We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Al Karama...nice people better Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Al Karama

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Al Karama
Ranked #54 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
alicante
1 review
“Riad Al Karama...nice people better Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Alberto & Juanma, we arrived to the riad my birthday, my first impression was really good excellent clean and gentle people from the workers of riad to the owners Michelle and Eric very nice persons.... we came back in the night after a fantastic walk to place Jamal Fna that is really close to the riad... and my surprise the put a present and a greeting card into my room wishing me happy birthday, things like this make it deserve the pity go to riad al karama... everything was clean, easy the breaksfast was excellent the treat of eveyone was amazing...thank you for a great visit

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alver3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    108
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
70
286
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

From the very first email, the service I experienced from Riad Al Karama was the very best!! Michel, Aziz and everyone at the Riad were very helpful, welcoming, and friendly - and this was much appreciated as it was the first time I had visited Morocco.
Their insights and advice on the area was invaluable and I was very grateful for Michel's help in organising airport transfers and also for providing me with an excellent map and directions to the sights, restaurants and services. All of this really made my time in Marrakech a wonderful experience!
The Riad's gorgeous rooftop terrace is a haven and the perfect setting for delicious Moroccan meals (thank you Mariem!) and for chatting over the day's adventures. My room was perfect - beautifully decorated, very well kept and a fantastic authentic Riad experience!
The location is great as it is very close to the market place and souks as well as being within walking distance to all of the sights.
I couldn't have asked for more. 10 out of 10 - Perfect!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank diquarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

The riad Al Karama offers to its hosts a great reception, hospitality and professionalism, with a staff headed by Michel. It is situated in the center of Marrakech, very close to the square Jmaa el Fna. The riad is fantastic, beautiful, beautifully restored and very comfortable, and breakfast was great every day, varied and delcious. It has different rooms with its own bathroom and with a nice decoration, wich care all de details. And Michel offers you very good advises, recomendations and services. For us was EXCELENT!
When we return to Marrakech repeat!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikelorbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somewhere near Wales.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My third stay at this Riad - consistently high standards of service and cleanliness. Nothing was too much trouble for the owners, Michel & Eric or the staff who attended to everything for us with kindness and a smile! We were lucky with the weather this trip so able to spend more time on the roof terrace and enjoy the great breakfasts up there too.
An amazing short break in the city and in a very beautiful and relaxing riad.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikilovesthisplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We booked this Riad on the strength of previous reviews and were not disappointed. It is small but perfectly formed - a slice of Marrakesh as you imagine it should be. The decor is lovely - all carved wooden doors, beautiful rugs and lamps, gold, greens and reds. The staff were wonderful - the best food we had all weekend was Meriams lemon chicken which was part of a three course lunch we had prebooked and was waiting for us shortly after we arrived.
The staff were constantly cleaning and always cheerful and welcoming - can't say enough good things about them. As the city is not awash with bars we took some duty free drinks with us and they were happy to bring ice and glasses up to the terrace each evening so we could have a sundowner or two. It is possible that they can arrange drinks but we didn't ask so can’t be sure about that. The riad has only 5 rooms and we were in four of them so it felt like we were in our own private house for most of the time.
The Riad is very close to the Jemaa El Fna but it is still possible to lose you bearings at first so make sure you have some small change or a supply of pens and the local kids will guide you back. Actually, they will guide you back whether you want them to or not but they are very sweet.
The rooms are all en-suite and my shower was always hot and had good water pressure. You will need to take your own shampoo and hair dryer but large bath towels are provided. You will need a travel adapter as the plugs are two pin.
The weather was perfect - sunny and warm but not baking hot. We could doze on the sun beds on the terrace but didn't get sticky and exhausted in the heat while wandering around the town. Breakfast was served on the terrace at whatever time you requested. It was continental and varied slightly each day. Do look out for Josephine the tortoise who lives up there.
There is a row of Banks, most with cash machines just off the Jemma el Fna so getting cash is easy. Obviously as you are in a city there a thousand and one places to eat.
There are so many things to do around the city but I can recommend a walk through the Yves St Laurent gardens (cool, shady & beautiful) followed by a BLT lunch & cocktail on the terrace at La Mamounia (extravagant but worth it).
All in all we found the Riad to be well positioned, priced and appointed – also very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Divingbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

Excellent location in a quiet authentic area of Marrakech (medina), a few steps from the main place Jema El Fna.

Great value for money

Spacious and clean rooms with a common rooftop terrace

Staff are very gentle and very helpfull

if we had to go back to Marrekech, for sure this is the place we will be

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mingalabar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2010

Cozy and charming riad managed by friendly and helpful staff. It is on a quiet place on a walking distance from the Medina. We enjoyed a large and yummy breakfast on the terrace and tea in the afternoon. We recommend the lift arranged by the riad from and to the airport at a fair price. We stayed four nights and made a day trip to Essaouira also organized by the riad. The staff was very welcoming and quite flexible with our time table and definitely made our trip more enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juanito78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#55 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 485 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Samsara
Riad Samsara
#25 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#64 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#8 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#65 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#29 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Karama? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Karama

Property: Riad Al Karama
Address: 119, derb Jdid | Quartier Dabachi, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Al Karama 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Au cœur de la Médina, laissez-vous séduire par le charme d'une Maison typiquement marocaine dans un quartier resté authentique.A deux pas des souks, de la place Jemaa-el-Fna et des principaux monuments, Michel et Eric vous accueillent dans cette ancienne demeure Marrakchie, transformée en Riad, qui mélange harmonieusement tradition millénaire et confort occidental.Quatre chambres et une suite s'ouvrent sur un patio ombragé, bercé par le rafraîchissant murmure d'une fontaine. Depuis la terrasse, vous surplombez les trésors de Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Al Karama reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing