We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home”
Review of Riad Aya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Aya
Ranked #43 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 26, 2008

As we got out of the taxi the look on my husbands face was a picture. Stunned at what looked like a a warren of small tunnels. As we walked through the tunnels we saw the entrance to the Riad Aya.....formidable a place of tranquility with beautiful rooms and the attention we received from the staff; Maria, Majda, Abdul and the owner Madame Michelle was without doubt one of the best experiences, we are well and truly hooked by Maraakesh and the Riad Aya. Maria's care and attention to our needs was outstanding, we stopped in Marrakesh for five nights and were spoilt by the superb food prepared and cooked by Maria on three nights. We miss her already, if anyone really wants to see the real Marrakesh then Riad Aya is the place for them.
The terrace and plunge pool were relaxing and secluded and we were able to purchase drinks on site, we did leave the Riad to visit the souks and markets which were all within walking distance and took trips to the cascades seven lakes (walked to the first one only but it was beautiful) and Casablanca (courtesy of Jamel a worldly wise and interesting gentlemen who catered to our every whim). Jamel organised two meals out which were again superb. Yes we would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 307 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2007

This is a hidden riad. You never will find this if you do not know were to look. It is close to Dar el Bacha, a walk of 10 minutes from the souks. Jemaa el Fna is a little further. A taxiride from the riad to the square should cost you ± 7 DHM (70 eurocents) The Riad is beautiful, very well taken care off and decorated very nice. The service and friendlyness of Maria (one of the servants) is memorable. It is also very clean. Breakfast can be served on the roofterrace.The staff speaks French. The caretaker speaks English very well.
We stayed for 3 nights. We booked directly by contacting the hotel by their website [--]
The hotel is rather expensive (for Morrocco) but we thougt it was worth it.

Although you can hardley hear any citynoise in the riad, you can hear other guests very well because of the open structure with a centered patio. But I guess every Riad will be noisy then.

When we stayed there was a group of french people also staying. One of them was one of the owners of the Riad. You think they would especially be considerate to other guests, but they were explicit present. Dining till midnight right in the patio. We waited till they finished before we went to bed because of the noise.

The big bath can hardley be called a swimmingpool (3x3 meters). The hammam is not much (we didn´t use it).

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Kloon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2007

I had a wonderful week (and my birthday) at this new boutique hotel/riad in the Medina (old town) of Marrakech.
I found in adverised on [-]
but then contacted the hotel directly to enquire about rates and availability. I booked the accommodation by email (no deposit).
We got a great price and as we were the only guests in the riad a room upgrade too.
The hostess/manager, Michele speaks french and english and have been very helpful in giving us tips and information, also booked us a lovely restaurant.
The maid/cook, Maria speaks french and arabic and also very friendly and a great cook.
The riad looks just as it is on the website photos....it has just opened and very clean and fresh.
Only 5-7 minutes walk from the souks.

Have a good stay....

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Petrathegreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jcharles29480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Stéphane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ROCHDI Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#10 of 1,193 in Marrakech
310 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Princesse du Desert
Riad Princesse du Desert
#55 of 1,193 in Marrakech
520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Ambre et Epices
Riad Ambre et Epices
#46 of 1,193 in Marrakech
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,193 in Marrakech
692 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#14 of 1,193 in Marrakech
656 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#28 of 1,193 in Marrakech
1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Aya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Aya

Address: 41 derb Toudgha | Dar El Bacha, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $66 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Aya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Aya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing