We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only missing Ali Baba”
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
Ranked #58 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 21, 2010

For a riad only a few minutes from the madness of the medina this establishment is extremely well kept and an oasis of calm. Die to previous ‘misunderstandings’ with Riad proprietors before we decided to book the whole package through luxury-riads.com. Not only do you not need to worry about getting a decent room or the price when you arrive you also get a free airport transfer and the best price. It is so reassuring to be close to the medina and not have to run the gauntlet of dubious taxi drivers to take you to the other side of town, a couple we met were charged 20 times the going rate! This is a breathtaking place and the staff really do pull out all the stops to ensure you are not left wanting.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sev_Ville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (414)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 414 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2010

This a lovely riad well situated in the medina, just a few turns away from Djemaa el Fna. There is a map on the website and it helped tremedously. We did not opt for a pick-up as the taxi ride from the train station was 30 dhirams and then we walked.
Inside, the riad is beautiful and calm, despite how hectic it is in the medina. It is tastefully decorated. We stayed in the red room, which is tiny but cozy. Of note, there is no door to the washroom, nor is there a door for the shower. In fact, there really isn't even anywhere to hang the towels either. But the room was nice enough on the second floor.

The breakfast was ample, with crepes and cake and freshly squeezed orange juice and mint tea. They nearly had a heart attack when I asked for fresh fruit but I was able to get a few clementines with my last breakfast.

Because we booked directly through email as opposed to on a website like booking.com, they offered a free dinner for a night. We had no choice in the meal. We had harira, chicken tagine with vegetables and plain orange slices. I had much better food elsewhere, and thus even wonder why they offer cooking classes if their food sucks. However, what we didn't know is that all drinks were not included and even the large water bottle was 2 euros.

It wasn't until we got our bill that we realized how many extra costs we would incur. We had specifically asked whether we could use the phone to book a guide for a desert trip. We were told it was ok and free. We were charged 9 euros since it took a bit longer than anticipated. But we only found out on checking out when we thought it was free.

Plus the water for 2 euros.

I should have known something was fishy as when I originally tried to book a room with twin beds, I was offered the white room for 79 euros, instead of the red room for 65 euros that was also available. If I hadn't had known it was available through booking.com, I would have been upsold without knowing it.

So, in summary, it is a beautiful riad, well situated and if you don't need the phone, or make sure you ask whether the coffee is complimentary, this is a good place, although still expensive. With the added hidden costs, I do not recommend booking this place.

We stopped by Riad Miski for a cooking class, which we loved (although the cook did the class in French as her English was weaker than our French). I would recommend Riad Miski (a bit harder to find and a bit further away though), but unfortunately they were all booked up - they fill up very quickly.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2010

We stayed in Marrakech in November and unfortunately is was raining 3 days. Anyhow, we enjoyed the city, but in the Riad it was beautiful but wasn't very comfortable. It is a very modern building in the old city. But the room was very small, there was no space to relax, except for the bed. The bathroom was smelling terrible and because there was no door, also our sleeping room was smelling terrible. In the lounge it was terribly cold and because the roof was open, we got wet. Also the breakfast was outside, we had to be careful where to sit en where to walk, otherwise we would get wet.
We think this hotel is great in summer, but never go with rain .
It was also very rumourous. There was music in the lobby and in the morning a baby started screaming. The bell was ringing several times at night and in the morning. And in the morning the personnel started (of course) to dry the floor in the lobby.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dvhalder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Before i boom i came to tripadvisor. I have a better price at another Riad (Coocon, very nice indeed) but the reviews were so nice that we decided to go forthis one. It was a romantic Geatway with my husband before a weekof work in Marraquexe. After the booking we got a mail from Stephanie & Tony very nice to assist us with the arrival. We book the transfer from the airport to the Hotel at a 15€ charge. the taxi sttopped before the hotel but quite far (on our last day we realise he could had gone closer) and a guy with a charriot came to carry our luggage. Very nice service we though. wondering around for 15m we went into an alley dark and small and we start wondering if was really there as the taxi that pick us up on the airport has a hand written note with the name of the hotel. after turning int he next street there were no floor and everything was looking like old and very poor. We said maybe was a mistake but the guy say relax, is here (so this reaction is normal, apparentely). entering the first door there wasa motorcylie and a bycicle parked and we barely could enter. after enteinr everything looked very new and nice. Radija was very friendly and took us to our room. The luggage guy asked us for 4€. We said no as the agreed price was 15€ from airport to the hotel and at no moment the management mentioned this extra cost. The room very small, no space for dresses, no mini bar, the toilette broken and some stain quite odd that turned to be cracks. You could hear all noises: the bell, other rooms, people on the toilet, people downstairs talking. We wanted to rest and there was a couple with a child screeming all the time, speccily in the morning. at 9am everybody was speaking loud and musin was on (with very bad windows). Radija in the end even wanted to charge the luggage guy but i said the confirmation mail said nothing about the extra charge. and event the city map you have to pay 1.4€. You can't make an early night as the clients when arrive ring the bell and everybody hears and no sleep in the morning with the noise and music!

FORGET REST OR NICE SLEEP - too noisy and horrible bed
FORGET PRIVACY - you can hear even the other in the toilet

In the last day i ask for late check out and was confirmed by Radija. we arrived to the hotel at 13.15h and our cases were out of the room, one chocolate box at the sun and one of the cases broken. We didn't realise them as the riad guy came to help (very nice we though but odd how the grab the case by the side)

Good points: friendly people, wi fi free and works and a nice breakfast in a great location but definitely a no to came back........ we need at least to be able to have a good night sleep!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sofipt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2010

Great beautiful Riad 5 min walk from the main square (Place Jemaa El Fna). An oasis of rest and peace in the center of hectic Marrakech.

This Riad is great value for money. The owners Stephanie & Tony are super professional and the Riad daily host Radija is a sweet - very supportive- person, who takes care of all information inquiries, questions and requests.
All in all, we had a great 4 nights stay in Villa Wenge and will definitely be back there one day.

Note: we had a problem with our passports (lost them at the airport, still don’t know how this could happen). Stephanie - the Riad owner - was a GREAT help. She guided us through the multiple official instances and helped us with all declarations which needed to be made. Without here support and persistence, we would never have been able to get our new passports ready in due time. THANKS again for this. Even the official attaché of the Belgian Ambassade mentioned to us that not a lot of hotel/ Riad owners in Marrakech would give such detailed extensive support to their guests in case of such a complex official paperwork process. We can only highly recommend this Riad and all the staff and express our gratitude & appreciation for their services

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amarc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2010

Riad Villa Wengé is a modern, tranquil, spotless Riad right in the heart of the Soukhs north of place Jemaa El-Fna. Flawlessly run by the indefatigable Khedija everything operates like clockwork at his excellent Riad (and owner Stephanié also pops in regularly to check everything is Ok for her guests). We stayed in the Wengé suite which was the top room with a spectacular blend of Moroccan and ultra-modern furnishings and an absolutely fabulous bathroom & shower. The breakfast area is beautiful, cool and tranquil and there is WiFi pretty much throughout the Riad. The terrasse is equally stylishly furnished and with some very cute tents to retire too if & when it gets too hot outside.

The main thing about this Riad is when we visited we managed to get the suite for about 70 Euro a night which seemed very cheap compared to other Riads in Marrakesh & Essaouira we had stayed in ... so other than a brief discussion about clean towels (which seemed to be a feature of nearly all the Riads we stayed in) we really couldn't fault it. Khedija arranged all transfers and we were thoroughly looked after.

Just one minor point to make potential guests aware of - you are in the heart of the Soukh so you have to walk in and out of it everyday (which is pretty bustly & hectic) and when you arrive and leave; the hotel arranges for a small cart to bring your luggage. We loved it , but if the bustle of the Soukh is something your not that fond of then you will find the location possibly not to your taste. It also meant that arranging taxis to go to other locations/restaurants required arranging where to meet the taxi as cars cannot go into the Soukh. However as I said, these are minor points and for us added to an authentic Marrakech experience - and Khedijia and the rest of the staff are only too happy to help most of the time.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2010

I would recommend getting Villa Wenge to arrange picking you up at the airport on arrival, as getting there on your own would be quite scary.. The staff are most welcoming and the service was what you would expect at a 5* hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy and the rooftop terrace was great to come back to, to relax, after a hectic day in the Medina. I would recommend that you go to the Ensemble Artisan just outside the square as it benchmarks the prices that you should pay in the souks. On hindsight I would have bought all of my gifts there as they have fixed prices which are fair and you can see how the goods are made. However, it was quite an experience to haggle in the Souks. Sitting in the various restaurants and cafes on the main Djemma el Fna was great for people watching and we saw everything from the hip and modern to people that look the same as they did hundreds of years ago. The place was very heady and exotic. I felt uncomfortable with the way they used animals to make money, i.e. snake charmers, men with monkeys and the horse and carts. I felt so sorry for these creatures, however I realise that this is part of there culture even if I personally think it is wrong. If you make eye contact with the locals they will automatically talk to you. Some will try and help you, but most want paid for there advice. Experience the new part of the city as it is completely different from the Medina. I really loved it there. All in all, Marrakech was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CaptainSpeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
210 reviews
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#76 of 502 in Marrakech
557 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#52 of 502 in Marrakech
963 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $75 - $190 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing