We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“"Outstanding Riad Noir d'Ivoire a wonderful overall experience "” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #6 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Outstanding Riad Noir d'Ivoire a wonderful overall experience "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My wife and I visited Marrakech after many years, wishing to reacquaint ourselves with this magic place. We feel very lucky to have chosen to stay at Riad Noir d'Ivoire with its superb ambiance and special staff, Rebeca, Damien and Afaf and indeed everyone there made it their goal to make our stay relaxing and memorable, always attentive and efficient, never intrusive, and always great fun! The information Damien gave us regarding restaurants was amazing and, he seemed to know just what suited us! We also ate at the Riad, Mama's meals were fabulous and made all the more special sitting around a candle lit pool, it was just beautiful! We stayed in the Guepard suite, just fabulous! Our own rooftop terrace complete with a jacuzzi and sun lounges and sitting area gave us privacy and a wonderful view of the Atlas Mountains. A wonderfully spacious room with a sitting area with windows that opened onto the central courtyard. The heated pool was just what we needed at the end of a day making our way around the labyrinth of alleyways. The staff were always on hand to accompany us to wherever we wanted to go, whether it was to an ATM or a restaurant, ready with a smile and a warm "welcome back". We were also given a mobile for immediate contact with the Riad if we lost our way, and always reassured with the words " if you don't get lost you haven't seen the real Marrakech"! I can't find enough superlatives for this Riad, it truly was a great find, the personalities of Rebeca, Damien and Afaf and staff all contributing to our memories of an exceptional stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discovering19a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,203
    30
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
880
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is an incredible place. In the heart of the Medina, Damien, Rebeca et al have created an extraordinary sanctuary. The level of attention to detail is exceptional without being over the top. We spent a fantastic few nights here and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fvgwt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 3 days before heading off to the mountains to climb Mt Toubkal and do other trekking. Rebecca, Damian and all the staff looked after us fantastically well, always helpful, wonderfully welcoming, and so made our stay a pleasure. I also recommend staying in for at least one night to eat here, the food was classically simple but beautifully cooked and was lovely to have by the pool. You also want to ignore the reviewer that went on about a 'covered' Riad, it simply misses the point that they have created a lovely 'lounge' in one of the courtyards and a beautiful normal open courtyard with a heated pool in the other, so to me you get the best of both worlds for the space and facilities, it simply is lovely. We booked into the Panthere suite which has a lovely roof top jacuzzi and loungers and had breakfast up there everyday. One of the lovely aspects of the evenings when we came back was to light the fire and just relax from the madness of Marrakech with a drink from the bar. I simply cannot agree with any comments about noise based on our stay, this place is as it should be an oasis of calm with some light music piped into one area which really we didn't notice in other areas. Rebecca is one of these great people who knows how to be fun, engaging, professional but is prepared to joke and be amusing rather than the annoyance of over the top pampering and being obsequiously nice to you which you get in some expensive hotels. In other words its a genuine welcome and you'd want Rebecca to be one of your friends as well as the fact she is wonderfully professional at looking after you and Damian is great too! So if i was ever in Marrakech I would be back, no problem and so thanks very much to all the staff, Jim

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JimboBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Not that we are experts but the best way to experience the medina in Marrakech is to stay in a Riad. These former inward facing mansions around a central courtyard are an experience unto themselves. We spent five nights at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire and loved it. The service was exceptional. Rebeca and Damian were very helpful, gracious hosts.

Our trip began when we were picked up at the airport, which was not without some drama: our flight was not posted on the arrival board and there was a flight from the same city on the same airline that arrived 30 minutes earlier (the airline was consistent as it was not posted on the departure board in Madrid either). The driver was in communication with Rebeca and she instructed him to wait. A good thing as it was such a comfort to us to see that friendly sign; we did not want to brave finding the place via a cab. There are very few streets that are wide enough to accommodate cars in the medina. The driver gets as close as he can and the staff meets you there with the famous ( in reviews of the Riad) Coucous, the donkey who pulls the cart with your luggage.

The staff works hard on making everyone's stay an enjoyable one. They provide a local cell phone for emergencies. We used our once and but for information, not an emergency. They frequently offer to walk guests to shopping or restaurants. We preferred to use their very helpful new map with landmarks depicted with pictures and those pointed out by Damian to find our way around. Every day both Rebeca and Damian greeted us and discussed our previous day and plans for the current day. Damian made dinner reservations as well as arrangements for a day trip to Demnate we requested (not worth it - better to visit a place in the Atlas Mountains).

There has been mention of the plastic cover. Yes the place might have been a bit warm (the rooms have air conditioning if the guest chooses to turn it on) but the alternative was no cover, subjecting the main courtyard to the elements ( it does rain in Marrakech and in April there were also some windy days), or a roof. A roof is not part of the Riad experience. At least we knew when it was raining as well as whether it was sunny.

The food was great. Every morning the staff remembered our coffee and tea preferences and we enjoyed the fruit, local yogurt and eggs. We did eat out twice and found the experience less than satisfactory. It seemed as if every menu was the same: tajine with beef, chicken or lamb and Coucous with the same root vegetables. We ate at the Riad the last two nights as the food was better and the ambiance of the courtyard is wonderful. Furthermore, while we enjoyed the local wine, the Riad has French wine on their list as well as local. We enjoyed their Chablis and even sprung for a 11 year old Bordeaux. There has been mention of the price of water and drinks. Rare is the hotel that does not charge what some feel is a lot for water and other drinks. If one wants less expensive drinks they are available outside the hotel. We happily bought expensive wine at the Riad because we wanted it and never complained (don't tell Rebeca but we did buy mineral water at a shop in the souk near the Riad).

We stayed in the Elephant suite which overlooked the main courtyard. We had a nice small balcony with two chairs. We found it a pleasant place to sit especially at the end of a long day. The room was large and very well decorated; the bathroom was also quite spacious with two sinks. As for noise, when the windows and balcony door were closed, we heard nothing.

For those who like to remain wired, there is free WiFi. The data plan for Morocco had I needed to use it is VERY expensive; if one is to be connected, WIFI is the only way to go.

We spent three very full days walking the Medina; by our pedometer 19.5 miles. At the end of day walking the crowded plaza souks and alleys of the medina, the Riad Noir d'Ivoire was the perfect oasis.

Room Tip: There are two courtyards so ask for a room over the pool if noise from breakfast or activity in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianNewYork_NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This trip was organised by our family as a special surprise, and surprised we were,from the moment we were collected from the airport the spectacle of Marrakech unfolded, we were taken to a small square within the teaming markets and met cuscus the donkey who took our cases to our Riad down a very narrow pathway to a large set of doors which opened to a beautiful oasis.
We were immediately welcomed by people who all made sure we were given a personal welcome and time to relax (the wine helped) but more to the point the people their smiles, care, attention and the environment gave us a calm and unhurried start to our stay. I will not spoil any surprises awaiting you in Riad NoirD'Ivoire, and the the diverse shops, restaurants and teaming markets all within walking distance, the staff at the Riad will give you advise and recommendations for a safe, relaxing exposure to a completely different way of life. Peter&vicky

Room Tip: Our Riad via trip advisor, has an excellent web site showing rooms etc, ours was clean,comfortable a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 627PeterH627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worcester, uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

From the very first warm greeting our stay at his Riad went well. Treat it like home we were told. The staff were all lovely, friendly cheerful and helpful. Rebeca is LOVELY! We were really made to feel that they were there to help us , including advising on and organizing trips and restaurants...even escorting us through the maze of the Medina if required. The decor is traditional Morroccan with a chic antiquey vibe...and is a real comfort to step back into after the outside bedlam.
The Riad has adopted 4 cats....and for our family of cat lovers this was a great bonus! Their donkey "couscous" is also a rescued adoptee.
I wouldn't hesitate to return here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s5eph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

It is easy to say that the Riad Noire D'Ivoire is beautiful - which it is - a lovely oasis and haven in the middle of craziness of the Medina in Marrakech. The bit that truly differentiates this Riad however is the customer service and specifically Rebeca and her team, who are fantastic. From the moment you arrive with Couscous the donkey, nothing is too much trouble, the team are amazing and Rebeca runs the place with an amazing focus and precision on people, everyone is made to feel special and we were left feeling like part of the family.

Room Tip: Chameau - the camel room was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saml213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,342 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#12 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#17 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,676 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing