We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dar Kaotar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House
Ranked #805 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Riad Dar Kaotar”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

we stayed here in october for 3 days,and you could not ask for a better service as the staff were always at hand but was also discrete about it too, the Riad is like an oasis of calm in the middle of sheer madness. once stepping through the door the riad is cool and clean. Breakfast is amazing, fresh juice and different every day. taxis are available close by, arrange a price before you get in. the beds are on the hard side but i find that better for me. the terrace is wonderful. we had an excursion arranged for us and we had a fantastic day well worth the 700 dirhams we paid. the riad is in walking distance to the souks and jemma el fna about 10-15 minutes which we navigated fairly easy. all in all stay here its great.

Room Tip: all rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r4yche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYSSE, Propriétaire at Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Google Translation
Hello Rachel Neilson
We thank you for your good review on our guesthouse at RIAD DAR KAOTAR in Marrakech following your stay with us from Oct 4th to Oct 7th 2013 on the TRIPADVISOR website.

With SABAH, NEZHRA and OMAR we were very happy to receive you. We do our best to satisfy our guests and make their experience for a typical stay in a traditional Moroccan riad and the oldest neighborhood in the medina

Can you talk about RIAD DAR KAOTAR with ours friends and tne people around you.

We assure you to reserve the best reception if you return to Marrakech.
Sincere greetings and thank you again.
Michel FAYSSE
RIAD DAR KAOTAR

Bonjour Rachel NEILSON
Nous vous remercions pour votre très bonne appréciation et votre avis sur notre maison d'hôtes RIAD DAR KAOTAR à MARRAKECH à la suite de votre séjour chez nous du 4 au 7 octobre 2013 sur TRIPADVISOR.

Avec SABAH,NEZHRA et OMAR nous avons été très heureux de vous recevoir. Nous faisons le maximum pour satisfaire nos hôtes et leur faire découvrir un séjour typique marocain dans un riad traditionnel et dans un quartier de la Medina.

Pouvez-vous parler de RIAD DAR KAOTAR avec vos amis et connaissances qui envisagent de venir à MARRAKECH.

Nous vous assurons de vous réserver le meilleur accueil si vous revenez à MARRAKECH.
Très sincères salutations et encore merci.
Michel FAYSSE
RIAD DAR KAOTAR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bern
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2011

A friend of mine had stayed at Riad Dar Kaotar a couple of years ago - and what she said was still true: it's a great place to stay! The patio is beautiful, the crew very friendly, the room nice and clean. And our personal favorite: staying at the terrace to watch the sunset, the stars or the snowy mountains of the Atlas. I'd recommend this Riad to everyone looking for a surprising experience in marrakech!

Helpful?
1 Thank Franziska R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2010

Dar Kaotar is situated down a narrow side street just off one of the many small lanes that lead to the main square. It is close to a gate in outer wall from where taxis are readily available if you want to visit the new town, or the walk to the main square in the other direction takes about 20-25 minutes. It's not that far, but the narrowness of the road and the number of people, bicycles, mopeds, horse carts and the occasional car means that progress is slow. The assault on the senses can make it feel a bit of an experience, but that's why you came to Marrakech, right? We often didn't see other tourists until we got closer to the square. If you have a good map there is a quick route to the tanneries and part of the souks from the ryad.

When we arrived, the welcome was warm and the room was lovely. More quirky and individual than the homogenised rooms of a major hotel, but again that's why you would stay in a ryad. Communication with the staff was a little tricky but a combination of schoolboy/girl French, sign language/mime and the staff's similarly limited English did the job. The owners live there which again makes the experience feel more genuine.

The ryad was almost next to a mosque which has some fairly impressive loudspeakers ready to broadcast the five-times daily call to prayer. For this reason you are unlikely to need an alarm clock but the same is true of most of the buildings in the old town. Try to go up on the roof terrace for an extensive view and a haunting experience near dawn or dusk.

Dar Kaotar is not a Hilton or a Marriott, but as a place that will become a positive part of your Marrakech experience we can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank accvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2009

Excuse my english, I'm writing from France. We spent five marvellous days in this Ryiad. The place was excellent, the hostess are very handfull and we were recieved as well as possible. No stress, no loudness, people who are employed were very pleasant and the food was fabulous. Very easy to discover the town, near Bab Aylen door, you can cross the town without a car, nothing is very far... Michel and Irene give you many little things you have to know to enjoy rour stay in Marrakech. I will return in this town, sure in Ryiad dar Kaotar ! Isabelle and Didier

Helpful?
Thank isadid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#231 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,235 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#77 of 1,146 in Marrakech
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
1.0 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#100 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
11.9 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
LABRANDA Aqua Fun
#134 of 499 in Marrakech
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House

Property: Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House
Address: 30 Derb Ferrane Bab Aylen | Boutouil Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #805 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RIAD DAR KAOTAR is a guest house renovated in the Moroccan tradition, located in the MARRAKECH MEDINA at 100 meters of the Bab Aylen and near the Jemaa El Fna square and the souks, Near of the golfs courses. Warm atmosphere, charm and comfort to discover MARRAKECH differently. Around a PATIO with the traditional central fountain, the riad is composed of: FOUR BEDROOMS.The rooms are air conditioned (hot-cold) with private bathroom, private toilet and dressing room. A lounge dining room air conditioned on the first floor with TV satellite and chimney A TERRACE on two levels where we can dominate the MEDINA with sight on the ATLAS KOUTOUBIA. The rooms are available for rent by night, weekend, week, fortnight or more. The bedroom rate for 2 people per night varies according with the season (60€ high-50€ Mid season-40€ low season) and the number of nights.The WHOLE riad can be rented IN EXCLUSIVENESS for 8 people per night or more.The breakfast is INCLUDED. Possibility of additional single bed in two bedrooms with 20 euros extra per night.Special rates for last minute booking ,early booking or long time booking. Arrival and departure transfer betwin airport or bus station or train station and the Riad ON REQUEST. The service staff (manager ,morocco cooker,waiter,night watchman)is includes. Sheets, blankets, linens and towels, etc are provided. Possibility for half board or full board on request with a Moroccan typical menu. The meal price per person is 15 euros. We can put you in contact with selected service providers for:: Tours with approved tourism guides, restaurant reservations, show reservations, rental car or 4 x4 with driver or not, organization of excursions, etc .... YOUR GUARANTEE: The riad is officially classified by Marrakech Wilaya guesthouse category 2 under No. 216/2004. We have the license number and the Trade Register No. 86552. Tax ID No. FI. CNSS No. 7,242,655. We are members of the Association of houses of Marrakech and South AMHMS Payment by credit cards VISA-MASTERCARD-JCB accepted.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Kaotar Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing