We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“So happy to have found this Hotel!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toulousain Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Toulousain Hotel
Ranked #322 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So happy to have found this Hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2012

I usually stay in one particular Hotel near the Djeema el Fna for my first night in Morocco, but over time have become disillusioned with it.

I am SO happy that I have discovered the Hotel Toulousain (thank you Lonely Planet Guide)!! It's on the airport bus route, is only a 12 minute walk from the train station, about 15 minute walk from CTM and Supratour Bus Stations.

I'm a solo traveller andI found all staff members I had contact with very, very helpful and nothing was too much trouble and they all made me feel very welcome. I stayed there 3 times during my trip and all my 3 rooms were comfortable and a good price (140MAD/£11.20 approx for shared facilities & 220MAD/£17.60 with own facilities) including breakfast (baguette, butter, jam, croissant/pain au choc, juice and hot drink) Choice of two lovely courtyards to eat breakfast. A bonus for me was the Literary Cafe next door. Great place to sit and read books left/donated by other travellers (or buy one very cheaply) and have access to free wi-fi

Quiet location and only one street behind the busy streets. In one of my rooms I experienced some sound travelling from the club behind, but a pair of ear plugs soon sorted that out! The Solaris Restaurant on the main road is a very hand place offering lovely food.

The Hotel Toulousain will now be my preferred hotel on arriving in Marrakech. There's a luggage room available which is great for those times when you don't want to cart all your stuff around with you!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoozeHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    54
    23
    8
    3
See reviews for
10
40
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

Very basic hotel, but away from the maddening crowds.. a blissful place to reflect in.. The staff are above and beyond in hospitality and will bend over backwards to accommodate you.. You can store your luggage securely and travel to come back to find all is in good order.. secure,serene... and money well spent.. I have stayed there on and off over 7 years.. and will continue to do so.. it is home away from home...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2011

I spent a few days at Hotel Toulousain, made to feel very welcome, comfortable room, incredible breakfasts & easy to get around!

Having spent numerous trips staying in the medina area, I'm glad I found Hotel Toulousain - in the ville nouvelle, no touts nearby and a wonderful courtyard with wifi access!

I will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kira A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avignon, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

The initial impression of the room wasn't great, to be honest. But the place was clean enough, comfortable enough, accessible enough... breakfast was nice though! And all the staff I encountered were very friendly and happy to help, especially the lady at reception.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilyr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South-west Wales
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2011

We had room 25 - it was on the 1st floor and we paid 200 dirhams so it was one of the cheapie options. The bathroom was a walk down the hall. We weren't given towels, not sure if this was an oversight or extra, had our own ones anyhow. In retrospect, I definitely wished we had paid extra and got something downstairs, or at least a fan as the sun shone straight in through the window making it boiling by late afternoon! Shower was ok although drainage slow. Glad to find I could actually use my hairdryer in the power sockets. However the courtyard provided a lovely relaxing place to sit and read downstairs - excellent if you are waiting for your ride to the airport etc. Breakfast as others have mentioned was very good for the price and they do a nice coffee. Also very convenient for the Cafe du Livre next door - a nice place to hang out, read a book over a cocktail, wine or beer & listen to music. All in all a perfect cheap one night stopover place.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the ground floor if you want a shadier spot or en suite. First floor rooms 23-25 es...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kittaycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

For this price, you can't ask for more. We just needed a roof and a bed for an overnight stay. But I have to say I expected the washroom (we asked for a room with private washroom) in a little better shape. The bed and overall the room is clean however. The pleasant surprise is the breakfast which was really delicious. Overall I am satisfied for the cost I paid.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gelman173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geldrop
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was ok, we had a room with fan (the rooms with fan are 280 dh. and without 200, but it's really worth it!!) It was a nice room, downstairs with a nice clean bathroom with toilet.It was room number 1.

The second time we had room number 17. upstairs and it was dirty and we had bugs in our bed! It was not nice like the first time. there was no fan and since the room was upstairs it was extreemly hot! We didn't sleep a lot and woke up alle the time because of the heat and people comming back in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was old and the water in the shower did not run away well. There was no toilet in the room, but outside the room.

The breakfast was nice with bread, marmalade and yoghurt.

Room Tip: don't take room 17!! Room 1 is ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Toulousain Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Sorry you had a not so good experience at room number 17. I wish you had told us while you were here, we would have changed the room for you or do something to make your stay more enjoyable. The fan for example, you could have rented a fan at the reception for 30 dirhams more (3 euros). Regarding the bugs, we found out about them on August 21st (date of your review) and we did not find any bugs in the room. Nevertheless, we treated the room just to be safe! We are always praised for clean rooms, so I do not know where the bugs came from? Maybe a customer had them travel in his backpack from the mountains. Or they were just passing by :) In any case, the hotel is bug free! And please remember to signal anything you do not like to the receptionist so it can be fixed in a timely fashion. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa El Gada
Villa El Gada
#305 of 501 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gomassine
Hotel Gomassine
#281 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#114 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#286 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Almas
Hotel Almas
#172 of 501 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#425 of 501 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Property: Toulousain Hotel
Address: 44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #322 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing