We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a great chance for low budget traveller!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad So Cheap So Chic
Ranked #194 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed October 13, 2009

After a couple of nights in the beautiful Dar Bamileke, we took the chance to try few nights in the hostel. Well that was cool! Young and fresh atmosphere, the perfect solution for backpackers or low budget traveller! Close to the ja El Fna Sq, in a quiet road just ouside the busy market. Friendly and usefull staff. Big terrace on the roof, the perfect place to take a nap or just drink a mint tea talking with the other guests. Definitely a good experience. Reccomended to young backpackers !

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mettcenter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Riad So Cheap So Chic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 58 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2009

Fantastic place to stay, like a fairytale! Very relaxing and the staff is realy friendly. Radouane the guy that works there is realy kind, funny and very helpfull! Eliza the owner of the place is very kind as well. They know Marrakech very well and they give great tips about where to go....I highly recommend the Riad.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moreorless11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

the owner of this place is not friendly at all. we were exhausted after a long bus journey and we looked for this place for over an hour having been recommended it by people we met on our travels.. we ended up being guided there by a couple of kids and the owner opened the door and first told us the place was full, then said ok. when we went in we had a whole dorm room to ourselves and the place was practically empty! But just as we were settling in, we were asked to leave because the kids who took us there were asking the owner for money, even tho we had given them a big tip. we didnt want to be chucked out into the medina at half 11 at night, exhausted with nowhere to go so we begged her to stay and she said ok but to 'deal with those kids'.. I went to speak to them and they said it was between the owner and them!
This place gave off a really cold and pretentious atmosphere, and we had the worst night's sleep of our whole holiday there.. the beds were really uncomfortable, it was noise, and most of all the owner treats her guests like something that's been scraped off the bottom of a a 'faux guide's' shoe!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank feefairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2009

we stayed here for 2 nights and then fought to get out money back to stay somewhere else for the third night. It was a cramped dorm with 1 bathroom to share so it was always full and difficult to actually wash in the morning. things went missing from my bag - small things, nothing hugely important, but still things went missing to the point where i started carrying my valuables with me during the day which was not ideal.

We did not trust the lady who ran the place. she was not friendly unless it was to try and sell very expensive trips to the desert. Be careful if you choose to stay here - it is not that expensive but in future we would rather pay a little more. Marrakech is wonderful though.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank naomi051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2008

A low quality youth hostel rather than a riad. Place to be avoided specially in the winter. No heating at all, although it was freezing in the room. I saw a traveller sleeping dressed with her coat and wool cap on.

On the web it shows there are rooms of more than 6 people, never saying you can be sleeping with 15 people (room upstairs). Price is the same for sharing than for a double room. No invoice provided.

Only one bath and one shower for 25 people, paper and soap missing most days (I stayed 3 nights). No place to leave clothes, only 2 hangers. Shower with a scary light bulb inside going out the ceiling. Plugs looked unsafe, with cables going out on the side.

Beds were cots rahter than beds, less than 80cmts width. Sheets unclean, hairs left.

The owner, Ireally unwelcoming and cold. She looked rather bad tempered. No customer care at all. Ladies serving breakfast really helpful and nice, also the boy at the reception.

Breakfast does not include coffee, they charge extra 13 dirhams for one (rather European standard), the price for the same coffee being 10 dirhams at Café de France. It shows the place is a business to make money on the expense of backpackers and workers.

Not coming back again,

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank carolinebright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2008

riad medina azahara is a traditional moroccan guesthouse very close to the main square: on arrival we were greeted v ery warmly by moroccan staff and drank tea whilst our room was prepared. however after a fantastic start to our holiday the owner of the riad demanded we pay immediately for the room even though we had yet to change currency into dirhams. she was not sympathetic to this at all. we had booked a room advertised on the website but it was not the same room even though we were assured by the owner that it was. the room was ok but had no windows or views as promised. a real shame. for that reason we do not recommend this riad despite the kindliness of the moroccan staff. it is a shame the same cannot be said of the owner.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SloughBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2008

The fact that the owners ask for payment in cash and give no receipts suggests that this is a clandestine business which pays no tax - not such a great thing in a country like Morocco if only the property owners are making a killing out of tourism and there's no improvement in social welfare of the population. People should be more conscious of this and demand receipts - we did after we'd handed over the cash but were told that this wasn't "normal" in Morocco.
The staff were certainly friendly but we were charged an extra euro per person per day to have our breakfast on the roof terrace - probably the staff making a little extra on the side.
The rooms are nicely decorated but we had the misfortune to get the only one which has a bathroom with no form of ventilation so the room felt damp all the time - we were there in March.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RamaBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#53 of 502 in Marrakech
945 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
816 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Sultana Marrakech
La Sultana Marrakech
#26 of 502 in Marrakech
1,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Andalla
Riad Andalla
#23 of 1,160 in Marrakech
1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad So Cheap So Chic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad So Cheap So Chic

Address: Derb Dabach, Derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 295 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $25 - $27 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Riad So Cheap So Chic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Medina Azahara Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing