We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Assala Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Al Assala Medina
Ranked #359 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

Great staff ..quiet in a busy location .. Convenient located at the jfna square.. We had a huge room.. Apparently the biggest .. Design was grand. It's not hotel quick service it's more laid back and just what we like. Little bit hard to locate on the first time as it was only a door. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Admittedly, we didnt get off to a good start, this place is SO, SO hard to find, I wasnt put off when I read this as I thought it would be a bit tricky, but seriously, you can't find this hotel for love nor money. The taxi driver dropped us just outside the medina walls and pointed us in the rough direction of the riad, it's only a few minutes from the central square (if you know where you're going). Cue 3.5 hours of trying to find the place and almost considering staying somewhere else, however, another a taxi ride, unhelpful locals trying to 'help' us find our way (for a small sum!), calling the place (the number on the internet was wrong and just put us through to the answer machine of the sister hotel - so frustrating!) eventually we resorted to using a local internet cafe to look the place up online later, we made it. Even then we couldn't believe it was down the dingy, ill lit alley. There are no markings on the door, so even when you're there, you don't know you are. I've heard of hidden gems before, but this takes the biscuit.

We'd read positive things online about this place, so had splashed out the extra money to make our last days in Morocco special, we got there, at first it looks like paradise, it's a really beautiful little pool and outdoor seating area, but when we went to our room, we werent quite as taken with it. Everything looks impressive when you arrive, it definitely has a wow factor about it, but it is quite superficial. They've gone for a minimalist, distressed decor, except holes in the towels and bed sheet, chipped lampshades, burn mark on the toilet seat, mould on the walls of the bathroom and chipped paint in the bedroom were a step too far. Ive travelled a lot and stayed in a lot of places, if it was only a few things here and there, I wouldnt have given it another thought, but everything seemed to be too distressed and frankly shabby. It wasnt a pleasant experience.

The staff were friendly enough, the lady who serves breakfast is nice, although on the last night they said it would be great for us to go to an authentic moroccan evening at a restaurant just off the square. We were told by all three staff members we met that this place is amazing. DO NOT DO THIS, I think there may be some arrangement with the riad and the restaurant, it was awful and massively over priced, it is only tourists that go there, the food isnt great and the entertainment is really tacky, not authentic at all, throughout the meal, the waiters kept telling us that 'tip not included' by the end i would have paid them any money to get out of the gross three course meal we were roped into getting. Really disappointed, what was pitched as a friendly intimate dining experience, turned out to be as many tables as possible crammed in to a sad looking conference room that had been dressed up for tourists. We fed back to the member of staff at Assala and he was quite rude and didn't seem bothered at all. I wasnt taken with the other staff, I didnt find them hugely friendly or helpful.

If I knew what I know now, I would definitely not have stayed here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank C_Alice386
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlAssala, Directeur général at Riad Al Assala Medina, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Customer,
We offer for each service you réservertion taxi upon arrival at the airport which allows our customers to come peacefully in our institution.
Otherwise, our address with location map is available on our website and I had also left my cell phone number in case of trouble. I am very surprised that you have taken time to find the hotel and I am sorry. As for your remark about the towel, we considered your comments and have inspected the entire effect to withdraw three who were replaced. For recommendations on restaurants, do not rely on the person in front the riad, and our own staff is notified and whose recommendations have always been appreciated. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed in Riad for 3 nights in the beginning of April. Definitely recommend to organise a taxi from the airport. We have done so as advised by other travellers. Location is fantastic 5 minutes walk from Jemaa el Fna square, although alley the hotel is based is bit scary looking and smells of urine. There is no sign outside and the door opens only after ringing the buzzer. Inside a complete different story, beautiful oasis with palms and a swimming pool.
Service was very friendly but they have not speak English very well which proved to be a challenge for us not soeaking much French. We have had food once for the evening and was very nice, we ate tagine and cous cous.
Celine , the manager helped me to organise a birthday surprise for my fiancé and also booked the restaurant and a taxi for the evening.
Watching sunset from the roof with a glass of wine was fantastic.
The only downsides were : door do not have any locks and as we were staying in a ground floor room it was quite loud when the staff was talking around kitchen area when making breakfast. Safe in our room was not working and we were using safe in another room to store our valuables, and that one stopped working on our last day.
Definitely recommend this hotel if you would like to enjoy Medina, can have a better location, however for longer stay and relax would recommend to move outside Medina to Palmeraie.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olga K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Travelled here Jan 2013 with my daughter and it was everything others have said Would strongly recomend getting taxi from airport prebooked by the riad as i dont think we would have found it otherwise but once found it was found it was so easy to stay here We were the only guests and were given incredible service even with Salah waiting at the end of the alley for us one night Yes the alley smells and there are no signs but it really is fabulous inside We didnt feel unsafe at any time getting home and it is so near everything
Spent my birthday at a Hamman the Riad booked for us just round the corner which was one of the best massages I have ever had Followed by a drink on the roof terrace watching sun go down behind the Koutoubia mosque; an amazing starry night appearing before heading for a meal in the square at our favourite stall 117 where i was treated to a free cake made from a snickers bar Fantastic!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonMotherof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Checking into the Riad Al Assala, one might be wandering whet they have signed up for. The location on a side alley in the Medina may make you a bit nervous. But fear not. behind the door is a small bit of paradise in the wild and crazy Medina of Marrakech.

The service was tremendous. There are two different English speaking attendants in the evening and morning. The staff is always at on site and very present. I felt very safe here.

The room was charming, rustic and very clean. (Though I continually bumped my head on the entry door). Very Moroccan in feel.

There is a bubbling pool in the center of the property. November weather kept me from using it but it is charming none the less.

Wifi on site is very strong. Breakfast was basic but nice. Again...the service was excellent.

Best of all is that the location is so close to the Jemaa El Fna Square you won't believe it. Only about a 5 minute walk. Also very near to many other Marrakech attractions - Mosque, Bahia Palace etc.

Room Tip: I had a Garden Room and opened out to the pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sfpromo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was the most fantastic experience of a place to visit.

Marrakesh itself is quite a culture shock, and the tranquility of the Riad was exceptional

Please remember you will have to pay taxes to the Riad when you leave

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The service at the riad is excellent. The staff is always around if you need anything. The 6 rooms are all big as I was able to visit all of them. Even if there are no keys to lock the rooms, I felt pretty safe that there wont be anything lost while I am away. You can use the handle bar that closes the door.

Bedrooms are clean and bright and the bathrooms are luxurious. The decoration is very minimalist and a little contemporary Moroccan style with niches and colored tiles on some rooms.

In the middle of the courtyard is mainly a wading pool. It was too cold to swim in it in April, but I bet it would be nice to soak on it on a hot day after a day out.

Complimentary Wifi is availble on the ground floor and strongest spot if you stay near the office.

Breakfast is adequate - eggs ( the way you like them), jams, coffee or tea, bread and Moroccan pancakes.

Although they advertise massage in their spa, I was not able to see the spa area.

Location is great. It is only about a 100 meters or less to the main pedestrian way leading to the Jemaa El-Fnaa main square of Marrakech where everything is happening - from the snake charmers to the soukh entrances to the evening restaurants serving traditional Moroccon dishes. Lighting on the streets from the riad to the main pedestrian is bright so no dark alleyways to worry about.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms are best, especially if you have heavy suitcases. The stairs up to the rooms may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R_Reyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#81 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#162 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 360 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#335 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#88 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#100 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Assala Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Assala Medina

Property: Riad Al Assala Medina
Address: Rue du dispensaire et rue Sequaia, No19, Arsat Moulay Moussa | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #359 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Al Assala Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, accessible by car, nestled in a quiet street in the vibrant Medina, Riad Al Assala is a beautiful guest house offering high quality services. This fully restored character residence is a harmonious blend of Moorish style and modern comfort. Riad Al Assala has 6 spacious rooms and suites with air conditioning and a charming fireplace. All rooms overlook the central courtyard in the middle of which is a small pool. The large terrace, equipped with solarium, offers a beautiful view of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutoubia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Al Assala Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Assala Medina Hotel Marrakech
Riad Al Assala Medina Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing