We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location!”
Review of Riad Villa Wenge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Villa Wenge
Ranked #66 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 16, 2012

We spent 4 nights here in our recent trip to Marrakech. Included in our price was a free airport transfer which was ideal becasue there is no way you'd have found this place! It's 5 mins awway from Jeema El Fna. It's pretty straight forward once you know the way so we never got lost. We stayed in the Alu room which was lovely and modern. The only slight issue was that it's all open plan, including the toilet which has no door, so you can hear everything! Not very pleasant as you can imagine. The beds are super comfy but the pillows were really uncomfortable I found. We had breakfast in the riad the first day but to be honest it wasn't really up to much. I didn't like the orange juice in Marrakech at all (too used to Tropicana) and that's what was served. There was a small selection of bread, tea, preserves and pancakes. We didn't go for breakfast the rest of our stay, nor did we eat in the riad. The riad itself was gorgeous, really clean and modern with the most amzing incense always burning. We didn't use the jacuzzi as to be honest, the water was quite dirty looking with several dead flies floating on top so we erred on the side of caution. The owner Tony was lovely, very welcoming and friendly and we felt looked after. Great place to stay and recommended.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank debbiemcn85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

81 - 87 of 420 reviews

Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina, just 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fnaa, great choice for short city break. Modern interior. Stayed in spotlessly clean, red twin bedroom on the 1st floor. Polite& friendly staff. They made you feel welcomed and respect your privacy. Internet access in the property.Lovely, French breakfast. A freshly made orange juice is ideal for the beginning of the day. Please ensure you book the airport shuttle offered by Riad as the location would be difficult to find for 1st timer. The owner also sent you by email a map and all information necessary inc. payment options so you know what to expect.

I don’t know where some negative comments came from.

So please stop complaining and relax in the Jacuzzi in the roof terrace after busy day of exploring a wild Medina and a beautiful Marrakech.

Highly recommended and will stay again if return to Medina.

Room Tip: If possible, try to book a room on the first floor as higher floor has less property noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeLecq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The location in not safe and you need to walk also to find you need spacial inspection.
Breakfast is very poor. Only low quality jam - honey and old bread. Also you need to wait 1 hour for this bad breakfast.
- price is 20% more than you make the reservation. If you pay credit card they add 4-5% also they make wrong calculations.
Too much to say for bad things for this owfull bad motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AliAkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villawenge, Propriétaire at Riad Villa Wenge, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Sir, your stay at this riad is very well spent in the luxury suite but you don 't have supported other guests who were present during your night with us because I precise that you only spent one night.
Breakfast is served quickly because we have 5 people in the riad permance to serve customers, it is composed of: fresh orange juice, hot drinks, fruit jar or yogurt following day, 2 pancakes Moroccan madeleine or orange cake or brioche, 2 kinds of jam, honey, butter and bread.
Our riad is located 2 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square in a neighborhood very easy to find.

We are sorry that it was not to your taste!

All Team duriad villa Wenge thank you for your visit ...

cordially

Stephanie and Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

The staff in this Riad were excellent esepecially Adil who speaks English. The Riad itself is quiet and is an Oasis in the otherwise busy and noisy medina. It is located close to the main square and so access is good. Breakfast could feature less bread and more fruit or eggs but otherwise is good. Decor is simple and nice - beds comfortable and the place well maintained.

The downside is that I did not like Marrakech - clearly not the exotic experience it was between 1890 and 1975 - aggressive hawkors, merchants and taxi drivers. People in Marrakech only want your money. The medina lacks old charm with much of the old style missing. Huge crowds and the acts involving animals in the square depressing. Fez is a much better option

Room Tip: Suites on higher floors might be quieter. Don't talk to the merchants in the neighbourhood.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DohaInternational
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Fabulous location in the middle of the Medina but down some winding back alleys so completely silent.The pictures are a true reflection of the interior. There are 3 bedrooms on the ground floor and 4 on the 1st floor. There are shaded areas on the roof and all the rooms have air conditioning and are spotlessly clean. I would recommend that you ask the hotel to pick you up on arrival as you will need the cart man to help you find the Riad, impossible to do it on your own if you are a 1st timer! They will give you a map with their location and it becomes quite easy to find.
My only grumbles would be the acoustics on the ground floor meant you could hear everything that was going on in the other rooms if you were sat in the centre, especially as all the bathrooms are open plan ( there was a breakfast table next to our toilet! ) Also my husband and I are early risers and it would have been nice to have had a coffee machine in the communal area as breakfast does not start until 8am because that is when the fresh orange juice from the market arrives.

Room Tip: We had the White Room which backs on to the kitchen. The rattling around late at night kept me awake...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophieLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2012

We stayed here for one night during a trip to Marrakech with our 3 year old son.

We fell in love with Marrakech (our first visit) and this little Riad was the perfect antidote to the heat and bustle of a day spent in the Medina.

We spent the first four nights of our trip at a big AI hotel outside the Medina and this was the right thing to do for us, with a young child. But we wanted a taste of the Riad experience and weren't disappointed.

We stayed in the striped room which was small and for some may be claustrophobic but it was still charming. We loved the design and the open bathroom. Our son, who is nearly 4, was given a cot to sleep in which wasn't ideal as he has been in a bed for nearly 3 years but luckily he saw it as a novelty and was happy to sleep in it.

The owners, Stephanie and Tony, are lovely and so helpful. They don't speak much English but we were able to communicate fine and hospitality has no language barriers.

The place has the feel of a family home, our room was off the main courtyard on the ground floor and the common areas felt like an extension of our accommodation. The rooftop terrace was lovely and although the views weren't great we loved relaxing in the little plunge pool before dinner.

We booked half board and were served a basic but tasty dinner of breads and dips, tagine and oranges with cinnamon. All washed down with mint tea, which was also offered on check in.

We had a great nights' sleep with no noise from other guests despite our room being adjacent to the main courtyard and reception.

Breakfast was laid on for us despite our early departure (730am) and consisted of pancakes and some lovely cake.

Location was great, just a few mins walk to the square and easy to find once you've been shown the way once (we used a guide who we met when we got off the bus).

Riad Villa Wenge is great value and we would definitely return here if we wanted another Riad stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

First of all it's hard to find this Riad even with the map until somebody from hotel will show you this place. We call ro Riad and they send us the man after we were asked them to pay. The Riad is modern, but when we came it smelt some poison against bugs and we need to live in that room. At the morning near the room we saw big bug! We appreciate the girl on reception and fast free internet but we didn't like designs of the bathroom ( it painted in black color and haven't door only curtain). I suggest to choose Riad in more more plan style,

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#138 of 500 in Marrakech
216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Danka
Riad Danka
#23 of 500 in Marrakech
369 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
1,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#83 of 500 in Marrakech
564 reviews
0.4 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
997 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#40 of 500 in Marrakech
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Villa Wenge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Villa Wenge

Address: Derb Messfioui n4 Rabha | Médina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $81 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Villa Wenge 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Prestigia, Expedia, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Villa Wenge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Villa Wenge Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing