We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Moroccan Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Tamlil

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Tamlil
Ranked #351 of 1,167 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This Riad (B&B) is tucked away only minutes from the wonderfully hectic, but fascinating Medina or town center. A dirt alleyway leads to an iron door which opens to the most adorable mosaic courtyard with orange trees, individually decorated rooms, and a very welcoming staff. Breakfast was delicious and filling, rooms were clean, showers were hot, and any possible questions we could have had were answered by the amazingly kind staff.
Such a great value and so close to everything you want to see in Marrakech. This is not your luxury European hotel located right next to the airport and isolated from the true Marrakech. This is the Marrakech experience that you don't want to miss out on!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 174 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2012

This Riad is nestled in the Medina, less than a minute walking from the open space of Djama al Fna... Incrdibly comfortable place to stay, very traditional and has a lovely terrace. Abde is the care taker of this Riad and is one of the most humble, helpful and incredible people you will ever meet.

Riad Dar Tamlil was reccomended to me by somebody else, and I would recommend it to everyone. It incredible and peaceful. It works out very cheap, particularly if you 3 people travelling, because an extra bed works out much more reasonable.

(Disclaimer)However the bathrooms have no doors, instead there are thick curtains. But its an experience. :D

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AyeshaMualla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We arrived into Marrakech quite late at night in 2 seperate parties. The group I was in were greeted by Abdul in the riad and we were offered maps of the city and information about organising tours straight away (which is what we wanted). Our friend arrived after us and sadly didn't have the same experience as there was only a night guard on duty.

The double room we stayed in was stunning although there was only a curtain seperating the ensuite from the bedroom and there was no ceiling to the ensuite either so everything can be heard from the bedroom!

The 'triple' was actually a double bed and a single bed which was a shame as we had wanted a triple as our friends were 3 single people.

The riad itself was very pretty with a big tree in the middle of it. We had breakfast upstairs on the roof terrace which was plentiful (although our friend couldn't have this as she left early in the morning before the night guard was relieved of duty by people who work there).

The riad is in a small souk very close to the main square so is perfect in terms of location but is also fairly quiet.

All in all I'd say this was a really good value Riad but sadly I think you get a different service if staff aren't there to help you.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

This Riad offers 4 quiet, clean and charming rooms a couple of meters away from the busy Place Jemaa El Fna. Fair prices, very friendly staff, good breakfast and awesome tips for day trips to the desert and the mountains! Very much recommendable!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anjrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

The riad has a very good, aprox 2-3 minutes walk from the Djema El Fna market. The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. The Staff is very friendly and willing to help you with everything. Very good value per money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrei P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

A quaint riad near the bustling center that we utilized as a refuge point, staying a handful of days over a 2 1/2 week vacation. Abdul, the main contact person, is an angel. The only unfortunate thing was that we had a tour operator for Sahara Tours come to visit, set up by the riad, and we booked an excursion that was not acceptable.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Notpra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

We felt this was excellent value for money and the staff were so obliging and friendly. We stayed 3 nights in April and were made to feel very welcome. It is in a very narrow unmarked alley within the medina and on arrival our taxi driver (arranged by the riad) dropped us at the edge of the old town and engaged a man with a handcart to guide us and transport our luggage so that locating it wasn't a problem. Because it is so near the Djemaa El Fna finding it yourself again really isn't a problem although a small torch did come in handy for after dark.
Each morning I was wakened by birdsong in the courtyard and breakfast on the roof terrace was a delight.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glasgowwanderers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad des Eaux et Spa
Riad des Eaux et Spa
#161 of 501 in Marrakech
172 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad 11 Zitoune
Riad 11 Zitoune
#481 of 501 in Marrakech
74 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#136 of 501 in Marrakech
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel du Tresor
Hotel du Tresor
#208 of 501 in Marrakech
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hotel Essaouira
Riad Hotel Essaouira
#189 of 501 in Marrakech
163 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Maissoun
Riad Maissoun
#545 of 1,167 in Marrakech
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Tamlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tamlil

Address: Rue riad Zitoun el Kedim | Derb Lakhdar no 7, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 1,167 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $47 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Tamlil 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located at 150 METERS of the famous Square DJEMAA-EL-FNA, Riad of charm situed in a historical district of the medina, at calm, but in the immediate vicinity of the main monuments, souks and animation. The riad has 4 rooms with private ensuite (shower/WC or bath/WC), air-conditionned/heating. All rooms have sight on a beautiful PATIO with a fountain, trees and many plants. A pleasant TERRACE on the roof makes it possible to benefit from the sun or enjoy a mint tea contemplating the view of the medina. The ACCESS is easy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad Dar Tamlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing