We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sanctuary in the heart of the Soukhs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
Ranked #68 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sanctuary in the heart of the Soukhs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2010

Riad Villa Wengé is a modern, tranquil, spotless Riad right in the heart of the Soukhs north of place Jemaa El-Fna. Flawlessly run by the indefatigable Khedija everything operates like clockwork at his excellent Riad (and owner Stephanié also pops in regularly to check everything is Ok for her guests). We stayed in the Wengé suite which was the top room with a spectacular blend of Moroccan and ultra-modern furnishings and an absolutely fabulous bathroom & shower. The breakfast area is beautiful, cool and tranquil and there is WiFi pretty much throughout the Riad. The terrasse is equally stylishly furnished and with some very cute tents to retire too if & when it gets too hot outside.

The main thing about this Riad is when we visited we managed to get the suite for about 70 Euro a night which seemed very cheap compared to other Riads in Marrakesh & Essaouira we had stayed in ... so other than a brief discussion about clean towels (which seemed to be a feature of nearly all the Riads we stayed in) we really couldn't fault it. Khedija arranged all transfers and we were thoroughly looked after.

Just one minor point to make potential guests aware of - you are in the heart of the Soukh so you have to walk in and out of it everyday (which is pretty bustly & hectic) and when you arrive and leave; the hotel arranges for a small cart to bring your luggage. We loved it , but if the bustle of the Soukh is something your not that fond of then you will find the location possibly not to your taste. It also meant that arranging taxis to go to other locations/restaurants required arranging where to meet the taxi as cars cannot go into the Soukh. However as I said, these are minor points and for us added to an authentic Marrakech experience - and Khedijia and the rest of the staff are only too happy to help most of the time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank parismcmahon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    100
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
53
176
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Speyside
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I would recommend getting Villa Wenge to arrange picking you up at the airport on arrival, as getting there on your own would be quite scary.. The staff are most welcoming and the service was what you would expect at a 5* hotel. Rooms were clean and tidy and the rooftop terrace was great to come back to, to relax, after a hectic day in the Medina. I would recommend that you go to the Ensemble Artisan just outside the square as it benchmarks the prices that you should pay in the souks. On hindsight I would have bought all of my gifts there as they have fixed prices which are fair and you can see how the goods are made. However, it was quite an experience to haggle in the Souks. Sitting in the various restaurants and cafes on the main Djemma el Fna was great for people watching and we saw everything from the hip and modern to people that look the same as they did hundreds of years ago. The place was very heady and exotic. I felt uncomfortable with the way they used animals to make money, i.e. snake charmers, men with monkeys and the horse and carts. I felt so sorry for these creatures, however I realise that this is part of there culture even if I personally think it is wrong. If you make eye contact with the locals they will automatically talk to you. Some will try and help you, but most want paid for there advice. Experience the new part of the city as it is completely different from the Medina. I really loved it there. All in all, Marrakech was a fantastic experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaptainSpeyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Like most things in Medina, things are very difficult to find. This Riad was no different. However, once there everything was simple wonderful. The staff there is very nice and incredibly helpful. The quality was top-notch, as was the service. It was a haven away from the chaos of Marrakech. I enjoyed my stay there very much and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kcheng79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

Even after 5 nights, we could not get enough of our stay.
Rooms were very clean and decoration was wonderfull, although we sometimes felt more in Thailand than in Morocco :-). Balcony was great to relax after spending a day in the busy Souks. You hardly hear any noice!
Location was excellent ( 2 min from the Djema el Fna).
A big thank you to the whole team for making this vacation as comfortable as possible!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karinderooy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

This was our first trip to Marrakech and we are so pleased that we chose this lovely, quiet Riad.
Transport from the airport was a good idea as we arrived late in evening and are not sure if we could have found the Riad on our own.
Delicious meal made for us on our first night.
Staff were helpful. Rooms were clean and functional, and tastefully decorated. Roof terrace was beautiful.
The location was excellent ( couldn't be better in our view) Right in heart of Souks and very near to main square.
It truly is a calm and tranquil oasis right in the middle of a vibrant city.
We would definitely want to visit Marrakech and this Riad again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheree65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

This very stylish riad is extremely quiet and fresh although in the middle of the old centre. The staff is very helpful and they can arrange trips in the surroundings using knowledgeable and friendly taxi drivers.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank van60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

New contemporary-designed riad in a good location - only a 3 minute walk from the Djemma El Fna. An oasis of calm in a crazy labyrinth of a city. Great roof terrace to catch the sun too. A welcome alternative to all the other riads in the typical Morrocan style.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DublinIrish_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#57 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 452 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 572 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Bindoo
Riad Bindoo
#118 of 1,176 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ryad Dar Ganou
Ryad Dar Ganou
#16 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Pourpre Medina
Riad Pourpre Medina
#86 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#13 of 1,176 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Property: Riad Villa Wenge
Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing