We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful little hideaway in the heart of Marrakesh!”
Review of Riad Jahan

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Jahan
Ranked #168 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I travelled with a friend to Marrakesh in August, we got a taxi from the airport to the centre (bit of a rip off but they have you by the balls as they know unless you get the bus there is no other form of travel!) but either way it was fine, took about 10 mins. Riad was quite hard to find (even with directions) as it is bit of a rabbit warren once you get into the centre, however once we found it we were really pleasantly surprised. As other reviews said, it does look very run down in the area where the riad is but once you get inside it really is like a little gem! We were the only travellers in the riad at the time and Hyatt and Mohammed were so lovely and helpful to us. Mohammed especially, he was a true gent, we had trouble finding our way back at night (no street lamps and loads of local kids 'trying' to show us the way then wanting money!) so it had become a bit stressful so he offered to walk us to the restaurant at night and then walk back later to pick us up, nothing was too much bother. Every morning Hyatt provided breakfast at whatever time we wanted, fresh coffee, juice, yoghurt, toast etc, she rang and booked restaurants etc also. The room we stayed in was small but lovely, it had a large shower room with a bath, it was also spotlessly clean too. The roof terrace was nice to come back to after an evening out, Mohammed even brought us up some desert his mum had made for him for us to try!Such lovely, hospitable people and kind too, would definitely recommend Riad Jahan, I would just say though, it would be handy to have a torch at night and if travelling with other females, just be careful and whatever you do don't be bossed into letting anyone 'show' you the way as they will demand money and can get very annoyed if you don't give them any!All in all a lovely little place in the heart of the medina!

Room Tip: Just be prepared as altho the riad states it has air conditioning, ours was not very good and going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FairyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 37 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2011

Very charming place to stay. I came with my entire family (party of 11) and we rented the entire riad. Very authentic experience and I wanted that over staying in a typical Western hotel. The staff, Hyatt and Mohammed, were amazing - they go out of their way to make sure your every need is taken care of. Marrakesh is an overwhelming city - sensory overload: dirty, noisy, crowded, touristy, with motorbikes whizzing around every corner and no such thing as sidewalks - but the riad is a nice respite away from all that, and yet, smack dab in the middle, so the location is perfect. Once you enter though, it's quiet, peaceful and all you hear are birds.
The only negatives: the pool IS NOT heated, though the website says it is. And being without internet is kind of annoying - charming at first but after awhile, you really begin to miss it, so having the option to use it would be nice.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely, but one - the middle room, I think it's called Najma had a pipe proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mbilal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2011

Raid Jahan is just beautiful. Tucked away in the alleys of the medina, yet close to the main square & some excellent restaurants & cafes. I booked through the website & was provided with a wealth of local information, including good restaurants & sightseeing. We felt really lucky to have the 5 bedroom riad to ourselves for 5 nights. It felt homely and private, although there was always someone on hand if we wanted to book a restaurant or order a drink. The roof terrace is great for lounging about in the sun or shade. There's a cold dipping pool in the courtyard, which is really refreshing if you can handle it. The lounge has a flatscreen tv & loads of DVDs & books about Moroccan art, interiors & history. It's an all round lovely place to stay with lovely people to look after you & some great restaurants nearby. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Svevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2011

My family and I stayed ar Riad Jahan for a week in April of 2011. This was my first trip to Morocco and my family wanted to stay is an authentic Moroccan riad instead of a hotel. I read some pretty good reviews of Riad Jahan and liked what I saw on their website. Additionally, we were a large party (11 in total) and we needed a riad with sufficient availability. We ended up renting the entire riad for the week.

First of all, you need to understand that Marrakech is divided into an old city (where the souk is) and a new city. The new city is well newer. Looks relatively modern with some new, western hotels. The old city is very old, pretty dirty, very crowded and congested and most buildings look almost like adobe. My comments to my family when we pulled up to the riad is that "we better just be stopping for gas". The area is very old and dirty and it does not look like a place where one would vacation. To be fair, there are a lot of other riads in the area, so this is par for the course in Marrakech.

The furnishings are nice though in some areas a bit dated and worn. The pool IS NOT heated and even in the middle of a 100 degree day can be quite cold. The spa is just a small massage room next to the pool and the TV area is relatively small. The rooms are quite small and the A/C works fairly well. Be aware, the middle room has pipe issues and everynight until the next morning it smells like a sewer! Rooms have not TV or clock so you can get a bit lost timewise (not necessarily a bad thing). The tent on the deck is a nice place to catch some ZZZZsss but the deck is a bit dusty. The are a few lounge chairs on the deck and you can definetly cath some sun rays on the deck!

The staff are GREAT!! Very helpful and willing to go all out to please. The morning continental breakfast is a bit light (Moroccan bread which is delicious, yogurt, coffee, OJ, tea and sometimes muffins). They will prepare a traditional Moroccan dinner for you BUT BE AWARE, the cost is ridiculous!!!! You will pay 3-4X LESS if you just walk 5-10 minutes closer to the souk.

Because my family rented the entire riad, quarters were not to close. The riad has five rooms and can therefore be occupied by five different parties at any given time. For a family travelling together renting the entire riad, the accomodations are fine. For different parties not travelling together, the quarters might be a bit too close for comfort.

Overall, I can recommend Riad Jahan marginally. I will be honest in saying that I am a bit of a travel snob (I like four and five star hotels on beaches with spas) but I do feel like you can have an authentic Moroccan riad experience while having a bit of luxury which Riad Jahan does lack. If you stay here avoid Chamber Najma (the middle room) at all cost as it smelss horribly every night! This facility is not child friendly unless you have the entire riad (quarters too close for crying babies or loud children).

Room Tip: Avoid the middle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank idries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

My mother and I stayed for three nights in January 2011. We had Chambre Baracka which has a big bathroom. Although there is not much room to unpack there is a hanging cupboard in the bathroom. The beds are comfortable and we slept well. You can't hear the Mosque so it is only the birds that wake you!
The Housekeeper Hayatt and the staff are excellent . She speaks good English and is very helpful. Accept the offers of Green Tea! Breakfast was delicious.
The Riad is charmingly furnished and appropriate for the city. We enjoyed being on the Kasbah side of 'the big square' as it made access to the Palais Badii and Bahia easy. It was also a little less frantic than the Mouassine side.
We would recommend KosyBar for dinner. Silly name for a nice restaurant! Lovely food. 3 courses and wine for approx 700 Dirhams. Hayatt can direct you there!
Also Villa Flore. It is down the alley next to Restaurant Bourganvilla which is on the map. Again lovely food.
Recommendation: The first time you find Jemaa El Fna square, buy a map for 20 Dirhams from the Postcard seller across from the Marrakchi restaurant on the Square. It will help!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candi28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2010

To experience the 'real' Marrakesh then this is the only place you would want to stay...

From the very minute you step through the door you are overcome with a feeling of relaxation and pleasure... The riad is truly the perfect contrast to the busy markets and squares of the city and to return there after a day's exploring was truly amazing... The staff can never do enough for you and if you needed any more encouragement, I shall be returning as soon as possible...

Don't miss out on this gem, you'll regret it for sure

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BazzaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2010

We celebrated our anniversary in Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains, a wonderful trip in both hotels we selected.Riad Jahan was really charming and intimate, home away from home with lovely hospitality.we got a great deal booking with the riad directly which was easy.

Our room was tastefully decorated and we got great night sleep only being woken by the birds in the morning.breakfast was delicous and generous which we had on the terrace, the evening meal was cooked perfectly by fatiyma.In fact when we compare our room to that of the Kasbah Tamadot there was little difference in the size yet the price was 3x more expensive. The bhou and terrace were perfect with a book after a haggling nightmare in the souks (much harder than i expected)

It was just luck we found riad jahan on the internet amongts hundreds of others.We had a wonderful stay and would recommend this riad to anyone looking for something unique and special in marrakech.It's also a good idea to get away from marrakech for a few days, the atlas mountains were spectacular and the berber people so warm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzziee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 502 in Marrakech
1,300 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 502 in Marrakech
2,087 reviews
4.0 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
1.9 mi away
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel  & Spa
Adam Park Marrakech Hotel & Spa
#209 of 502 in Marrakech
773 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#248 of 502 in Marrakech
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Jahan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jahan

Address: 44 Derb Lalla Chacha | Douar Groaua, Medina, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 304 Specialty Lodging in Marrakech
Price Range: $92 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing