We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Ranked #76 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
london
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed July 29, 2010

this is our second trip to Marrakech
and we spent a very pleasant stay at Villa Al Assala.
The property is at the gates of the city 10-15min quiet with a huge park and a large swimming pool. The rooms are quite spacious.
The staff is very welcoming, it feels like home.
You can eat typical and good food around the pool.
Compared to some hotels in our first trip,
we will return without hesitation to Al Assala.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emmademps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    39
    7
    6
    2
See reviews for
43
129
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Lovely villa set in own grounds approx 15 mins by car from Medina. There are no restaurants or anything going on near to villa, so taxi is required (200 dirhams) return trip.

The rooms were very nice, but needed a better clean - lots of dust.

My main problem with the villa was that there is no menu! You have no idea how much the drinks are from the bar, or what is available for lunch or dinner. Had lunch one day and it was a set fee of 250 dirhams - very expensive for chicken leg and salad.

The staff are very friendly, but sometimes difficult to find.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Visitor1UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lnodon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Location
- 15 minute taxi ride from Jemaa El Fna square (150 MD return)
- Quiet, away from town centre for relaxation. Feels extremely secluded and safe.

Service
- Low number of staff, you find yourself going to look for them.
- Friendly staff, but not to 5 star boutique hotel standard
- Most staff had poor english, you really need to pull out your GCSE French or iPhone translator

Food
- Very average, and the same menu pretty much every day. This is not explained to you. Cost is 250 MD per person per meal (lunch and dinner is the same price. Considering you can get a tagine in town for 50 MD at most restaurants, this is very expensive.
- No menu, and they struggle to explain your choices if you don't speak French.
- Breakfast (toast, pancake, cake, omlette, juice, tea/coffee). Lunch (bbq grill mostly veal, chips, salad). Dinner (couscous, tagine). When we asked for fish, it came plain pan fried with boiled rice.

Room
- All 10 rooms are the same, four star standard. Our towel rack fell off the wall, wasn't fixed, just propped back up unused. Not sure how they achieved 5 star status.
- TV does not have reception, only dvd player where you can borrow fake dvds to watch.
- Sun loungers were worn and had holes. Communal areas were lovely, great furniture and design.
- Pool was clean, and gardens immaculate.
- Ask for a room facing the rear gardens. Light sleepers may need earplugs from the crickets / birds.

Value
- Good value at £80 per night inclusive of breakfast from Expedia. List price is £150, which would definitely not be worth it. Note you need to pay taxes on top (about £15).

Other
- Do speak to the owner Christof, who can give you a quick run-down of things to do / how things work. For example, he told us that return taxi journeys cost about 150 MD using the hotel recommended taxi drivers, who would give you standard rates. Straight after, we took the taxi driver, who quoted 200 MD. On telling him what Christof said, he quickly dropped it to 150 MD.
- Our driver, Abdulali, would drop us off in town, and we'd give him a rough time to pick us back up (usually would give him a call on the mobile for exact time).
- We used the same driver to the airport (250 MD) and for a day trip to the High Atlas mountains via Ourika Valley (800 MD).
- Wireless is available in the main building, but not bedrooms. They have a laptop that you can use.

A decent base for relaxation, don't expect a 5 star hotel, but is netherless a charming villa. Let down by the lack of service, and low standard of English. Being a taxi ride from town is not a big deal, especially as you end up getting a private driver - just include it in your overall cost of the stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TomFrLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

You could stay in a faceless 400 room chain hotel in almost any major city in the world but Marrakech is not like anywhere else,so why not try a Riad ?
It is just like staying in someones house and indeed here you are made to feel completely at home.
Just far enough away from the town centre to enjoy peace and quiet,everything you need is available on the site.
The owner has just spent a considerable amount of time and money freshening up the furnishings inside and outside.The staff are very helpful,although a working knowledge of French makes things much easier.
All 10 rooms are the same - large bed,his-and-hers sinks and a private terrace or balcony.
There does not seem to be a menu or a price list but almost anything is possible as long as you and your credit card are flexible.
Taxis arranged by the staff were double the price of a local,basic one but do not drive or hire a car as the traffic is chaotic and bordering on dangerous.
The weather was superb and to sum up our stay was luxurious and relaxing.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxurygap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2009

After 6 times in Marrakech, I believe I know very well this city, I discovered this place at my 4th time and I know I won't go anywhere else now...

Where to start ?
A huge house with a lot of privacy, lots of little places all around the garden, the pool, the hammam to stay quite, alone.

Cookers are amazing ( THX girls), the manager, Christophe, is kind and helpfull ( organized a trip in the desert and restaurant reservations for me and my wife).
The rooms are spacious and so quiet.( try to get the rooms with the garden view)

Outside but very close from the city center, this beautyful is in my top 5 best places in Marrakech.

Enjoy your stay in Marrakech

Pierre

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterfromparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

Located 10/15 minutes from the dusty and extremely warm old city, this small property features the quality of a hotel along with the type of personal touch that will make you feel at home. From the moment you step in until your departure, the staff will do everything in its power to please you - from arranging a gorgeous barbecue lunch by the pool to fixing any possible excursion, diner in town, or transfer (airport transfer is provided by the hotel free of charge, by the way).

The rooms are large, nicely decorated, quite comfortable, and extremely quiet. Ours was on the ground floor opening to a private terrace in the garden. The pool is beautiful and wonderful on the way back from the old centre.

This is a Riyadh, though, not a hotel. This means you cannot count on 24h room service; it also means you will need to order your meals a few hours in advance (we ate lunch and diner there, and it was excellent for 20 euros a head - breakfast is also great). As for television, there is one located in the main building - it comes with a whole bunch of DVDs to choose from; but then again, the city and its nightlife are far more interesting...

I cannot however comment on the staff's proficiency in English, for we speak French - and so do they.

Overall, I would most definitely recommend this place and think it offers great value for the money spent (180 euros for a junior suite that is, inclusive of breakfast and all the water, tea and coffee you could possibly drink).

  • Liked — Feels like home
  • Disliked — Hard to tell...nothing much...
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nico1611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#293 of 500 in Marrakech
59 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
452 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#13 of 500 in Marrakech
942 reviews
4.5 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
391 reviews
3.1 mi away
Caravanserai
Caravanserai
#195 of 500 in Marrakech
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Al Assala Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Property: Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Address: Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#57 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#98 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Al Assala Palmeraie 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional site in the full heart of the Palmeraie, and at only 10 minutes of the effervescence of the Jamaa-el-Fna Place, our property is offering a wonderful park of one hectare of olive trees, fruit trees and palm trees. Around the swimming pool, all is calm and pleasure to relax and enjoy the delicate and discreat service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Villa Al Assala Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Al Assala Palmeraie Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing