We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with many cats and minor flaws” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Save
You added Riad Noir d'Ivoire to your Saves list
31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #3 of 490 Hotels in Marrakech
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great place with many cats and minor flaws”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed at this place for three nights in January 2013. Riad Noir d'Ivoire proofed to be a very good place for our family. The best part for us was the roof terrace which is an oasis in the otherwise wild and crazy Marrakech. Spa Treatments were also fine and staff was extremely friendly and helpful at all time. The Riad has a modern and beautiful style setting.

There are a couple of things to consider before you go there though:

- There are 4 to 5 cats around living in the hotel. If you are allergic to cats as I am you may want to look for another place in Marrakech
- Our room was very beautiful but also with some open space to the lobby with noise and light emissions til late in the evening and early in the morning
- Breakfast was excellent but sloooow. We needed 60-90 minutes for the breakfast and if you are short of time this might make you unhappy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Blackmage1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riad Noire D'Ivoire and would highly recommend
it. When you first arrive in the Medina you're met with the hustle and
bustle (which you soon get used to) but as soon as you enter the Riad Noire
D'Ivoire it provides a complete contrast - a sanctuary of peace and luxury. The
Riad itself is very well appointed and atmospheric (we couldn't stop taking
photos of the place!) and for us was exactly what we were hoping for in
terms of how a Moroccan Riad should feel. We stayed in the Cameleon Room
which was perfect for what we wanted and again very nicely decorated with
local themes. The Riad has a nice pool and bar together with a beautiful
inner courtyard area around which the rooms are based. There's also a
lovely roof terrace where you can have freshly made breakfast every day as
the sun comes up and the city awakes. The service is attentive and the
staff very pleasant. Above all Rebeca is a wonderful hostess and ensures
that all her guests are made welcome and that they're aware of the many
options that Marrakech has to offer. Rebeca took the time to give us
directions, provide tips on dos and don'ts in the Medina, book restaurants
and day trips and look after our transportation (which included Cous Cous
the donkey pulling our luggage). Rebeca even arranged for us to be
escorted by a staff member a couple of times to ensure we found our way.
All Rebeca and Damien's recommendations worked out really well. The Riad
is probably about a 10-15 minute walk to the main Square and about a 5
minute walk to catch a cab if going outside the Medina so everything is
within easy reach. All in all we had a very memorable stay in Marrakech
and this was largely down to the Riad Noire D'Ivoire

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank tme7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Located in the depths of the medina is a real gem. The riad is luxurious. From the moment you step in, you can feel that no expense has been spared to create a Moroccan paradise. The service was exceptional. The staff - Nordine, Nebil and all others - was attentive and eager to attend to every whim. It was a treat to be able to dine in the riad, where tables were set to maximize privacy as if we were fine dining at home. The heated pool was an absolute bonus, where our young daughter enjoyed afternoon frolics after long morning walks through Marrakech. Rebeca and Damien could not be more amazing hosts, always providing helpful suggestions on what to do and where to go for the real Marrakech. A truly elegant place in every way.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhc_nyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
88 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I'd highly recommend staying at a Riad for a first time visit to Marrakech and while I can't compare to other Riads we did enjoy our stay here. The staff and service were impeccable, although english wasn't as strong as their arabic and french. Lots of cats in the property. Breakfast was great and the roof was a peaceful place to eat it when it wasn't too cold, although once the flies start waking up they get very annoying.
After a couple days we were fairly proficient at navigating the streets and alleys surrounding the Riad and got used to the 15-20 min walk to the Jemma/main square through the souks. Tours of the Atlas mountains and car/driver arranged by the Riad were very enjoyable and highly recommended. Restaurant recommendations by Damien were spot on and both him and Rebecca were very friendly.

Room Tip: Every room is unique, the smallest one right by the entrance is extremely noisy from kids playing ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sting800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I want to start out by saying the experience and stay is far better than any Four Seasons, Ritz or Mandarin Oriental hotels we have stayed at. I feel this was a 7 star hotel! My husband and I will talk about our stay here for a LONG TIME. It made our stay in Marrakech perfect.

You are greeted by Couscous (donkey) and a hotel staff to walk you to the Riad. From there, Rebecca will greet you to show you around :) The rooms are amazing!!! We were booked for the Panther Suite which had a small leak, so we stayed in the Zebra room. We were showed both, and I actually liked the Zebra room better. It was smaller, but sooo cozy!!!

Rebecca always had our reservations made, and made sure the driver knew exactly where we were going. Damien was also a huge help with directions and suggestions on where to go for lunch and dinner. Before you head out for the day, they give you a cell phone to use for your stay, and you keep that with you until you checkout. You are able to call Rebecca or Damien at anytime for questions and directions. It's amazing to even receive that kind of service. We always felt like we had help at the tips of our fingers (literally).

Breakfast was included in our stay, and was amazing. We had a fruit cup and yogurt. Then they always had hot bread and eggs if you like. The breakfast was soooo fresh and I always looked forward to it.

We did use the hot swimming pool twice which was very nice. Nice to relax and have drinks after you have been walking for awhile. The Riad has 4 cats that live there, which made the stay even better!!! Huge animal lover, and they are all very sweet. They do not go into the rooms, so there is no need to worry if your allergic.

The Spa - You have to get the Hamam if you stay. My skin has never felt so soft!! You will be amazed what this will leave your body feeling like. It was a great experience!!!!! Everything is done very professionally :) Make sure to get the 55 min. massage afterwards :)

I never wanted to try a taxi so we walked everywhere, and at night we used private transportation. Rebecca or Damien can book this for you. Yes it's more expensive, but worth every penny. It's nice having a car waiting on you, and not hassling with a taxi and prices. The driver Mohamed was sooo nice. We fell in love with him. After dinner, a staff at the hotel would always walk us back to the Riad at night. We never had a worry at all.

This was just not a great stay, but a great experience as well. I can't even put into words how much we loved our stay here. We appreciate everything the staff did for us. I can't wait to go back, just to stay here. :)

Thank you!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms are all good. Saw the Panther and Zebra suite. I preferred the Zebra room because it was more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valzerrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Excellent staff, management flawless and friendly. Felt so well cared for. They seemed to magically know when to appear and disappear. Attentive without being cloying. Made us bookings at restaurants around town and ensured we always had a roaring fire when we came home in the evening. Couldn't recommend enough. The heated pool and roof terrace were also big pluses. Some people seem daunted by the entry via winding streets in the medina but it was quite easy to navigate after the first time.

Room Tip: We were in Panthere it was a bit dark but nice office space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keoma76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

If I need to recharge my batteries and want to be well looked after, then I visit Marrakech. It was my second stay at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire and I will return on a regular basis. The passion for dedicated service and attention to detail by the hotel management (Rebeca, Damien), staff (Nabil and others) and excursion partners (Samir) is absolutely fantastic! Makes me smile all the time. Favourite places are the roof top terrace for tranquility and Caméléon which is a very atmospheric room. All in all, this is my favourite hotel. Enjoy! Christian

Room Tip: Cameleon is a tastefully decorated room with a cosy open fire place. Recommended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,198 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#5 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#8 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad le Clos des Arts
Riad le Clos des Arts
#2 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,088 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#4 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 780 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#9 of 490 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing