We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cosy Place”
Review of Riad Aya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Aya
Ranked #30 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nairobi
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great Cosy Place”
Reviewed January 14, 2009

Riad Aya is a small cosy Riad in Marrakech, a little on the outskirts of the Medina but that makes it more accessible than the maze of streets in the Medina.

Very helpful and friendly staff, they made us a feel like family.

I must however say that the breakfasts got a bit monotonous. We stayed for 6 nights and eating pancakes and cakes for breakfast everyday wasn't exciting. The freshly squeezed orange juice on the other hand was divine.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — The Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SurajShah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    38
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
61
102
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stavanger, Norway
1 review
Reviewed January 2, 2009

After booking the hotel directly through www.riadaya.com contact email, we communicated back and forth with Michèle a few times to finalize arrangements. She was very pleasant and made sure we were picked up at the airport. Good thing as we would never have found it without Bahja, the driver! This little gem of a riad is tucked away down a couple of narrow, featureless alleys. When we arrived at the door (very striking and refined), we were welcomed in by Maria, one of the staff, and Michèle. the manager. Once inside, the beauty of old Marrakech surrounded us - gone were the dusty alleys, the traffic noises, the hustle and bustle of a very busy city. We were in an oasis of tranquility. The small fountain in the courtyard was bubbling softy, the staff was quietly going about their business, everything was peaceful. We knew instantly we had made the right choice of accommodations for our seven-night stay in Marrakech. Madame Michèle was great at providing us with maps and recommendations in the area and making arrangements for excursions and local restaurants. Majda was always puttering around doing a wonderful job keeping the place spotless and comfortable. Abdul stood ready to help make our stay more enjoyable with whatever we needed (and he is a great pastry chef, too!). The creme de la creme of our stay was Maria. She is fantastic! We ended up having dinner 5 of the 7 nights at the riad because Maria is such an excellent chef! The meals were completely moroccan and very well executed. She also put up with our endless requests for mint tea (even made the concession of not adding sugar to some orders, as my wife likes it without sugar). The Saffron room, where we stayed, was large and airy and very comfortable. The rooftop terrace was very pleasant and afforded a view of the surrounding area, being a little taller than most other buildings. We walked to Djemma el Fna several times, as well as visited the souks almost every day of our stay. The riad is very well located in the medina and close to many places of interest. I very highly recommend the Riad Aya and my wife and I are already looking forward to staying there again.

  • Liked — The staff and the location. Great staff and the riad is within walking distance of most everything.
  • Disliked — Central courtyard can get noisy for short periods of time and the noise does travel up to the rooms - the downside to a quaint courtyard structure.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mwemery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
united kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

As we got out of the taxi the look on my husbands face was a picture. Stunned at what looked like a a warren of small tunnels. As we walked through the tunnels we saw the entrance to the Riad Aya.....formidable a place of tranquility with beautiful rooms and the attention we received from the staff; Maria, Majda, Abdul and the owner Madame Michelle was without doubt one of the best experiences, we are well and truly hooked by Maraakesh and the Riad Aya. Maria's care and attention to our needs was outstanding, we stopped in Marrakesh for five nights and were spoilt by the superb food prepared and cooked by Maria on three nights. We miss her already, if anyone really wants to see the real Marrakesh then Riad Aya is the place for them.
The terrace and plunge pool were relaxing and secluded and we were able to purchase drinks on site, we did leave the Riad to visit the souks and markets which were all within walking distance and took trips to the cascades seven lakes (walked to the first one only but it was beautiful) and Casablanca (courtesy of Jamel a worldly wise and interesting gentlemen who catered to our every whim). Jamel organised two meals out which were again superb. Yes we would definately stay there again.

  • Liked — Clean and very chic
  • Disliked — No dislikes
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2007

This is a hidden riad. You never will find this if you do not know were to look. It is close to Dar el Bacha, a walk of 10 minutes from the souks. Jemaa el Fna is a little further. A taxiride from the riad to the square should cost you ± 7 DHM (70 eurocents) The Riad is beautiful, very well taken care off and decorated very nice. The service and friendlyness of Maria (one of the servants) is memorable. It is also very clean. Breakfast can be served on the roofterrace.The staff speaks French. The caretaker speaks English very well.
We stayed for 3 nights. We booked directly by contacting the hotel by their website [--]
The hotel is rather expensive (for Morrocco) but we thougt it was worth it.

Although you can hardley hear any citynoise in the riad, you can hear other guests very well because of the open structure with a centered patio. But I guess every Riad will be noisy then.

When we stayed there was a group of french people also staying. One of them was one of the owners of the Riad. You think they would especially be considerate to other guests, but they were explicit present. Dining till midnight right in the patio. We waited till they finished before we went to bed because of the noise.

The big bath can hardley be called a swimmingpool (3x3 meters). The hammam is not much (we didn´t use it).

  • Liked — The memorable friendlyness and service of Maria and the beautiful decoration
  • Disliked — you can hear other guests very well
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Kloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I had a wonderful week (and my birthday) at this new boutique hotel/riad in the Medina (old town) of Marrakech.
I found in adverised on [-]
but then contacted the hotel directly to enquire about rates and availability. I booked the accommodation by email (no deposit).
We got a great price and as we were the only guests in the riad a room upgrade too.
The hostess/manager, Michele speaks french and english and have been very helpful in giving us tips and information, also booked us a lovely restaurant.
The maid/cook, Maria speaks french and arabic and also very friendly and a great cook.
The riad looks just as it is on the website photos....it has just opened and very clean and fresh.
Only 5-7 minutes walk from the souks.

Have a good stay....

  • Liked — stylish interior, cleanliness, central location
  • Disliked — same local breakfast every morning
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Petrathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#14 of 1,153 in Marrakech
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#11 of 1,153 in Marrakech
555 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#36 of 1,153 in Marrakech
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Chayma
Riad Chayma
#63 of 1,153 in Marrakech
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,153 in Marrakech
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 144 Marrakech
Riad 144 Marrakech
#53 of 1,153 in Marrakech
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aya

Property: Riad Aya
Address: 41 derb Toudgha | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Aya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Aya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing