We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless and tasteful Riad with caring staff.”
Review of Riad Elixir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Elixir
Ranked #503 of 1,133 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Spotless and tasteful Riad with caring staff.”
Reviewed December 12, 2010

We stayed at Riad Elixir in low season and snapped up an excellent rate, but I would have no hesitation in staying here even in high season. I could rave about everything from the free breakfast in the courtyard, the tasteful and spotless rooms with modern conveniences, the charming owners and the incredible and caring Fatima, but I won't bore you.

If I had to pick a downside, it would be that it is a little far out. Technically in the medina, but on the outer edge. It's a short walk from the Riad to the local square and if you're happy to catch the local bus (2dinar) or negotiate a petit taxi everytime you head out then it is fine, but as we like to walk everywhere, it was a little bit annoying.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyPantsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    34
    4
    4
    5
See reviews for
37
29
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

Our trip to Marrakesh was a delight thanks to the wonderful Riad Elixir. We were met at the airport by a driver and spirited inside the Medina, arrival at Riad Elixir was the beginning of a most outstanding Marrakesh experience. The hospitality offered by Hassan and Fatima was superb. Our host Hassan arranged a guide to show us the palaces and places of interest in Marrakesh, this gave us incredible insight into the history and culture of this most wonderful country. We also arranged a a trip into the Atlas mountains, I would highly reccomend this trip to travellers, we took a walk in the mountains with a Berber guide and met his many family and relations, their generosity of spirit certainly made a memorable trip for us.. The accomodation at Riad Elixir is authentic and most comfortable and the meals cooked by Fatima were the best food we tasted in Morocco.
I encourage others to experience the hospitality of Riad Elixir. Donna Bush Australia

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DonnaLouise47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2010

The service was wonderful... it's a little off the beaten path, so if you are comfortable getting your way there, book it. (you'll be most liley approched by children anyway offering to guide you home for a fee anyway).

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikevincent24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2008

We stayed here for a night last year and although it's a bit of nightmare to find had a good couple of days. It's recently renovated and the family-run business cannot to enough to help you, despite a few language barriers! (my french, their english!).

It's incredibly clean and the breakfasts were amazing. It's not a grand old riad but if you are looking for a friendly, clean environment this is a good bet.

It is quite a walk to the central area - so I'd recommend only booking if you are happy with that. The location right near the mosque did mean we were woken up rather early, but it added to the atmosphere!

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 365dayholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2007

Hi travellers, we stayed at Riad Elixir in Marrakech at the end of October. It´s pretty new and very beautifully done. Has an amazing terrace at the top where you can relax after a long day at the crazy Medina.
It has a patio with a small pool too. The staff was very friendly-Said & Fatima- and very hepfull with the directions aswell. Said organized a car rental for us. He speaks English, French and German.
They serve a delicious breakfast in the patio- is fantastic .Inside the riad is quiet but unfortunatelly is next to a Mosque. Every morning at 5am you can hear loudly someone praying for 20 minutes!! I suppouse this is the only disadvantage side of this gorgeous riad.

  • Liked — The service and the riad itself
  • Disliked — Being next to the mosque
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank koolmusik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#400 of 496 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#245 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#346 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#250 of 1,133 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Dar Beldia
Riad Dar Beldia
#115 of 1,133 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#869 of 1,133 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Elixir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Elixir

Property: Riad Elixir
Address: Rue Bounouala | Touala Sidi Ghanem - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #503 of 1,133 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Elixir 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Elixir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing