Breakfast consisted of a selection of pastries, freshly squeezed orange juice and a choice of tea and coffee.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

What a little gem in all the hustle and bustle. We were picked up at the airport and arrived safely at the Riad. Naima was a great host and couldnt do enough for us. She even showed us the way out of the area and was always there when needed. She is an asset to this little Riad and very accommodating, so friendly and helpful at all times. Will stay again if in area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 51jada123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

This was a lovely little Riad located near to the grand taxi stand. All communication with the Riad prior to our travel was dealt with promptly and efficiently. We were a group of 4 friends for a three night stay, and were met at the airport and transported easily and safely to the Riad.

We we warmly greeted on arrival by Naima who was absolutely delightful. She was very friendly, helpful and patient with us. Naima offered us some tea and she also made us some food as we were quite peckish.

We got good advice, information and suggestions from her on things to do and see and places to eat. Having never experienced a Hammam before, we tried it at the Riad after a trip to the mountains, Naima explained it all to us and it was well worth every euro! Fantastic.

This was lovely experience for us all and would recommend it to others without reservation. Not high end luxury but a real gem of a find, small, cosy and informal and would definitely use it again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the first floor are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dross18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I stayed here with two friends. The ladies running it , Asma and Naima, were delightful, full of good advice about shopping prices, where to go and how to get there. It was about 25 minutes walk from the central square and the souks, through interesting back lanes. The rooms were clean,with pristine bed linen.. We had a home cooked meal there, which was delicious, and I would definitely return there. Beautiful rooms full of character, and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lindam28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#254 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#306 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Noor Charana
Riad Noor Charana
#215 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#249 of 512 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#219 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#259 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Tuscia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tuscia

Property: Dar Tuscia
Address: 91 Dior Jdad Zaouia Elabbessia Bad Doukala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Marrakech
#141 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Tuscia 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Tuscia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Tuscia Marrakech
Dar Tuscia Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing