We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very basic and cheap. Great breakfast.”
Review of Toulousain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toulousain Hotel
Ranked #349 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very basic and cheap. Great breakfast.”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

For this price, you can't ask for more. We just needed a roof and a bed for an overnight stay. But I have to say I expected the washroom (we asked for a room with private washroom) in a little better shape. The bed and overall the room is clean however. The pleasant surprise is the breakfast which was really delicious. Overall I am satisfied for the cost I paid.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank gelman173
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    58
    24
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
44
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geldrop
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2011

We stayed in this hotel twice. The first time was ok, we had a room with fan (the rooms with fan are 280 dh. and without 200, but it's really worth it!!) It was a nice room, downstairs with a nice clean bathroom with toilet.It was room number 1.

The second time we had room number 17. upstairs and it was dirty and we had bugs in our bed! It was not nice like the first time. there was no fan and since the room was upstairs it was extreemly hot! We didn't sleep a lot and woke up alle the time because of the heat and people comming back in the middle of the night.
The bathroom was old and the water in the shower did not run away well. There was no toilet in the room, but outside the room.

The breakfast was nice with bread, marmalade and yoghurt.

Room Tip: don't take room 17!! Room 1 is ok!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Toulousain Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Sorry you had a not so good experience at room number 17. I wish you had told us while you were here, we would have changed the room for you or do something to make your stay more enjoyable. The fan for example, you could have rented a fan at the reception for 30 dirhams more (3 euros). Regarding the bugs, we found out about them on August 21st (date of your review) and we did not find any bugs in the room. Nevertheless, we treated the room just to be safe! We are always praised for clean rooms, so I do not know where the bugs came from? Maybe a customer had them travel in his backpack from the mountains. Or they were just passing by :) In any case, the hotel is bug free! And please remember to signal anything you do not like to the receptionist so it can be fixed in a timely fashion. We hope to see you again in our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guanajuato, Mexico
Level Contributor
133 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

This place is full all the time because of the price. It is adequate for travelers who just need a place to sleep and a continental breakfast. Not badly located, but be careful of the pitch black street. Except for a palm tree in the courtyard, there is nothing about the Toulousain that would let you know you were in Morocco. The rooms are just basic old furniture, no design, no taste. Baths have hot water, but miniscule towels.

I broke my foot right outside the Toulousain at 7 p.m. in the winter on a Sunday night as there were no street lamps and no businesses open to light my way. Trying to get away from some rubble that I could barely see in the dimmest of light, I inadvertently stepped off the curb with my full weight behind the fall and fractured my foot. The staff were sweet but could not really direct me to a proper doctor or hospital. A friend of mine in Marrakech was called, and he found me an excellent orthopedist.

The owner of the hotel did come back into town, chatted with me about the accident mentioning that i was the THIRD bad fall due to this street lamp problem. He was kind enough to take me to the airport in his car.

The breakfast is good, though not abundant. Rooms are cold as tombs in winter, but you may have heat if you pay extra for a small heater. Beds are plank hard and blankets are heavy as lead but not warm. Sorry about the cliches in description but these are accurate adjectives.

Room Tip: Wireless Internet reaches the downstairs only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mexdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here after leaving a supposedly luxury hotel. It was a stop gap and we were pleasantly suprised, the hotel was very basic but honest. It was cheap, wi-fi was free, te breakfast was great. Way better than the so called luxury hotel we stayed in. The staff were so helpful, nice and honest and restored our faith in Moroccan people. Another bonus was it being right next door to the wonderful Cafe Au Livre. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BGroovy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at Toulousain and really enjoyed it. The room was ground floor and huge with sink. The shared facilities were clean and the breakfast delicious. Free wifi was a prerequisite for us.
Location was good, about a 20 min easy walk to the medina. Hotel is in a quiet location though sound seems to travel a bit from the hallways and someone with kids banging the doors but besides that it was definitely satisfactory - would recommend

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarlyNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2011

I have been staying in this hotel for last two weeks now, and am very happy with several things, first of all, there is no other budget hotel that can match Toulousain, there is a good service with excellent and most kind staff that are taking care of all the clients. Second, the clients that are staying here are very nice too, somehow the hotel is attracting nice people, so again you can't find the one which is even near to this one.The rooms are spacious, they are far from luxurious, but are comfortable and clean. Some of the rooms are going through refurbishment these days, some not. Some are with bathroom and others share it. Cleaning service is excellent on daily basis. The breakfast is generous and tasty, in a lovely surrounding of an old garden. It has its charm. The location is superb and there is no feeling of staying in some cheap hotel. Also, there are no drunken people in the night , around this hotel, which is one more plus point. Tthe hotel is at the top location in Gueliz, very easy to walk around from to visit the city or Marjorelle Gardens etc.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tihi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Stayed here on a recommendation from a very well traveled South African couple. We had a great stay. Book in advance, and get a room with a shower and toilet. Clean, helpful staff, great breakfast included and a great escape from the crazy streets of Marrakech with its location.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SRYAN78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Kabir
Hotel Al Kabir
#453 of 500 in Marrakech
71 reviews
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#430 of 500 in Marrakech
193 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#354 of 500 in Marrakech
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa El Gada
Villa El Gada
#339 of 500 in Marrakech
39 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel le Caspien
Hotel le Caspien
#140 of 500 in Marrakech
689 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#303 of 500 in Marrakech
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Property: Toulousain Hotel
Address: 44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #349 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Toulousain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Toulousain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing