We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Riad”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #9 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 7, 2011

What a wonderful place this is. We loved Marrakech, but there is no denying it is hot and tiring if out walking most of the day. This Riad was a much needed oasis. It is beautifully decorated throughout, but it really is the service here that stands out. Everyone is so helpful and has got the balance just right.
Damien knows everything and will book you any trips/ restaurants you want. Jill was always around and had a chat when you came back from your day out. It really felt like coming home. The rest of the staff are superb, nothing is too much trouble and they are all very friendly.
We stayed in the Elephant suite, which was very spacious with a fantastic silver bath and shower overhead. Very quiet room with brilliant air con( much needed) I would also recommend the couples hammam, never felt so clean. Jill/ Damien also organised a trip to the Atlas mountains for us. Samir was a very safe driver and very interesting to talk to.
We found Marrakech very safe and weren't hassled in an aggressive way at all. The banter in the souks is hilarious and good natured. they are lovely people. My husband popped out to the local barbers for a shave with a cut throat razor,(difficult to get in England, health and safety etc!) He came back looking great and having made a new friend who then always gave us a wave as we walked by.
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a perfect place to stay in an interesting city. We also fell in love with the cats, particuarly Rodney who deserves his own show! Thank you ,Jill and team.

Room Tip: I am sure all the rooms here are beautiful
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MidlandsSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
There are newer reviews for Riad Noir d'Ivoire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

812 - 818 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed June 28, 2011

We have always looked to Trip Advisor for recommendations ahead of booking trips all over the world but never before have we been so impressed that we have decided to post our own thoughts.

From the moment that we stepped through the discreet door in a small alleyway off one of the main medina thoroughfares, we knew that we had made the right decision.

Greeted by the brilliant Damian, we were quickly made very much at home and shown to our room - chameleon - having been given an upgrade.

It was gorgeous with stunning attention to detail, a theme which flowed throughout this beautiful riad.

A small army of black suited staff bend over backwards to meet your every need - nothing is ever too much trouble. Special mentions for Nabil, who served us stunning breakfasts by the pool to Nadia, who gave us the most fantastic hamman treatments in the small but beautifully formed spa. Mustafa, Esham and Abdul were also always on hand to help.

He's already had a mention but Luxembourg born Damian is surely the riad's prime asset. He is a mine of information about Marrakech, whether it be top tips about day trips to securing the very best tables at the many excellent restaurants, he is always happy to help and has struck the absolute right balance in being on hand to help but knowing when to blend away into the background to allow guests to enjoy the peace and tranquillity for which the raid is quite rightly famed. Another well known feature is the little legion of cats who all have their unique traits but those who'd rather avoid felines on the prowl needn't worry as they all keep themselves to themselves although I'd challenge even the most fervent in the anti-cat brigade not to be bowled over by the wide-eyed and wonderful Rodney who we are hoping to adopt!

Much has been written about life in the medina, it's a crazy and colourful place where you never quite know what lies around the next corner. There really is something for everyone. A visit to the New Town is well worthwhile for drinks and dinner at The Lotus Lounge followed by belly dancing displays at Comptoir (watch out for the dance off with women precariously balancing trays of candles on their heads!) and finish off with a drink at Jal Mahad where a half decent Michael Jackson impersonator shares the stage with a cheesy Europop group - sounds dire but it actually seems to work.

A trip out to Bo Zin for dinner is well worth the 15min drive. Looks can be deceptive because this square concrete box opens up a beautiful garden where Moroccan meets Asia for an interesting and delicious menu. Get a garden table (thanks again Damian!) and enjoy the food, the atmosphere and the DJ playing a set which ranges from the 80s to the print day.

If the heat becomes too much take the 45min trip up into the mountains for a day at Maroc Lodge, a haven nestling in the foothills of the mountains with a lovely infinity pool set in gorgeous gardens where you are treated to a delicious and very reasonable three course lunch.

The last word goes to Yorkshire lass Jill. She's run the raid for five years and has turned it into the success it is today. Her attention to detail, not only in terms of the look and feel of the raid but also in terms of the ethos and atmosphere she creates, is exceptional. Like Damian, she always has time for guests and really seems to enjoy the company of those that she welcomes into this oasis. We really can't recommend a stay here highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TheLarges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2011

Words can’t really do justice to the level of service provided by Jill and Damien at this little gem. The Riad is an oasis of calm, coupled with discreet hospitality – it’s as if you are the only guests – and there’s no sparing attention to detail. We chose to celebrate our 27th wedding anniversary somewhere entirely different – and couldn’t have been more delighted by this exceptional experience. The staff are quietly charming, there’s generous help and advice on all aspects of your visit and, if you choose to dine in the Riad itself (highly recommended!), Latifa’s cooking is a treat. Every inch of the place has been carefully designed, and is spotless. We’ve booked for next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Yodarunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Riad Noir D'Ivoire for a week after originally intending to stay for just 3 nights. We studied Tripadvisor before we left and I'm so pleased we followed the positive recommendations and booked. It was a really memorable holiday.

The Riad is a complete oasis in the old part of town and most definitely has the wow factor; the website pictures don't do it justice. Jill (the owner) is an incredibly talented interior designer and the look is ultra sophisticated yet homely. We were immediately given a lovely welcome and and sat sipping gin and tonics by the pool while our bags were whisked away.

The Riad is a very welcome antidote to the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The old town feels completely safe but is an assault on the senses and it's impossible not to get lost. It is therefore important to be able to retreat to calm after exploring.

Nothing is too much trouble for the lovely staff. They are all a really happy and welcoming bunch and complete professionals. We enjoyed massages in the spa and really delicious meals throughout our stay. We were also escorted to restaurants etc. when we weren't sure of the way. It is easy to tell that Miriam, the housekeeper, and the rest of the team are very proud of their work and the place is completely spotless and perfectly presented at all times.

Whilst the rooms are situated around two open courtyards, there are lots of nooks and crannies to sit and have a drink or a quiet read. One night, for example, we came back from dinner and had coffee curled up in one of the libraries. We also had drinks on the roof terrace or round the pool.

Damien should be mentioned for all his help and recommendations while we were there. He figured out what we liked very quickly and recommended perfect restaurants and places to shop. Other couples did more unusual activities like hot air ballooning and trekking in the mountains. At all times, both Damien and Jill are on hand to help without being intrusive.

After three nights we were supposed to stay in the Palmerie for the remainder of our stay but were so disappointed by the second hotel (which was also recommended by Mr & Mrs Smith) that we came running back within an hour and a half! The second place had its faults but, in truth, we had also been spoilt by that stage.

If you're not sure which room to pick don't be put off by the smaller rooms because they are still luxurious. During the second part of the stay, however, we moved to the Camelion, which was uber luxurious with a big bath and lots of space. We also asked to see some of the other rooms and were impressed by the Camel and the Panther.

Finally, the real star of the show is Jill, who is enormous fun and the perfect host. I am very surprised by the 2 "terrible" comments on Tripadvisor because they simply don't accord with our experience, which was entirely positive.

I have no doubt we will return in the future.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank APReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We would like to thank you both (but especially Damien) for the care and attention we received during our stay in Marrakech, which was the best that we have ever received in any city and made our break both memorable and extraordinarily relaxing.

To quote Zorro “we shall return”.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows onto the courtyard
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robireland52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights and it was heavenly. After some hectic hours in the medina you'll enter an oasis of rest and peace, you'll be welcomed by their lovely staff and amazing managers, Jill and Damien, who are pleased to give you a lot of tips, make reservations, arrange a driver, whatever you like! We'll be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hmerceli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

We had five fantastic days in this beautiful Riad. The service was very personal and friendly.
The room and all the facilities was very tasteful and charming, and the food was also very nice. The location was also great, with just a few minuts walk to the Souk. We will definitivly be back.
Laila & Helge, Norway

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lasjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#433 of 502 in Marrakech
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#317 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#293 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#368 of 502 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#160 of 502 in Marrakech
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#4 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $342 - $550 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing