We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Noir D'Ivoire is a gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #6 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
“Noir D'Ivoire is a gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Noir D'Ivoire is a really wonderful oasis of peace, style, and luxury right in the centre of the old city. It’s a small boutique hotel, beautifully appointed, and with the intimacy of the second home of one’s dreams. The food and service and staff were great and Hassan (the manager) could not have been more helpful. Wonderful hotel which can be unreservedly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooftop rooms are particularly desirable
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,209
    30
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
147
883
23
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

We had the most amazing time at Noir D'Ivoire. From the moment we arrived and met couscous (the Donkey) and Hassan we were made to feel like the Riad was our second home. The Riad and rooms are incredible and extremely luxurious. I would highly recommend this place if you are planning a trip to Marrakesh. The restaurant recommendations were spot on and the map Hassan gave us made sure we didn't get lost (too much)! The location was perfect for wandering the small alleys in the Medina, the souk and the main square. We had the most amazing breakfast every morning served by the amazing staff. Great place highly recommended!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeganTomp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, England
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Riad Noir d'lvoire in April for 4 nights and were so glad we picked this particular riad ti stay at. Believe all the good reviews you read, as they are true. Hassa the assistant manager made us feel so welcome upon our arrival and was always around at answer any of the queries and questions, nothing was too much trouble, he was a true delight. The rest of the staff at the riad were also wonderful, always ready with a smile and a hello. Try a treatment with 'Madam Coco' the inhouse beauty therapist as we really enjoyed this and the Hammam was so relaxing. Mama the cook dished up some delicious meals on the nights we opted to eat in so again highly recommended. The riad has 2 cats which potter abouT the place and this for me was a highlight. If you felt like some feline company then 'Bouyot' or 'Forrest' were never far away.

We opted for a guide to take us around the medina and souks on the day after our arrival, just so we could get a feel for the area before being let loose on our own. We found this, although fairly expensive at 20 euro per hour, worth it. The riad organised this for us and the guide collected us from the riad at a time which suited us. Only point to note is that although you use an 'official guide' you may still be taken to the 'carpet sellers' and other various shops that sell lotions and potions (I'm sure its because it is all commission driven) but if you don't mind that like we didn't just enjoy the atmopshere.

We stayed in the Elephant room and enjoyed sitting out on the balcony, overlooking the winter courtyard drinking mint tea and the odd glass of red wine :-)

Breakfast each morning was substancial and filling and we liked the fact that we could have it at anytime that suited us. We ate all mornings on the roof in the sunshine, it was perfect.

Another thing that attracted me to the riad was Couscous the donkey, who carried our luggage to and from the riad. What a well looked after and sweet donkey. We rewarded him with polo mints so if you have room in your bag for a small packet of polos I'm sure he would appreciate them :-)

Anyway, if your heading to Marrakech, my husband and I highly recommend this beautiful riad, you won't be disappointed.

P.S - take your french phrase book, it will come in handy in and around Marrakech.
P.P.S - thank you Hassan for looking after us so wonderfully, Paula & Chris, Cheshire, UK

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidayheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This was the first place my husband, child (9 yrs.) and myself stayed upon arrival in Morocco and a long 24 hours of flying and layovers. We decided, after our 19 day tour of the country and staying at many high end riads, it was our favorite and a step above all the others. Having the cellphone to call staff, which we did use, to help us navigate the medina our first few days as well as the beautiful room (panther suite) and outdoor terrace for dining/jacuzzi was fabulous. We also had privacy, something I found lacking in some of the other places we stayed along our journey. The staff were helpful and will get you anything you need or ask for if at all possible. The breakfast was probably one of the better we had during our trip. If you do want to stay here with children, they should be older and well mannered (they sent me an email about this when booking) and I can see why having stayed at the property. There are many stairs, there are cats, and guests come here to relax and don't want to hear to many voices within the walls of the riad. It is a very quite, tasteful place with a peace that is wonderful to come "home" to after the craziness of the Marrakech medina. Highly recommend, especially for the first few days of a long journey. The high price of accommodation still is a value. We stayed at a couple other properties, which were in the same price range, and felt Riad Noir d'Ivoire offered the best value.

If there was any niggling criticism, it would be that the jacuzzi on the roof top terrace for the panther suite was not hot, just rather luke warm, but that really is a small thing as we didn't have time to use it much but hotter water would be nice. Can't think of anything else!

Room Tip: Panther Suite is a good choice if you have a child and offers a private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

What a spectacular experience. Stayed in 3 different rooms since they were so full, but loved every single room! Decor and ambiance simply magnificent.
Afaf, Hassan and the team made us feel like family. The service is personalised and beautiful. I would go back there any day...
Breakfast is a treat, too much food. The rooftop is wonderful and so it the option of your private patio outside, depending on the room you select.
They take such good care of you and can arrange anything and make great suggestions of things to do if you want.
You have to visit Madame Coco and eat at least one meal in the Riad. Great location. Hope to be back! Soon!

Room Tip: I loved Chameau, very nice and big. Chameleon is smaller, but equally beautiful. Zebra has its own p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MadameZelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

This stunning riad is tucked in a small alleyway set amidst the hustle and bustle of the medina only a short walk from the main square and souks.
The riad itself is elegant and beautifully appointed. We stayed in the zebra suite, which was spacious and comfortable and included a private roof terrace for breakfasting or sunbathing.
However, it is the level of service that set the riad noire d'Ivoire apart from anywhere else that we have stayed. We were surprised to be presented with a mobile phone on arrival which was loaded with the riad's main telephone number and the personal mobile numbers of key staff members. We were told to use any of the numbers at any time of day or night whether it to be to order drinks to the room, to get directions when we ( inevitably ) got lost, or to help bartering with a trader in the souk. This level of personal service and attention to detail continued for the duration of our stay, and made our visit to Marrakech a real pleasure.
We would not hesitate to recommend this riad to anybody heading for Marrakech.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

This was the perfect oasis in the hustle and bustle of the Medina in Marrakech. The Riad is beautiful and the service is outstanding and extaordinarily personalized --- exactly what I needed for my first trip to Marrakech. I ended up staying in both the Guepard and the Panthere suites. Both were stunning -- although if forced to choose, I did love the separate living room of the Guepard that overlooked the inner courtyard. I was traveling on my own and a first time visitor. The staff did an incredible job of helping me navigate the charms and challenges of Marrakech -- couldn't have done it without them!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#3 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,365 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 995 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#4 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#2 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 715 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,710 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#14 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing