We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great Riad, great location, great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
Ranked #68 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Riad, great location, great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My two friends and I stayed for 4 nights after having to move from a hotel not meeting our expectations at all! We were picked up from the square (which is so alive and energetic at night!) and taken to the Riad which was a little over a 5 minute walk through some narrow streets. After a morning of exploring, we appreciated how perfect the location was!
The interior design of the Riad was very modern chic :-)
We were very well looked after by Hayat and Mehdi who were absolutely lovely!
The three of us would recommend staying here and would definitely stay at the same Riad if we visit again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heinzbeanzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    98
    20
    5
    1
See reviews for
52
171
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Riad Wenge (5 nights) very much and its special atmosphere made us feel comfortable. The tasteful arrangements of the interieur and the fitting colours inspired us for new ideas for our home. ;-) Thanks to the great staff.
Of course we will recommend your Riad to our friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ricarda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We stayed here for a few days whilst in Marrakech. We were given a free Airport Transfer which really is a must. We would never have found this place on our own. We were picked up by car and taken to the main Jemma El Fna square where we were then collected by a local man who put our suitcases into a wheel barrow and showed us the way to our Riad. We gave this man 20dhs however he didn't appear happy with that and requested more. He was politely told no as 20dhs is the going rate (not exactly the best way to welcome you to the Riad unfortunately). We were then shown inside and given fresh mint tea before being taken to our room. The room was very nice and modern with a safe and LCD TV. The only thing I would say is that the room is open plan and there is no door to the toilet however it didn't spoil the stay. The Riad itself is lovely with a modern decor feel. The roof did have have a Jacuzzi however we didn't use it. We tried the breakfast which was fine...nothing special. The staff were very friendly and Tony was most welcoming. The best thing though is the location of the Riad, it is literally a 5 min walk away from Jemma El Fna square. The walk from the Riad to the square does take you through some alleys and there is a short section just as you leave the Riad which has no lighting at night but we never felt threatened or intimidated once so don't worry!! Overall a nice, clean Riad with friendly staff in a central location. If you've booked or thinking of you'll have a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank de18oy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in our recent trip to Marrakech. Included in our price was a free airport transfer which was ideal becasue there is no way you'd have found this place! It's 5 mins awway from Jeema El Fna. It's pretty straight forward once you know the way so we never got lost. We stayed in the Alu room which was lovely and modern. The only slight issue was that it's all open plan, including the toilet which has no door, so you can hear everything! Not very pleasant as you can imagine. The beds are super comfy but the pillows were really uncomfortable I found. We had breakfast in the riad the first day but to be honest it wasn't really up to much. I didn't like the orange juice in Marrakech at all (too used to Tropicana) and that's what was served. There was a small selection of bread, tea, preserves and pancakes. We didn't go for breakfast the rest of our stay, nor did we eat in the riad. The riad itself was gorgeous, really clean and modern with the most amzing incense always burning. We didn't use the jacuzzi as to be honest, the water was quite dirty looking with several dead flies floating on top so we erred on the side of caution. The owner Tony was lovely, very welcoming and friendly and we felt looked after. Great place to stay and recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbiemcn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina, just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnaa, great choice for short city break. Modern interior. Stayed in spotlessly clean, red twin bedroom on the 1st floor. Polite& friendly staff. They made you feel welcomed and respect your privacy. Internet access in the property.Lovely, French breakfast. A freshly made orange juice is ideal for the beginning of the day. Please ensure you book the airport shuttle offered by Riad as the location would be difficult to find for 1st timer. The owner also sent you by email a map and all information necessary inc. payment options so you know what to expect.

I don’t know where some negative comments came from.

So please stop complaining and relax in the Jacuzzi in the roof terrace after busy day of exploring a wild Medina and a beautiful Marrakech.

Highly recommended and will stay again if return to Medina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a room on the first floor as higher floor has less property noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DeLecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location in not safe and you need to walk also to find you need spacial inspection.
Breakfast is very poor. Only low quality jam - honey and old bread. Also you need to wait 1 hour for this bad breakfast.
- price is 20% more than you make the reservation. If you pay credit card they add 4-5% also they make wrong calculations.
Too much to say for bad things for this owfull bad motel.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliAkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villawenge, Propriétaire at Riad Villa Wenge, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Sir, your stay at this riad is very well spent in the luxury suite but you don 't have supported other guests who were present during your night with us because I precise that you only spent one night.
Breakfast is served quickly because we have 5 people in the riad permance to serve customers, it is composed of: fresh orange juice, hot drinks, fruit jar or yogurt following day, 2 pancakes Moroccan madeleine or orange cake or brioche, 2 kinds of jam, honey, butter and bread.
Our riad is located 2 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square in a neighborhood very easy to find.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste!

All Team duriad villa Wenge thank you for your visit ...

cordially

Stephanie and Tony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
519 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff in this Riad were excellent esepecially Adil who speaks English. The Riad itself is quiet and is an Oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy medina. It is located close to the main square and so access is good. Breakfast could feature less bread and more fruit or eggs but otherwise is good. Decor is simple and nice - beds comfortable and the place well maintained.

The downside is that I did not like Marrakech - clearly not the exotic experience it was between 1890 and 1975 - aggressive hawkors, merchants and taxi drivers. People in Marrakech only want your money. The medina lacks old charm with much of the old style missing. Huge crowds and the acts involving animals in the square depressing. Fez is a much better option

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors might be quieter. Don't talk to the merchants in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#54 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#209 of 504 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#4 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Casa Sophia
Riad Casa Sophia
#121 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 127 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Rimal
Riad Al Rimal
#88 of 1,171 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 633 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#105 of 1,171 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Property: Riad Villa Wenge
Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #68 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing