We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smooth and chilled down” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad So Cheap So Chic

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad So Cheap So Chic to your Saves list
Riad So Cheap So Chic
Derb Dabach, Derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #154 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Smooth and chilled down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed 2 night in this Riad, we loved the atmosphere! Is it really chilled down, all the guests sometimes spend the night in the courtyard drinking and chatting, the cool water pool is amazing in the early morning, the breakfast is cheap (3€) and excellent, dogs and cats provided :)
For the price and the position is definitly a MUST GO!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JannisG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    14
    8
    7
    5
See reviews for
7
17
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The environment is belo, the structure also, the breakfast good and the staff pleasant. the only problem that downgrades the riad are animals. I love animals, but not qunado have access everywhere and are not educated, they leave their droppings everywhere including sofas and pillows where you sit and eat.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms are more airy, it is probably best for estatae below. not in the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tio_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

After the extraordinary experience of being picked-up at the airport of Marrakech (which you should make use of if you have never been in Marrakech before!) we arrived at this lovely, peacefull riad just outside at the Jema el Fna square. Run by a lovely italian lady together with her marrocan husband. The staff is also very helpful and friendly and they will do anything to make you feel at home. The rooms are clean, with good beds and a spacious bathroom. Breakfast is very good, served by a friendly lady. The courtyard where the rooms are situated around is peacefull and quite, even though it is in the middle of the city. A great place to get back to after a day in hectic and overwhelming Marrakech, and closeby enough to go back into the chaos for dinner at night. I would definitly recommend this Riad to everyone who is visiting Marocco! Just go with the flow in Marrakech and come back to this Riad to relax if you are a bit tired of the feeling that you are a on a movie set in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricaVerbij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I visited last September and really wanted to have a special time in Marrakesh. I did not have a huge budget and am so pleased I found this little gem of a Riad.

It was the perfect place to chill out in and was in a GREAT location (once you found it!!). We got in a bit of trouble trying to locate it - it's behind an incognito wooden door, but it was worth it.

If you're looking for a relaxing, good value for money Riad then this is perfect for you.

It is worth saying that our room was slightly shabby, but I felt it only added to the charm. I loved the traditional Moroccan decor. The shutters had holes in them and potentially someone could have forced their way in - however the Riad was so safe that it wasn't a problem. This isn't a ritzy place, it's a laid back place perfect for the traveller who wants to have a taste of luxury - the perfect compromise without spending loads of money. There was no air con, but the room stayed breezy and cool.

I would highly recommend it... felt like home by the end of our time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ella_Bow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

Great location! Directly in the medina, only couple minutes walking from the main square. Cossy place with good service and nice rooms (always ask about the orange room :). You can not hear any noise from the streets. Nice patio and roof top!

Room Tip: orange room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annasobiech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

The place is amazing! There's a huge courtyard that opens up to the sky with trees and you can have breakfast out there. There's also a large open roof terrace awesome for meeting other travelers.
Theres also a cute black puppy that runs around in the courtyard with older dogs that arent as cute, but still nice.

Room Tip: Second floor overlooks courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fnkychiknn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at this Riad for 3 nights and we truly loved this little Riad. Its right in the heart of the Medina and from there you can explore Marrakesh by foot. Courtyard is fab for chilling with some fab mint tea and a shisha before stepping into the busy streets of Marrakesh. We loved the settings of the room and the lovely little bathroom. The Riad is full of quite interesting people and the owners are always there for you to make your stay as compfi as possible...and blasting out some great french music from time to time :)
Defo recomend this place....

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwk_michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#64 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 821 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 955 reviews
3.8 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.5 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#146 of 1,169 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
1.5 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#153 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad So Cheap So Chic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad So Cheap So Chic

Property: Riad So Cheap So Chic
Address: Derb Dabach, Derb Moulay Abdelkader 38, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 248 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad So Cheap So Chic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Medina Azahara Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing