We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real oasis in Marrakesh”
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Al Karama
Ranked #109 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had very little time lift of our 2-weeks stay in Marocco as we booked for 3 nights in Riad Al Karama, but we still decided to stay longer as we truly loved the place. Hard to find first, but no problem afterwards. 5 min from the main square Djemaa el Fnaa, in the medina - near all the shops, main sight of Marrakesh. Meticulously clean rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and just can´t describe the breakfast on the rooftop - really enjoyed our stay! Would recommend to stay if you want unexeptional service for reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvette929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (582)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 582 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

This was our fourth visit to Marrakech and the first time we have stayed in a riad to which we would really like to return.It is beautifully decorated,clean and comfortable,very central in the Medina, but quiet and peaceful.The very efficient airport transfer and the delicious meal on our first evening took all the hassle out of our arrival and was a huge plus,as well as being extremely good value. The staff were delightful,always helpful,and the breakfasts were very good. The roof terrace is a lovely relaxing place to sit and prepare yourself for the next exciting foray into the chaos of Marrakech. Thank you,Michel,for a lovely stay,and we hope you found the whisky.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 622peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Thanks tripadvisor for the wonderful recommendation of this riad! My boyfriend and I spent three nights here and despite even having read the glowing reviews before coming we were still quite blown away by how beautifully our room was. The riad is a nice, quiet retreat from the street and the roof terrace is lovely. On top of that, we were picked up from the airport smoothly and right on time and the staff were very welcoming and friendly. On our first night we were served a delicious traditional Moroccan dinner on the rooftop and throughout our stay the breakfasts were great and ample.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amelia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour et mille mercis pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous 2 et ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous : votre bonne humeur, votre façon de savoir savourer les petits détails de la vie et d'avoir apprécié cette immersion dans notre quartier populaire, mais si chaleureux....la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous adressons nos amicales salutations très ensoleillées !!!
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Thanks Tripadvisors reviewes I expect very nice riad, but even so I was surprised. Moreover owner and staff are friendly and helpful, they serve delicious breakfasts, it´s just 5minutes from Djemaa El Fna, in hot clima (about 40 degrees) still pleasantly... so what we can wish more ?

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theo2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013
Google Translation

Bonjour et encore merci pour votre chaleureux commentaire.
Je suis ravi que ce bref séjour ait été bénéfique pour vous.
Ce fut, pour nous aussi, un réel plaisir de partager avec vous ces quelques moments dans la vraie vie marocaine.
Nous vous disons à une prochaine fois.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous transmettons nos meilleures salutations ensoleillées.
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Make sure you stay at Michel's Riad when discovering Marrakesh and its surroundings - we stayed three nights and had a great time.
- Rate included airport pick-up and a delicious dinner
- Michel organised a daytrip to 3 mountain valleys for us w/ a dedicated driver which was picturesque and very insightful
- The Riad is in the middle of the historic centre w/ lots of winding alleys and hidden corners, super atmospheric

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013
Google Translation

Merci aussi à vous, Sara et Thomas, d'avoir choisi le Riad Al Karama pour vos vacances à Marrakech.
Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir participé à la réussite de votre séjour.
Toute l'équipe du Riad se joint à moi et nous vous assurons de toute notre sympathie :
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Riad El Karama is one of the most beautiful places we've been to. It's located inside the narrow streets of Marrakech, right in the heart of the city and 5 minutes walking distance from Djemaa El Fna, the city's central square. The hotel is completely renewed and decorated in a typical Moroccan style. Beautiful and very cozy. Very clean. Very quite. Very relaxed atmosphere. Not too big, not too small, just simply perfect. Michel and all his staff have always been very nice and helpful. Great food and delicious breakfast on the terrace overlooking the roofs of Marrakech. For sure we will book El Karama on our next visit to Marrakech. We really loved it !!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SilviaDV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013
Google Translation

Merci beaucoup, chère Silvia, d'avoir choisi le Riad Al Karama.
Nous sommes très heureux d'avoir contribué à la réussite de votre séjour à Marrakech.
J'espère que nous aurons le plaisir de vous revoir.
Toute l'équipe du Riad AL KARAMA se joint à moi pour vous adresser toute notre sympathie :
Eric, Aziz, Fatima, Ali et Michel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Another short break in Marrakech, made all the easier by the convenient situation of this riad, helpful owners & staff. We were warmly welcomed by Michel, Eric & their team. We enjoyed another delicious meal prepared by Eric. A place where you are made to feel at home from the first step through through the door. We will be back again very soon....!
Thank you to Michel, Eric, Aziz, Ali & Fatima. And a special thanks to Josephine the tortoise!!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nikilovesthisplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you, too, Niki and Linda, your trust and your loyalty.
It is always a pleasure to see you again.
Moreover, we shall meet again soon, because your next visit is scheduled for April 1st, just before your trek in the Atlas.
I remain at your disposal and the whole team joins me Riad:
Eric, Aziz Fatima, Ali, Michel, and of course Josephine, our famous turtle ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Slawi
Riad Slawi
#93 of 502 in Marrakech
390 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Zara
Riad Zara
#98 of 1,167 in Marrakech
440 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Bayti Marrakech
Riad Bayti Marrakech
#87 of 1,167 in Marrakech
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Linda
Riad Linda
#163 of 1,167 in Marrakech
258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Asdika
Dar Asdika
#59 of 1,167 in Marrakech
200 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Benbrahim
Dar Benbrahim
#120 of 1,167 in Marrakech
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #109 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $35 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Karama 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing