We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Ranked #81 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
wirral
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

On arrival the villa was even better in reality than the ad. The room was spacious and private patio area was charming, the pool was lovely and the staff couldnt have been more helpful and attentive. The food was plentiful and the BBQ or traditional "sunday roast" in particular were so tasty. Breakfast was a little on the plain side but coffee orange juice and eggs were plentiful. Will definetly be re-booking

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raima p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    29
    6
    4
    2
See reviews for
34
103
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
LONDON
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

To stay near to the City in an Oasis of calm is just phenominal. Staff will serve breakfast inside or anywhere al fresco at whatever time. A real find and incredibly relaxing.

For those who dont like big hotels or "centre of it" locations then head here and lap up the calm atmosphere and swim in the beautiful pool, or just bask in the sun.

For foodies out there, ask the owners to recommend the best restauraunts in town (which they will book for you also with taxi transfers at the drop of a hat). Food at these was just incredible.

Highly recommend this accommodation, for those that appreciate a non formal relaxing environment.

Room Tip: Downstairs garden suites are slightly bigger. Building is circular and there are gaps between the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AndrewScott69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at Villa Al Assala for two nights. We were very impressed by the decor and beauty of the villa and the pool and poolside were very attractive. We were warmly welcomed and served mint tea on the sofas in front of the pool. Our room was spacious with a nice balcony overlooking the gardens, which were pretty and well maintained. There wasn't a bathroom door however, which was a bit awkward as we were two friends sharing and the shower went hot and cold.

The breakfast was extremely poor and basic, considering this is meant to be a nice hotel we were very disappointed. We had received a far superior breakfast in the Riad we had stayed in the previous few nights. Breakfast consisted of toast and cake or a fruit salad and a pot of tea, one morning we got juice and the other we didn't. My friend is allergic to gluten, so they made her a small omelette instead, this was OK but they offered nothing else in addition, so we asked for a fruit salad. They brought this and then had the cheek to try and charge us for it on the room bill. However when we said we weren't happy about it the manager took it off without argument, but with no apology.

Another problem we had was with the private transport they offer. The Villa is situated in the Palmerai area of Marrakech, which means you need transport to get anywhere. The transport they offer is expensive. We were told that a journey into the centre, with a fews stops and then back to the Villa would cost 200 dirhams, after a lovely night out we got back to the villa and our driver Rashid asked for 300! We told him it was meant to be 200, and he said he would settle for 250, which we ended up giving him as there were no staff around to check with. This took the edge off a very nice evening out, as no-one likes to get ripped off. We complained to the manager Lucas the following day, and he agreed that we should have been charged 200 and he would sort it out. He didn't get back to us all day until we asked him about it later. He then replied that they would knock 50 off the airport transfer! I said I wouldn't get back into a car with him, so he took the 50 off our bill. I couldn't believe that we received no apology and that the manager is happy to carry on using a company which try and rip off his guests. When we requested a normal taxi to come pick us up, they refused and said they couldn't and always use this company. So we decided to drag our cases to the road, rather than give them anymore of our money.

Overall I would say that the poor management lets this place down. The local staff (apart from the drivers) were actually very nice and friendly, and obviously worked hard. If you decide to stay here don't get in a car with Rashid, he will try rip you off and having spoken to other guests we know it's not the first time he has tried it on either.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pakipsy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

A superb place from which to explore Marrakech and the mountains. The villa lived up to hopes and exceeded expectation. A tranquil setting with a beautiful garden and lovely pool. Exceptionally friendly and helpful staff. If flying into Marrackech Airport contact the villa to arrange the transfer. They work with a very helpful and friendly taxi service. All highly recommended, including the massage.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, Manchester. UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Firstly this is also known as just Villa al Assala which does have its own website
we couldn't get hold of the hotel as the number had been changed so look for the above.
Taxi from airport around 300 Durams however the hotel uses a family run company who charges 150
on arrival the traffic will scare you its mad !!!!!! thankfully as we approached the villa it became all nice and peaceful
As the large wooden doors were opened when we arrived my wife and i were blown away !
its beautiful here !!
We were offered dinner and it was delicious we had Room 4 ground floor garden room
again beautiful !!
In the morning breakfast was basic but ample lunches and dinner very nice
we usually went for the chicken brochettes and large salad for lunch
The pool is cold but ok after a few strokes
Miriam in particular could not do enough for us we hope she does very well in the future she also spoke the best english as I could only do the basics in french
The Medina and city are approx 15 min away by taxi costing 200 return so not too bad
just remember to dial 00212 and drop the first digit off the local telephone numbers as we had fun and games working this one out !!
As regarding the main square you must go twice ! First time is very overwhelming and very unnervey second time is a breeze !!
you could always break your trip into two parts stay in the city a couple of nights and finish it off here in which you would get the best of both worlds
contact me if you would like any further advice or info

Also if you can do The Hot air Balloon and Quad Bike trips both Brilliant !!

Room Tip: Room 4 was Very nice on the ground floor with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hirdy280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

This property is a tytpical walled villa in rustic style, like many others in the Palmarie area about 15 minutes drive east of Marrakech. I arrived about mid day for a 4 day stay whilst working in Marrakech. Whilst my bags were taken to the room I was treated to a relaxing drink by the pool; which I appreciated after the flight. The staff organised transport from the airport. The front of house staff spoke English, French and Arabic and were extreemly friendly. The villa is off the main N8 route and being walled is quiet and relaxing. The gardens are splendid and the scent of Jasmin and the twittering of birds was everywhere. The rooms are spacious and incluse a sitting area, shower room, WC and so on. Each room has it's own balcony. The property consits of two main buildings: the rooms themselves, on two floors with a typical (as I understand) central court with a fountain; and the main reception, dinning room and lounge. I had evening meals as well with no menu. I was asked if I would be dining that night and then given the tareen of the day. Since the choice was always tereen I haven't had one since. Breakfast for me was under a canopy by the pool. Transport to and from Marrakech propper was easily aranged. Knowing how noisey Marrakech is I was glad to be in the tranquil quiet of the villa at night.

I would recommend this for couples and those seeking relaxing acccomodation offered on a very personal basis. This is rather like staying with friends and family.

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Merv G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

You will soon feel at home in Al Assala
The staff is great and very friendly.
The rooms and bathrooms are very spatieuses and comfort (tv-sattelite-heating) .
The park and pool are beautiful.
We have lunch and dinner on site twice, the "cuisniere" is very talented.
Thanks Al Assala

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
Dar Ayniwen Villa Hotel
#21 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 830 reviews
1.5 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#49 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 619 reviews
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
AG Hotel & Spa Marrakech
#246 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 49 reviews
8.1 mi away
Sirayane Boutique Hotel & Spa
2.5 mi away
Hotel Du Golf
Hotel Du Golf
#83 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Al Assala Palmeraie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Al Assala Palmeraie

Property: Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Address: Route de Fes, KM 4, Tamsna, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#45 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#52 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#85 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#100 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Al Assala Palmeraie 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An exceptional site in the full heart of the Palmeraie, and at only 10 minutes of the effervescence of the Jamaa-el-Fna Place, our property is offering a wonderful park of one hectare of olive trees, fruit trees and palm trees. Around the swimming pool, all is calm and pleasure to relax and enjoy the delicate and discreat service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Al Assala Palmeraie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie Hotel Marrakech
Al Assala Palmeraie Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing