We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After the stimulating senses of Marrakech - relax and luxuriate”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #10 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2014

We recently spent three nights at this superb Riad. We were met by the famous 'Cous Cous' the donkey (thankfully a healthy and clearly well cared for example) - a nice touch. This city of contrasts could not be better represented as we entered this sumptuous Riad from the hot dusty streets of the medina. The welcome of all the staff from Manager to Housekeeping was faultless, and continued so throughout our stay. There was always somebody at hand to help at any moment but professionaly discreet, giving rise to a private and homely atmosphere. Our bedroom had a contemporary, yet traditional style featuring a large stone bath - full length for any height. Altogether very comfortable, and cool, with efficient air-conditioning. There are many rooms and areas, including the spacious roof garden, where one can relax in a setting to suit the time or mood. We had the optional evening dinner, timed at our pleasure, on two of three nights and we left it to the house to choose the three course meal. A delicious meal each time - with good wine, in a lovely candlelit setting amongst the banana trees by the pool and waterfall. On venturing out for walks it was reassuring to be handed a mobile phone with all the hotel contacts and a genuine promise to be 'found' anywhere, should we get lost. Shopping in the immediate area of the Riad was perhaps even more authentic than the Jamaa El Fna main square - and much less hassle. Curiously, but in keeping with the Noir d'Ivoire name, there is a grand piano in one of the courtyards. I wouldn't have thought that pianists were in abundance here but no matter - it plays itself! It all adds to the luxurious atmosphere that it is the Noir d'Ivoire, but the the feature that would be most difficult to top is the quality and personal nature of the service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank GeoffreySap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

369 - 375 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

Context: Spent first 2 nights of week long trip to Marrakesh. Was greeted at the airport and taken to the outskirts of the Medina where the Riad’s donkey, Cous Cous, pulled our luggage through the alleyways of the old town to Noire D’Ivoire. The exterior of the riad – much like every other one we saw during our stay – is very discreet. But do not be misled, the inside is exquisitely decorated. Our host, Hassan, was there to serve us hot mint tea and coffee. After a quick overview of the riad, he led us around on a tour to see the winter courtyard, summer courtyard (with pool), and roof terrace (where we enjoyed both of our breakfasts). Throughout our stay, Hassan made himself incredibly available – with the help of a cell phone which they provide every guest with, loaded with helpful phone numbers. He arranged for dinner reservations, had another staff member walk us to dinner our first night as we were not familiar with the winding roads yet, etc.

We stayed in the Tourterelles room which is a standard queen bed room on the second floor of the winter courtyard. It was cozy, but beautiful and clean. Bed was average, but layout was great and all that we needed as we did not spend much time in the riad itself. Every room has A/C and basic toiletries (ladies, there is a hairdryer, but if you’re coming from the states and have a hair straightener, the outlets sadly burned out mine). Bathroom had private room for toilet and a waterfall shower head with a seating area. After our first night, we asked them to do some laundry which they did quickly and without charge. Water is also unlimited in the rooms, which in a hot place like Marrakesh, is an important savings.

As for meals, we dined at the riad itself for dinner one night and breakfast both mornings. The quality was fine, but we were not keen on the overdone and uninteresting tagine that Morocco has to offer for dinner and the abundance of carbohydrates they prepare for breakfast. I will say that the coffee was the best we had throughout our week in Morocco and the wait staff was incredibly accommodating and attentive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EKrehbiel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

Upon entering this beautiful Riad you are greeted with warmth, offered a drink and brought into the serene lobby to check in. Quite the contrast to the hustle and bustle of the square. The atmosphere is one of beauty and serenity. Hassan, the manager, took great care to welcome us and treat us like family. We were a party of 5, occupying 3 rooms. The rooms were beautiful. We were in the Zebre Master Suite, the Chameau Suite and Torterelles. The Zebre suite comes with it's on roof top terrace and outdoor hot tub. My husband and I loved the lay out of the Chameau suite with it's camel decor and comfortable chairs to lounge in both in the room and right outside the door. There is a beautiful soaking tub in both the Zebre Master Suite and the Chameau Suite. We were given cell phones by the hotel to use to communicate with each other and with hotel staff. Breakfast was served pool side or you have the option of room service. The pool area is lovely and has a peaceful water feature. In the summer you are able to look up at the sky. Any meals we had at the hotel were delicious and elegant. We were there during Ramadan and were grateful for the beautiful bar. I cannot emphasize the quality of the service provided. Every staff member knows your name and greets you with smiles. This beautiful hotel/riad is not to be missed if you are traveling to Marrakech. Gloria R.

Room Tip: Ask which rooms are quieter if that is a concern.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Gloria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This Riad is in itself a pearl in the middle of the Medina of Marrakech. Each room is fully oriented to delight the senses.
The staff guide my steps all the time and was really helpful in my first visit to Marrakech.
The decoration is made with class, the bar is really a relaxing and cosy space, the top roof is designed for rest and breath a bit of a Marrakech's air.

Room Tip: Check on the website for the room that suits better your expectations. All are adorable and really t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

The moment we met affaf , Abdul, and the beautiful hannan we felt we were coming home to an oasis in the amazing hectic marrakesh . This is a place not to be missed an experience that is just so out of the ordinary .. We cannot wait to return . There were many other people that looked after us and whom I cannot thank enough. Thank you for the Devine Hamamm and massage the beautiful dinner the amazing breakfast and just looking after us . If you have the opportunity to stay here, you must. There is no other place to stay that will be better, and I thoroughly looked into places to stay for our family of 5 ( ages ranging 23-48). This riad is home not a hotel . It is Devine

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Our stay in Noir d'Ivoire was excellent! The staff made us feel so special. My friend enjoyed so much the hospitality and great accommodation extended to us. Our room was even upgraded for the same price we booked! There is no place like home but in Noir d'ivoire they made you feel you're home. Their service is so personalized! We will surely recommend this to our friends and fellow filipinos.

Room Tip: All rooms are recommendable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rhoda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My wife and my stay was an absolute dream. The staff was caring and attentive and the property was beautiful and elegant. I am not going to name any staff by name, because I just don’t want to leave anybody out. Everyone was polite and caring and we both truly felt at home staying there. Worth every euro and more. There is no doubt we will be returning to Riad Noir D’Ivoire.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Renard des Sables Junior Suite and the Panthere Master Suite, both were outstanding...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#427 of 502 in Marrakech
126 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#271 of 502 in Marrakech
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#315 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#358 of 502 in Marrakech
73 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Bahja
Riad Bahja
#250 of 502 in Marrakech
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $305 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing