We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A fantastic riad in a fantastic location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Al Karama
Ranked #52 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic riad in a fantastic location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic stay at the Riad al Karama and we were so impressed by this small but perfectly formed riad. The place is gorgeous, relaxed and homely - the perfect retreat when the heat and bustle gets a bit much. The staff were really charming and looked after us perfectly - breakfast really exceeded expectations and the evening meal we had ended up being one of the best of our stay. We stayed in the Cannelle room on the ground floor which was really pretty and had a huge shower. The location is SO GOOD - about a 5 minute stroll to the main square. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    108
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
286
32
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed at Riad Al Karama for 4 nights early February 2012. We truly enjoyed the time we spent there. The Riad has been completely renovated, is support clean and well maintained and the staff is really helpful and friendly, I completely disagree with the comment from the Australian lady, Michel and Eric the owners manage their property really well and keep an eye on everything to make sure that there guests are comfortable. They will provide advises and can book expeditions and visits at spas in the city. I highly recommend this Riad and would definitely go back. The Riad is conveniently located very close to all major attractions.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We could not have asked for more at Riad Karama - I would recommend this gorgeous riad to anyone and will defiinitely be going back (in fact, we returned for two nights after our travels before flying out). Michel, Eric, Aziz and Miriam looked after us beautifully and knew our needs even before we did! Mint tea and snacks appeared readily after tiring days in the busy souqs, Michel kindly recommended and made bookings for us at places that turned out to be fantastic choices on our family road trip. We had two wonderful meals in the riad where we felt both truly spoilt and at home - Eric is wonderful cook - and it was so cosy, comfortable and charming we felt like never going out again! Thank you to you all (and Josephine the tortoise) for a memorable and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Le Riad est idéalement situé, c'est-à-dire pas trop loin de la place Jamaa el Fna, ni trop près de la place (car trop bruyant). On a beaucoup apprécié l'accueil et le service du riad. Michel (le patron) nous a donné d'excellents conseils sur les restaurants sur Marrakech. Je vous recommande vivement ce riad.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MeuBy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Marrakesh is our first planned desitnation in Morocco after a long flight from Singapore. The abundence of date trees and pink colour houses of Marrakesh is a big feast to our eye after the 4 hours train journal from Casablanca airport to Marrakesh with dry and dull scenary. The neatly decorated Raid Al Karama is a good introduction of Marrakesh raid architecture to us as a first comer to Morroco.

We took a taxi to Djemaa el-Fna (the famous square in Marrakesh) from train station. Note - The distance from train station to Djemaa el-Fna is short. You must ask the driver to set the meter. It takes about 20 to 30 dirhams. We forgot about this and we were charged for 50 dirhams.

To go to Raid Al Karama from Djemaa el-Fna, we walk to Cafe de France, take the street Dabachi, then the 5th street on the right (the Derb Jdid), then left after the small tunnel, it is at number 119. It is not difficult to find and it is conveniently located. Someone may offer to take you to the riad. It is okay as long as you negotiate the price before hand. They will normally say their service is free but majority of them (98% based on our experience of our 2 weeks trip in Morocco) are not so be aware of this.

The raid is not big but it includes everything you need and to view. There is a nice terrace on top over looking the old town of Marrakesh where you have your breakfast and tea there. The centre of the raid is a resting place (courtyard) with a small fountain, some sofa in red and some green plants (with a small banana tree). The combination of green and red colour is good. The environment is quiet and comfortable. There is also a beautiful dining hall (see photo) where you can have breakfast if terrace is too cold.

The owner Michel is helpful. We were treated some biscults with mint tea at the terrace when we arrived in the late afternoon. Michel has spent some times with us to explain about how to explore Marrakesh by foot. We found Raid Al-Karama is actually near (walking distance) to a number of main sites like Bahia Palace, Badi Palace and Ali Ben Youssef Merdersa. Aziz, one of the staff is very friendly and helpful too. We chated with him sometimes and this has added the personal touch of Raid Al-Karama. There is one morning we need to leave Marrakesh early. Aziz is very kind to extend his help to prepare some simple breakfast for us in short notice.

Overall, we like the place and the people. If you are looking for a nice and comfort raid with Morrocon interior, small enough to have personal touch, with good location near to Djemaa el-Fna, affordable rate - Al Karama is the choice.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChongHui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

Arrived at Riad around 7am from a long journey from Fes and was greeted with a smile by Aziz a staff member. He was great in providing a place to relax and provided blankets as the riad was fully occupied.
About an hour later another staff member arrived (Miriam). She stopped in front of me and glared as if we were intruders and were unwelcome. She then went on to raising her voice at Aziz, where you could see he was embarrassed by her outrage.
We later met the owner Michel who was welcoming and informed us our room would be available at 12pm which we were fine with.
We went for a walk and returned to relax on the terrace.
At 12.30pm I asked Miriam when our room would be available with her replying in 2 hrs. She made it clear she was not in a hurry to have our room ready. We had to shower in a room that wasn't cleaned. We spoke to the owner later that afternoon who was concerned but replied its Moroccan culture which is not the case. He offered appetisers for the inconvenience but added he would appreciate it if we didnt review the Riad. Upon our departure the next morning, Miriam did not bother in thanking us for our stay and just glared. Apart from the location, there is not much to this Riad.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurebug1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riadalkarama_9, Propriétaire at Riad Al Karama, responded to this review, November 25, 2011
I am not at all agree with this comment. What happened? A glance of our customers used Myriam ... arrived at 7am, and we have a free breakfast and blankets. When I went to lunch 12 am, customers wanted absolutely to check in at 12:30 p.m., while the previous guests had gone to 12 pm. Myriam has refused, since the room was not ready and in general they are given only from 14h ... that's why our clients have taken a shower in a room that had not been cleaned. Miriam is my employee since the opening of Riad and I have had nothing but compliments on it. I tried to explain to customers and can say they have worked hard on Miriam and showed a lot of intolerance. I really regret this incident.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere near Wales.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Another relaxing & comfortable stay in Riad al Karama. The staff are totally competent and very caring assisting us with phone calls in Arabic to a lesson or two in darija! Great breakfasts, comfy bed, lovely showers. Great home from home for us!

Room Tip: No swimming pool! For super luxury book the Paprika suite. Canelle bedroom has a very large shower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikilovesthisplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#57 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#49 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#10 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Mboja
Riad Mboja
#55 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#29 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Alwachma
Riad Alwachma
#44 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Property: Riad Al Karama
Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Karama 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing