We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Excellent hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #6 of 504 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
staffs
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Damien and Ariane are the perfect hosts. We we met on arrival and given a tour of the beautiful Riad. We ate at the Riad the first night and the food was excellent, and we had a good choice of wine " gerard deparduex" vineyard marroco very good. Damien helped plan our first excursion in to the souks and provided someone to show us the way in and out of the allyes to make sure we could get back, we had a mobile phone for emergencies which allayed my fears of getting lost!. The suite we had was excellent, calm peacefull and at night the babbling of the water soothed us off to a good nights sleep. Once accustomed to the amount of people the souks aren't that difficult. Marrakech was a surprise we have been to India several times and expected Marrakech to be on the same lines, but we were surpridsed at how clean and well maintained the city is. Would we come back most definatly yes, but would like to go into the mountains as well. Top tip try and get an apple from the airport before you leave or stop and buy a carrot on the way to the riad as a thank you to Couscous the donkey who works hard in the heat lugging all your luggage every day.He loves it.

Room Tip: Any of the rooms would be great, but the suites have their own roof terrace and spa tub. the Zebra h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ralphy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,202
    30
    1
    2
    3
See reviews for
146
880
22
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edlesborough
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Firstly go to Marrakech if you’re thinking of going and haven’t been before. It’s by far the closest place to the UK you’ll ever be – while being the furthest away you’ll ever get culturally, and it’s well worth the visit. The Easy Jet flight on the way back from Marrakech to London Gatwick only took two and a half hours! Admittedly we landed 20 mins ahead of schedule (the flight from Gatwick is normally around 3 hrs), so I’m not sure what magic wind we were on, but great flight times.

We were celebrating a belated honeymoon and 40th birthday, and chose the Riad Noir d'Ivoire based on my rather crude ‘find me the best place to stay in Marrakech’ Trip Advisor search, and on arrival we already knew we weren’t going to be let down. If you’re thinking of staying at the Riad Noir d'Ivoire then you’ve probably read a few reviews already, and all I can say is that it *does* live up to its giant reputation.

The rooms are great (beautiful in fact). We stayed in the Elephant suite which provides sumptuous living, a very comfy bed, stunning bathroom and the most important thing… calm. You do need calm when you visit Marrakech. Don’t underestimate it.

And that calm very much continues to the rest of the Riad too. Normally when you stay in a hotel, even in the most luxurious hotel, the only real place you get to fully relax is the hotel room itself, but that’s not what has been created at the Noir d'Ivoire. The Riad is your home while you stay there, and although many other places that claim a similar experience, it’s actually very difficult to create in reality. Ariane and the staff manage it perfectly which is where the Noir d'Ivoire stands out. It really does feel like your home. You can wander around and find yourself a comfy nook by the two pools, or by a roaring open fire. You can be sociable or you can hide and you never feel pressured to do anything. My wife and myself spent one whole evening just sitting on huge sofas by an open fire reading and playing with Ms Piggy – one of the Riad cats!! Total decompression is the name of the game here, and it works beautifully.

Congrats to Ariane and the gang for creating something very special here.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights at this Riad, and thoroughly enjoyed it. We would repeat the other comments about Ariane, Damien and the staff - they're all very friendly and helpful. And the nice little touches make a difference too, like having a staff member walk you - as many times as you feel you need - from the riad to the local medina landmarks and back again so you're confident of finding your way back in the maze that is the medina (in reality, once you're shown once it's quite easy) and giving you a prepaid mobile phone with their numbers pre-programmed for the duration of your stay - again we didn't need it, but it's very comforting. Our room (the Chameau suite) was lovely and spacious, and very comfortable for our 5 night stay with a large wardrobe with drawers to unpack into, a separate sitting area and a study desk. Wifi works well in this room too (not just in the communal areas of the riad - something to watch out for elsewhere in Moroccan riads, particularly on higher floors). Laundry was prompt and cheap (Medina prices, again something to watch out for). The many communal areas of the property were lovely also (although in reality the swimming pool is nowhere near as big as it looked to us in the photos!), with a very light, airy and tranquil restaurant / breakfast area right in the middle courtyard, surrounding an interesting water feature (which is actually deep enough to be a pool). There's only two minor things I'd flag - a few other people have commented on the "lovely" cats, but like us if you're not "cat people" (or, like me, you're allergic to cat hair) it can be a bit random having cats around you all the time. I'm sure lots of people find this charming and unique - we certainly didn't experience it anywhere else in Morocco during our 4 week tour - but the cats are *really* friendly (they come up to you if you sit on the lounge in front of the fire, they come into your room if you leave the door open) and there's no doubt the staff and most of the guests really like them, but they weren't really for us. The staff did their best to clean up their hair, but one morning at breakfast it was early and busy and we had no choice but to sit on chairs which had dark velour chair covers, and they were covered in white cat hair. I don't really want to make a big thing of this, as I said most people would probably find it cute and it certainly didn't spoil our stay - as I said it just wasn't for us, and if you have a raging allergy to cat hair you might consider staying elsewhere. Also, although the breakfast service was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast itself was great (continential items + eggs however you like them) we did sometimes find the service very slow and relaxed and most mornings took 45 mins to an hour for breakfast (when we were eager to get away, even on our last morning when we had a transfer booked/confirmed through the Riad) and with the staff's sometimes limited English and our limited French we had trouble getting a consistently good morning coffee (very important for us, hehe). Overall though, our stay here was lovely, and if you don't mind cats and you like a relaxed breakfast, we'd have no hesitation recommending this place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Impeccable service (Ariane is very nice and incredibly helpful and knowledgeable).
Wonderful breakfasts (fresh fruit and juice, eggs, good coffee, and great Morrocan pancakes).
Extremely luxurious riad with two pools and very stylish rooms.
Great location at the north of the medina.
Only possible drawbacks are (1) that the rooms are a bit dark and (2) that the riad is a new building (which therefore lacks some authenticity that other riads offer--that said, the gorgeous furnishings make up for this).
Overall a great experience and a wonderful, peaceful retreat from the madness of the souks. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BramStoker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Thorougly enjoyed our stay at Riad Noir d'ivoire.The Riad is such a relaxing place to stay.All the staff were very helpful & friendly,nothing was too much trouble for them & went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.The food at the Riad was excellent & really looked forward to our breakfasts,which varied each day..Ariane & Diamien had a wealth of information including places to visit,places to eat & help with all the local customs.They were always around to answer any queries we had.We experienced the Hammam followed by a massage at the Riad,definately not to be missed,superb!Everything about this place was fantastic.Would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aliherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

Warm and welcoming are the first words which come to mind, when thinking about the Riad Noir d'Ivoire...
Ariane, Damien, the staff and the lovely cats made entering the Riad feel like coming home.
And what a home it is; Beautiful, cosy rooms, ours with a private terrace overlooking Marrakech and the Atlas mountains. Beautiful courtyards breathing tranquility and style. And an invigorating Hammam and massage room to relax in... The Riad is a quiet haven of style and all of this in the very center of the hustle and bustle of Marrakech.
Ariane and Damien are very helpfull in finding beautiful places to visit and great restaurants to enjoy. The staff is also very helpfull in showing you around in the labyrinth that is Marrakech. And if needed they even provide you with a private chauffeur taking you whereever you need to go. A service which I can only recommend.
The food in the Riad is great, so when you want to stay in and relax, you won't have a worry on your mind.
One of the best holidays we ever had... Hope to be back soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steven c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Our time at Riad Noir D'Ivoire was absolutely perfect. It is not only a stunningly beautiful place to stay, but the service is impeccable. We stayed at the Riad for four nights and enjoyed an idyllic and memorable experience. Ariane and Damian were the perfect hosts, providing us with all the info we needed on day one to equip us for our time in Marrakesh and even sent us out with a guide to help us acquaint ourselves with the city and ensure we could find our way around and back to the riad easily. Our room was spotless with no detail left untouched. Ariane and Damian also provided us with some great restaurant and street food tips which we loved, and there was nothing nicer than returning from a busy day out on the bustling streets to a relaxing drink by the fire with the resident cats in our beautiful riad. I can't recommend staying here highly enough. Excellent location, approx 10-15 minutes to the main square, but nothing beats having such lovely hosts and gorgeous surroundings. I definitely recommend making Riad Noir D'ivoire part of your next trip to Morocco, it will be well worth it.

Room Tip: We had one of the smaller rooms and it was gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melbexplorers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,341 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#1 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#16 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,674 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Assakina
Riad Assakina
#4 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 516 reviews
0.5 mi away
Maison MK
Maison MK
#3 of 504 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Property: Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic destination composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include Spa with traditional hammam, Boutique, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing