We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More of a palace than a hotel”
Review of Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Noir d'Ivoire
Ranked #8 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 17, 2011

This is the most beautiful oasis of calm in the midst of the mayhem of old Marrakech. There are sumptuous interiors in a modern but essentially Moroccan style and our room was almost an apartment, with its own staircase and a lounge area looking down into the rear courtyard. The jacuzzi on our private roof terrace was the ultimate luxury. Candlelit dinner was waiting for us when we arrived and a guide sent out with us next day on our first venture into the medina, to point out the landmarks for finding our way back! Smiling service from all the staff, who looked after our every need. The riad has its own hammam bath and spa room, which is not to be missed. We recommend the full massage! Thank you Jill and Damien for making us so welcome and providing the perfect relaxing retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGardener26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,336)
There are newer reviews for Riad Noir d'Ivoire
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

855 - 861 of 1,336 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2011

Perfect design, staff, detail and, most importantly, cats. Everything works to create a sense of pure serenity. It would be a shame to come to Marrakech and not see the city. I also found it a shame to leave the riad. In that sense, Noir D'Ivoire may be too good.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AEO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

We have just returned from a weekend break in Marrakech and I chose Riad Noir D'Ivoire after reading the glowing reviews here on TripAdvisor. As the previous reviews stated, it didn't disappoint. The riad is situated in the medina, within the old city walls and it is an easy walk to the souks and Djema al Fna, the main square. It is in a residential area with local shops, and walking through the area provides an interesting peek into the lives of the locals.

We arrived on Friday evening, were met at the airport by a driver even though I had given Jill a later arrival time, an error on my part. We were at the carpark near the riad in 20 minutes, where we were met by some of the staff and our luggage was carted through the winding lanes to the riad. There we were met at the door by Damien, who offered us drinks and showed us to our room, the Cameleon suite, which was beautifully decorated and had a very comfy bed. As it was late and raining (unusual for Marrakech), we ate dinner in that night, with a starter of briouettes, a main of chicken tagine and dessert of poached pear.

We met Jill the next morning and she is such an interesting person to talk to. Her personality is stamped all over the place and she has created a wonderful place in a city that can be frustrating and hectic for some.

Damien's instructions and tips on where to go were extremely clear and helpful and although we lost ourselves in the souks, we were still able to find our way back to the riad by picking out the landmarks pointed out by one of the staff who escorted us out on the first day. We were offered a phone in case we got lost, which we didn't take but it is a very practical gesture. We also felt safe walking around at night, although the laneways were quieter, but still well lit.

The riad has two courtyards, and we enjoyed sitting out in one on the Saturday night with a bottle of Champagne, enjoying the peace and quiet that London doesn't always offer. Additionally, the roof terrace was the perfect place to have the delicious Continental breakfast of fruit, yoghurt, toast and pastries. Wifi is available in the common areas but you won't be using it much, there's too much else to do.

One point I would like to make is that my partner and I are very independent travellers, very self-sufficient and like time to ourselves. Whilst we had wonderful service and spent time talking to Jill and Damien, we also had a lot of time to ourselves whilst at the riad, thus making for a very relaxing break. We also enjoyed the cats, there are several in the riad, all very playful and always up for a cuddle.

We will definitely be back again, for a longer stay the next time.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_nomad_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

I booked this Riad for a 4 night stay in March and based on reviews on TripAdvisor, the riad website and mentions in magazines I had very high expectations! Still, my experience at Noir D’Ivoire managed to go above and beyond everything I had hoped for. I’ve travelled quite a bit and in very different parts of the world, but I have never experienced a hotel that can hold a candle to this place.

From the minute we stepped inside this beautiful and stylish haven, we felt welcome and at home. Jill’s attention to detail and remarkable personality shines though in everything from the stunning décor to her warm and affectionate attention to your every need. Likewise, her assistant Damien and all of the riad staff went out of their way to make our stay a blissful break from everyday life. We were spoiled and taken care of 24 hours a day, and even though Marrakech is a very safe city, one of the staff would even pick us up after dinner and walk us home – just to make sure we could find our way though the fascinating maze that is the medina.

I loved the unique and vibrant city of Marrakech, but I simply don’t think I would have experienced the city the same way had I not stayed at this riad and had the qualified guiding about everything from restaurants and shopping to sightseeing and local customs from Jill and Damien. I have never experienced the degree of personal service and hospitably like you find in the gorgeous Riad Noir D’Ivoire.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeSand_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

As with many other people that have been lucky enough to visit Noir D’Ivoire I really cannot fault it. Elegant, comfortable, stylish, immaculate... I could talk forever about this amazing hotel but words cannot describe just how good it is!
Marrakech can be quite a draining place to visit, so much going on, but this really is the perfect place to stay to get away from it all and relax.
This is firmly on my list of places to visit again.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank muswell25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2011

Just returned from a lovely trip to Noir D’Ivoire … the hotel is beautiful, rooms are divine and the service is first class – all-in-all a wonderful time.
It was a last minute getaway for me and my boyfriend, and our first visit to Marrakech. We arrived to a warm welcome, a chilled glass of wine and a cosy meal for two in this beautifully designed riad.
We hadn’t had chance to research where we’d like to visit during our long-weekend stay, so thankfully Jill (the owner) and Damien (her trusty side-kick) provided us with all the information we needed, gave us a map (and phone - in case we got lost) and made dinner and driver reservations for us.
We stayed in one of the suites with a private roof terrace – where we ate breakfast, sunbathed and relaxed in the Jacuzzi.
As I was celebrating my birthday during our stay, Noir D’Ivoire made my day extra special from start to finish. We also treated ourselves to the hammam and massage in the quaint little spa.
A wonderful weekend break in great hotel hideaway.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJTStravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2011

All these positive reviews are true and say it all. I have never reviewed anything on Tripadvisor before, but the welcome and service that Jill and Damien gave our family was the best we have ever received anywhere (and we travel a lot) so I felt I must! Jill even arranged for my youngest son's favourite t-shirts to follow us to the mountains (no mention of charging us) after he lost them down the back of a wardrobe ..... nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank benitoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#12 of 502 in Marrakech
615 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#439 of 502 in Marrakech
125 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar El Assafir
Dar El Assafir
#317 of 502 in Marrakech
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#292 of 502 in Marrakech
108 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Asna
Riad Asna
#368 of 502 in Marrakech
72 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Bab Tilila
Riad Bab Tilila
#164 of 502 in Marrakech
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Noir d'Ivoire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Noir d'Ivoire

Address: 31, Derb jdid Bab Doukkala 44.000, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#3 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#7 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $342 - $549 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Noir d'Ivoire is a romantic boutique hotel composed of five suites, three of which have private roof terraces and jacuzzis, two junior suites and two double rooms. Services include bar, Spa with traditional hammam, fully equipped gym, library, restaurant and a heated pool. All suites have fireplaces and all rooms, have air conditioning, heating, mini-bars, hairdryers, wall safes and flat screen televisions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Noir d'Ivoire reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Noir d`Ivoire Hotel Marrakech
Riad Noir d Ivoire Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing