We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Lovely staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Al Assala Medina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Al Assala Medina
Ranked #365 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

This is not a 5 star hotel and the bathrooms have a telephone style shower/tap combo but no hook for the shower head. The staff are lovely and go out of their way, they were so helpful even though their english isn't that wonderful but better than my french. Everything in Morroco is geared to the french as it is the second language and most travellers speak french so worth brushing up on it in advance. The riad has a sister hotel in the palm grove area where you can go for a hamman and massage, nice place but definitely prefer the riad. We got stung on the taxi and the lady at the spa said one price and the taxi driver said another! We also travelled to the atlas mountains organised via the riad - much easier to do - which was really enjoyable but as ever check what is and isn't included. Wonderful staff really made the stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m0n_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    26
    8
    6
    2
See reviews for
18
96
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I have to agree with all other reviews - this place is an oasis of peace amidst the craziness which is literally outside the door. It is amazing how they manage to achieve this level and feeling of peace! This is really necessary in such a crazy place as Marrakech.

The staff are so unbelievably friendly and will do anything you ask. This is very refreshing. The place is beautiful and the rooms spacious and amazing. The roof terrace is wonderful with comfortable sun loungers. There were a few small things that I would say render this more of a 4 star than a 5 star:

1) This is not their fault but the internet connection is really dodgy. Also, if you need to use the internet you have to use their computer in reception (where they work from and thus kick them off). Whilst they are totally happy for you to do this I feel they could provide internet for guests at a separate station
2) They clean the rooms quite late in the day and we had to ask for toilet paper
3) The sun umbrellas are mostly broken and you have to ask the staff to come and put up an umbrella (which is necessary as it is scorching up there)
4) If you want dinner you have to order it 24 hours in advance
5) They don't speak very much English
6) No - one knows where this address is so you HAVE to get the transfer which costs around 27 Euros
7) The food is relatively expensive (12 Euros for a tagine which you can get for 6 Euros outside)
8) Breakfast was not filling. You get a load of white bread, no fruit or cereal. The coffee was good and the orange juice freshly squeezed but the amount of white bread in various forms was unbelievable.

So although it is more of a 4 star than a 5 I would still return.

Please note about Marrakech though that the traffic level is insane. There doesn't seem to be any traffic system in place and mopeds/carts/mules/barrows come whizzing past you up the tiny lanes without warning. This is very stressful.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank in-situLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

On the small street, The Riad that we found behind the front door was totaly overwhelming ! It is a beautiful place to stay. Cool music and rose petals in the pool.
Bedroom was spacious and clean. Everything was perfect here, from the amazing view and local food to the Riad rooftop with the owners to learn more than in all my travel guides. For Info, the owner has another Riad in the Palmeraie. They kindly take us there to visit it. It is also an amazing place like a oasis. The dinner was great too.
I definitely recommend Al Assala to anybody who wants to see Marrakech and I would love to go back again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hervebrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

This is a riad, not a hotel, so the experience is different. More like a B&B, but expensive.

Upon arrival to Marrakech, we could find no taxi driver that knew of this place. It took us 1 1/2 hrs, a lot of help from a merchant to get the location via phone. Problem is no one working that day spoke English, and we speak no French. The riad is located off an alley, which is not listed on maps.

The rooms were nice and comfortable. I enjoyed the AC at night. Breakfast is served outside your door at poolside. While there is a safe in the room, the rooms are not locked at all.

The main square is a five minute walk away. We found only one place to drink beer....Hotel Tazi near the taxi stand. Across was a street vendor that sold escargot.....excellent and fresh if you want to try something different!

The only negative thing is that the alley to the riad is nasty....homeless, garbage and the smell of urine. It was good to see that someone from the hotel was waiting for us at the beginning of the alley when we returned back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misterclancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

Great place, nice villa, suitable if you have a car. Fantastic to relax after the dusty crowd in the suk. Lovely pool and great service (Maurad has been really helpful and kind). Especially liked breakfast by the pool. Large rooms with view to a well-kept garden in a palmeraie. Minuses: difficult to reach (bring Google map); staff knowing basic English (learn French); elusive wi-fi. On a whole, a pleasant stay even if a bit expensive.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EuropeUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2011

Riad al-Assal is a typical riad ideally located in the center
of Marrakech.
It has only 6 rooms but all are very original.
Our arrival was perfect with local pastries
served in the patio.
Our room was very spacious with a nice bathroom.
The Roof is beautiful with views of the Koutoubia and on the mountain.
The staff is very smiling and advise and book
good addresses for restaurants and spa.
What is most pleasing to al Assala is to be in a typical
but modern place, with a small number of rooms with
Staff present but unobtrusive

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dennyswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

The Riad is located down an alley, over flowing dust bins and beggars are immeadiately outside the front entrance, and the strench of urine is over whelming. Inside however there is a sense of style and the hotel is clean but tired. Room was comfortable, no mini bar, no tea or coffee facilities and no bottled water. Towels were clean but not white. Service was OK, but breakfast was average. Pool is very small and out of the sun, roof terrace is great but you can smell the alley at times.If your expectations are low and you want to be right in the heart of the Medina then this Riad will fit the bill.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joanne7815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
2.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#81 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#158 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Hasna Espi
Riad Hasna Espi
#331 of 511 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#89 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#93 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#103 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Al Assala Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Al Assala Medina

Property: Riad Al Assala Medina
Address: Rue du dispensaire et rue Sequaia, No19, Arsat Moulay Moussa | Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Al Assala Medina 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 3 minutes walk from Jemaa El Fna square, accessible by car, nestled in a quiet street in the vibrant Medina, Riad Al Assala is a beautiful guest house offering high quality services. This fully restored character residence is a harmonious blend of Moorish style and modern comfort. Riad Al Assala has 6 spacious rooms and suites with air conditioning and a charming fireplace. All rooms overlook the central courtyard in the middle of which is a small pool. The large terrace, equipped with solarium, offers a beautiful view of the Atlas Mountains and the Koutoubia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Prestigia and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Al Assala Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Assala Medina Hotel Marrakech
Riad Al Assala Medina Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing