We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Top choice!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Karama
Ranked #68 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“Top choice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We planned to stay only one night in this beautiful riad but after trying out a few others we came back and finished our vacation here. Wonderful atmosphere, spotlessly clean, very central and run by Michel and his welcoming and friendly staff. The rooms are simple but beautiful and the service leaves nothing to wish for. Breakfast is nice and generous. Definitely the place we will stay at next time we visit Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms in the bottom floor has no AC but is naturally cooled anyway. Second floor rooms have AC...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Staffan_Weigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous 2 et ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'apprécier cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

559 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    109
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
73
290
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had very little time lift of our 2-weeks stay in Marocco as we booked for 3 nights in Riad Al Karama, but we still decided to stay longer as we truly loved the place. Hard to find first, but no problem afterwards. 5 min from the main square Djemaa el Fnaa, in the medina - near all the shops, main sight of Marrakesh. Meticulously clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and just can´t describe the breakfast on the rooftop - really enjoyed our stay! Would recommend to stay if you want unexeptional service for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yvette929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Marrakech and the first time we have stayed in a riad to which we would really like to return.It is beautifully decorated,clean and comfortable,very central in the Medina, but quiet and peaceful.The very efficient airport transfer and the delicious meal on our first evening took all the hassle out of our arrival and was a huge plus,as well as being extremely good value. The staff were delightful,always helpful,and the breakfasts were very good. The roof terrace is a lovely relaxing place to sit and prepare yourself for the next exciting foray into the chaos of Marrakech. Thank you,Michel,for a lovely stay,and we hope you found the whisky.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thanks tripadvisor for the wonderful recommendation of this riad! My boyfriend and I spent three nights here and despite even having read the glowing reviews before coming we were still quite blown away by how beautifully our room was. The riad is a nice, quiet retreat from the street and the roof terrace is lovely. On top of that, we were picked up from the airport smoothly and right on time and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. On our first night we were served a delicious traditional Moroccan dinner on the rooftop and throughout our stay the breakfasts were great and ample.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous 2 et ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous : votre bonne humeur, votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'avoir apprécié cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurim, Jihomoravsky Kraj, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thanks Tripadvisors reviewes I expect very nice riad, but even so I was surprised. Moreover owner and staff are friendly and helpful, they serve delicious breakfasts, it´s just 5minutes from Djemaa El Fna, in hot clima (about 40 degrees) still pleasantly... so what we can wish more ?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Make sure you stay at Michel's Riad when discovering Marrakesh and its surroundings - we stayed three nights and had a great time.
- Rate included airport pick-up and a delicious dinner
- Michel organised a daytrip to 3 mountain valleys for us w/ a dedicated driver which was picturesque and very insightful
- The Riad is in the middle of the historic centre w/ lots of winding alleys and hidden corners, super atmospheric

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Google Translation
Merci aussi à vous, Sara et Thomas, d'avoir choisi le Riad Al Karama pour vos vacances à Marrakech.
Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir participé à la réussite de votre séjour.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous assurons de toute notre sympathie :
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Riad El Karama is one of the most beautiful places we've been to. It's located inside the narrow streets of Marrakech, right in the heart of the city and 5 minutes walking distance from Djemaa El Fna, the city's central square. The hotel is completely renewed and decorated in a typical Moroccan style. Beautiful and very cozy. Very clean. Very quite. Very relaxed atmosphere. Not too big, not too small, just simply perfect. Michel and all his staff have always been very nice and helpful. Great food and delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking the roofs of Marrakech. For sure we will book El Karama on our next visit to Marrakech. We really loved it !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SilviaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Google Translation
Merci beaucoup, chère Silvia, d'avoir choisi le Riad Al Karama.
Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir contribué à la réussite de votre séjour à Marrakech.
J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous revoir.
Toute l'équipe du Riad AL KARAMA se joint à moi pour vous adresser toute notre sympathie :
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#90 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#4 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#18 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#54 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#160 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#21 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Property: Riad Al Karama
Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Karama 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing