We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay”
Review of Riad Dar Tamlil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Tamlil
Ranked #289 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay”
Reviewed October 10, 2010

We spent 7 nights in this fantastic riad. Arrived at late, we did ask a man on the street to guide as to the door, gave some tip everything was fine.
Location couldnt be better as the main square was only some minutes walk.
In the medina nothing was really far, even we could get the main bus station ( gare routiére) within 25 minutes walk.
The room was clean and comfortable, Abdul who works there very friendly and helpful, ( the lady , too, sorry i dont remember her name) breakfast delicious and more than enough, mint tea great as well.
Roof terace excellent for relax and take a sunbath.
We would definitely recommended this riad and will find our next stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erika7419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    56
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
29
83
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 6, 2010

This place is great if you are travelling on a budget, the whole riad is clean and of an acceptable standard. The first thing that struck us when we entered from the bustling alley was how tranquil the court yard was, we felt instantly relaxed after a journey from hell to get there. We were greeted with fresh mint tea and a warm smile from Abdul.

As with most travelling adventures, each time you change to a different currency, it seems that you are constantly ripped off until you get to grips with the local/tourist price and the value of the local currency. Abdul who seems to be everything from receptionist to butler soon put us straight on essential topics of what to pay, what scams to look out for, where to go, how to get there, what to see and what to avoid. I can't say enough good things about this man!

If you read this Abdul, your English is great!

I have given this riad a high rating, but don't expect The Ritz, 5 star it is not, but for the money it is fantastic, there is also a good roof terrace for socialising or sun bathing without offending locals.

We used Atlas Trekking to go to the Sahara, good people carrier and knowledgable guide, ask Abdul to contact them for you, a great value for money trip.

Marrakech is a crazy place, everybody should experience it at least once. Watch out for the mopeds!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank discofirecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2010

An excellent place to stay, close to the center of Medina. Charming rooms in Moroccan style. Staff very friendly. Nice garden and terrace.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akidea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We were staying at this Riad on our first night in Morocco. As we arrived late in the day in the medina at Marrakesh via a taxi we were immediatly surrounded by hustlers and and faux guides that would follow us as we searched for our riad. When we found it, it felt like knocking at the door of a private home. The owner welcomed us and as we entered we were absorbed by its quietness and beauty; inside the riad you don't hear a sound from outside. It felt incredibly peacefull.

It is very small with only four rooms. Our room had two twin beds, AC and bathroom. It is very cosy and clean. The only negative point is that there is no door between the bathroom and the room; only a curtain. So if you have privacy issues, it might bother you. Fortunely there is a bathroom with a door down in the lobby.

The AC worked really nice and was quiet (caracteristics we will seldom find on most ACs in Morocco hotels as we will out find later).

This riad is one of the few that offers Internet booking on its website so you can choose your room and nights and actually pay your deposit with a credit card (many riads will require that you wire the deposit money).

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corvuscorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

An excellent place to stay!! Definitely recommended. Abdo is a fantastic host and always very helpful. Excellent breakfast. The Riad is very close (2-3 minutes) to all sorts of shops and to Jenna el Fna which is quite convenient to chill out every now and then from all the buzz of the city

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank don_adame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed June 8, 2010

Fantastic Riad, Jamal and staff are friendly, welcoming, and have fantastic advice. The location is perfect and the rooms are lovely. Breakfast on the terrace is recommended. Peaceful, friendly and safe.. loved it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank England027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
catalunya
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2010

I've stayed in Marrakech some months ago, and I can't forget the city and this Riad. It is very close to Jma el Fna square, the center of Marrakech. The relation price/quality is very good. The staff but specially Abdul were very kind: anything you would like you only have to ask them. The breakfast included is delicious and complete. As it is a small hotel (only four rooms and two people working) you feel like at home. Though it is less than 100m to reach the city center, it is very paceful and safe. Cleaning was good enough. But the best thing is that the decoration and the building are typical from Morocco.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaikee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#143 of 499 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#163 of 499 in Marrakech
166 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#205 of 499 in Marrakech
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Tamazouzte
Riad Tamazouzte
#727 of 1,146 in Marrakech
42 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Maissoun
Riad Maissoun
#543 of 1,146 in Marrakech
83 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Mouna
Riad Mouna
#542 of 1,146 in Marrakech
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tamlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tamlil

Property: Riad Dar Tamlil
Address: Rue riad Zitoun el Kedim | Derb Lakhdar no 7, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #289 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Tamlil 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at 150 METERS of the famous Square DJEMAA-EL-FNA, Riad of charm situed in a historical district of the medina, at calm, but in the immediate vicinity of the main monuments, souks and animation. The riad has 4 rooms with private ensuite (shower/WC or bath/WC), air-conditionned/heating. All rooms have sight on a beautiful PATIO with a fountain, trees and many plants. A pleasant TERRACE on the roof makes it possible to benefit from the sun or enjoy a mint tea contemplating the view of the medina. The ACCESS is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tamlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing