We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect host”
Review of Riad L'Emir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad L'Emir
Ranked #75 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 28, 2010

Brice Counil was the perfect host from start to finish.He has worked hard to establish this perfectly relaxingand comfortable riad.The rooms were large with wonderful beds and excellent showers. tv, internet and even skype if you want it.Brice had many things to recommend and even took time to drive us to our hotel in the mountains. We found his assistant very efficient. We are not fluent in french but had no probs in communicating. The breakfast(crepes,fresh baguettes jams honey and fresh orange juice )on the roof were delicious and there were no set times for rising or retiring.we preferred to experience the local atmosphere so always ate out. I am sure if wanted a basic meal could be provided if requested in advance.In fact anything I requested Brice always said no problem. we certainly would return to this oasis.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank justquality
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (208)
There are newer reviews for Riad L'Emir
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 208 reviews

Reviewed December 9, 2009

I rarely write reviews, although after this trip I realized that I rely on my fellow traveler's to make decisions about where I will stay and what I will do, so thank you.
I did a lot of research to find the perfect Riad for my five nights in Marrakech, especially since I was traveling alone.
Riad L'Emir was a beautiful space, but did not provide the ammenities advertised.
Please be aware there is NO restaurant and NO hammam at the Riad.
The man attending to the Riad was very nice, but does not speak a word of English, only French. This made it difficult to ask for advice or recommendations, and to even figure out how to check-in and out. It would have been really nice to ask questions and to get directions. If I knew this was only a French speaking Riad I would have opted to stay elsewhere.
The location of the Riad was wonderful and the internet connection was fast and reliable.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank hibariSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2009

The riad was beyond lovely -- clean, comfortable, beautifully decorated and gorgeous rooftop terrace. And the hosts are the most charming ones that I have come across in my many travels. Very welcoming, more helpful than any concierge in a 5 star hotel. Delicious breakfast on the terrace! The location is key -- only 5 minutes to main square but on a quiet side street. I will absolutely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris_suisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2008

Me and my partner travel extensively to many destinations around the world and usually stay in 4 or 5 star hotels. But Riad L'Emir was a totally different experience which we will not forget! We had the choice between several Riads but opted for this one simply because of the size of the rooms, wireless connection (given that I work while travellng and carry my laptop) and the proximity to the Square! The owner Brice also spoke English which really helped! Getting to the Riad was very easy - we simply booked the transfer with the Riad directly. There was a short walk from the car park but nothing too significant. When entering the Riad, we were pleased to see how tranquil it really was. It had a lot of character and the rooms were so spacious and tastefully done. Instantly we clicked with the owner, who told us that he had designed everything from scratch and we could see how every detail of the Riad had been thought through so well! The bathrooms were big and really nice. And the water pressure of the shower was brilliant! There were loads of TV channels to keep you busy but we hardly watched TV given that we were so busy dining and wining in some of the best decorated restuarants in the world and of course clubbing! The Riad was practically a few short mins walk from the square and is an ideal spot to get to everywhere!

While staying at the Riad, we were served breakfast daily on the roof top by the very helpful by the assistant and Brice was really helpful in guiding us where to go and what to do on a daily basis. He helped us tremendously shape our plans and also took us to the Atlas mountain - which was an experience we wont forget!

People say Morocco is too commercialised but I did not think so - the country is rich in culture and colour and there is so much to do. The local food choice can be limited to tajines, pastillas and couscous but that did not bother us too much. The markets, the restuarants, cafes, people, monuments and clubs kept us very very busy for 4 days. Our experience being this good boiled down to mainly staying at this Riad. If it wasnt for Brice we would have done things very differently and perhaps would have not got the best out of our trip.

All in all - we will recommend this Riad to anyone. There were really no negatives to mention!

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank shakraks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2008

This small Riad is close to all the main square action and souks but in a quiet setting. The standard of accommodartion is excellent and the service wonderful thanks to the friendliness of the owner - a definite recommendation.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank VillagerWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2007

I am a New York area based International Lawyer who has traveled extensively throughout Europe, the Middle East and Africa for both business and pleasure. This was my first trip to Marrakech, and I did not know what to expect, but I could not have made a better choice than Riad L'Emir! First, the Riad has a perfect location in a cozy and authentic quarter of the Medina and only a short (4-5 min.), but interesting, walk to Djemaa el Fna and the Souks. The Riad itself is expertly stylized blending the atmosphere of old world Morocco with 21st Century convenience and comfort. The staff was very friendly and looked after my every concern. The owner, Brice, took me on a "once in a lifetime" tour of the High Atlas Mountains which even astonished an experienced traveler like me! I was traveling by myself and found Riad L'Emir to be a great option for the single traveler! All in all I could not have enjoyed my trip to Marrakesh more and would stronly suggest Riad L'Emir as the "world savvy" traveler's choice of accommodation!

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Coles38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2007

A beautifully designed little Riad a few minutes from the main square in the Medina within Marrakesh.
We stayed for 9 nights in October 2007 and were delighted with our stay in this lovely Riad, designed and built by its french owner, Brice. Brice (who speaks passable English) and his assistant looked after us very well and could not have been more welcoming and friendly.

The Riad is very conveniently situated a few minutes walk from the main square in the Medina, and within easy walking distance of the souks and Gueliz.. Amazingly, it is very peaceful, despite its proximity to the hussle and bussle of the main square. Brice has designed each room uniquely and in a warm, traditional, colourful, moroccan style (all air-conditioned). There is a lovely, large roof terrace (ideal for breakfasting in the shade, or lounging in the warm evenings), and a comfortable dining/lounge are with a plunge pool on the ground floor. We were even treated to a delicious home cooked traditional moroccan meal half way through our stay.

Highly recommended if you want a friendly, relaxed atmosphere within lovely surroundings. I wish Brice well with his venture.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank southernsofty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#85 of 502 in Marrakech
333 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.0 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#94 of 502 in Marrakech
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#69 of 502 in Marrakech
547 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#57 of 502 in Marrakech
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 502 in Marrakech
1,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad L'Emir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad L'Emir

Address: 10 Bis Derb El Arsa Kennaria | Kennaria, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: $86 - $144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad L'Emir 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxurious guesthouse with a contemporary style, completely refurbished in 2005 and expertly blending simplicity and technology. The Riad L'Emir is a residence with great character situated in Marrakesh's medina, a refuge of peace and tranquillity. Here, the comfort of a modern hotel establishment and the refinement of traditional local architecture are united in great harmony. When night falls, the exoticness that envelops the location becomes more intense thanks to the magical light arrangements installed around the indoor swimming pool. In this extremely relaxing ambience daydreams and reverie come into their own. The silhouette of the Kutubia reflects on to the terrace to complete the beautiful setting of this peaceful place where relaxation can not be avoided. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad L'Emir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing