We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“I'm sure it would have been lovely...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Khabia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Khabia
Ranked #186 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I'm sure it would have been lovely...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

So here I sit, in London, four days before my trip to Marrakech, working hard to find a riad which I thought had been reserved and confirmed back in late February.

I booked with Riad Khabia, paid my deposit of just under 40 euros through paypal and received two very nice emails from Julien.

However, that was it.

In the last five days I have tried to contact Riad Khabia through four different email addresses - each emailed three times. I have also tried calling two numbers (the one on the website seems to be disconnected) twenty times, but again to no avail. I was initially emailing to simply confirm our arrival time and airport transfers, but the total lack of recognition let alone reply has lead me to assume my reservation has been cancelled.

This situation is especially unfortunate as the reviews for Riad Khabia are so good and I'm certain we would have had a lovely stay there.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biggs316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    9
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
17
88
18
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

Well, where do I start?

Probably with Julian...he made the stay exceptional. Julian, would, did say that he did nothing special; the truth is, nothing was too much trouble for him.

The start was the guided tour of (not the rhiad) Marrakech. This saved us so much trouble and time as we were immediately orientated. Julian took the trouble to book any bus tickets and check out train times for us. His knowledge is encyclopaedic, and it is a book that is open to all that stay.

Danni, was equally wonderful and great for that early morning chat over breakfast; I loved the pancakes...and endless heavenly mint tea.

The rhiad itself was more than we could have dreamed of; we felt like we were in a little palace. As my wife said, it was not like being in a bed and breakfast, it was like being invited into Danni and Julian's home (which is what it is).

My wife and I have just had the holiday of our lives. Will we return? Absolutely.

Thank you Danni and Julian XOX

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judedawson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Our stay at Riad Khabia was fantastic. To start, we had an airport transfer arranged for us which was waiting on our arrival. The Riad was extremely clean and comfortable, including having a plunge pool and air conditioning. The décor was very fresh and has clearly been recently updated. Julien and his mother, the owners, were simply outstanding. Julien took plenty of time to explain Marrakech to us, giving us a detailed map and his recommendations on where we should visit, including restaurants. He even walked us into the city so that we were able to get our bearings and not get lost. His advice on how to cross a road (slowly!) and how to use the local taxis and not overpay was indispensible. He organised our onwards travel too, making the seat reservations for us. The breakfast was local and homemade.

I cannot fault the Riad nor the owners as they made our quick stay in Marrakech simply perfect. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RachaelANelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

This Riad was fantastic,

My boyfriend and I spent a week travelling around Morocco, this was our first stop, from the moment we arrived we were picked up by the shuttle service from the airport and were taken right to the door by the driver. on arrival we were given some amazing home brewed mint tea (which we had a LOT of throughout our stay and it was complimentary) we were then taken through a custom made may by Julien, and then he took us on a very comprehensive walking tour of marrakesh- he had some great tips to get the most out of the experience and see things from a moroccons perspective- such as where to eat a delicious tagine for £2! and where to go and when to avoid crowds.

The room we had was more like a suite! our room was beautiful and decorated in traditional moroccon colours, we had an open stone shower and a seperate balcony room looking over the courtyard and pool. considering the price it was one of the best places we had stayed in and we have travelled alot.

We were given incredible recommendations and we took them up on all of them and they did not dissapoint, we felt like we knew marrakesh like the back of our hand once we left!

The Breakfasts we got were incredible! my favourites were Juliens mums homemade pancakes with strawberries!

Julien booked our travel onto Essauria and recommended villages to go to in the mountains to stay with berbers it was all very reasonably priced and he strictly makes no comission so all the recommendations we recieved were genuine.

we stayed initailly for a day and a night and enjoyed it so much we booked to stay on our return to the airport.

on our return it was like seeing old friends, we spent an evening with Julien and he got us some wine that we had tried in Agadir we then went to a restaurant which he recommended as a final treat it was absolutely amazing!

The liitle touches were far beyond what I had expected and the surroundings were perfect to compliment the hectic city of Marrakesh.

we will definately be going back and I would recommend this Riad very highly to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Had an amazing time in Morocco. The hotel was great and Julien and his Mother looked after us really well. They organised a bus for us to Essaouira and gave some great advice on where to visit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MattC90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Our family had the pleasure of staying in this stunning Riad in April 2012. The hospitality by Dani and Julien was exceptional, and the location, cleanliness and morrocan charm was exactly what we were looking for in our short stay in Marrakesh. We would highly recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FowlerSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2012

We were based at the Riad Khabia for our 5 nights in Morocco. Julien and his Mother were the most warm and pleasant hosts we've ever had the pleasure to meet. The Riad itself was stunning and tranquil, essential after a hot day on the streets of Marrakech. On arrival we were given a comprehensive overview of the city, along with a map complete with highlights and recommendations.
Our hosts assisted us with our travel arrangements, gave us an orientation of the city and tailored their suggestions to our personal requirements as photographers. We've never taken photos of the place we were staying before, but the Riad and in particular our suite (the Africa Suite) warranted the attention.
The added bonus of the whole trip was having mint tea and conversation with Julien. He is charming and full of useful information and is almost as interesting as Marrakech itself. Sipping mint tea with him as he informed us about the country and its rich history was a delight. He really is proud of Marrakech and its people, and the Riad Khabia truly is a great base for anybody to see the best of the city.

Room Tip: The whole riad was lovely, but we certainly enjoyed the suite which had a balcony over the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Plein Sud
Riad Plein Sud
#146 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Mchicha
Riad Dar Mchicha
#267 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Jennah Rouge
Riad Jennah Rouge
#162 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Yammi
Riad Dar Yammi
#170 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Faiza & Spa-Hammam
Riad Faiza & Spa-Hammam
#260 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.1 mi away
Dar Asdika
Dar Asdika
#87 of 1,187 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Khabia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Khabia

Property: Riad Khabia
Address: Berrima, Derb Chtoka #6, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #186 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad Khabia is a beautiful, comfortable, affordable, and secure guesthouse offering Bed & Breakfast services by a welcoming, friendly, and discreetly attentive staff. The Riad Khabia is housed in a traditional "ryad" featuring the best of Moroccan decorative hand-crafted techniques and materials such as "bejmat" tiles for flooring, "tadelakt" finishes on walls, "slimani" iron work, and islamic styled arches. The Riad Khabia offers a range of comfortable and climate controlled rooms (air-conditioning and heating), each featuring private bathrooms. From budget friendly singles and doubles to our more luxurious suites, guests also have access to our pleasant and shaded patio, panoramic rooftop terrace, and refreshing little pool. The Riad Khabia is located in a quiet, safe, and easily accessible residential neighborhood of the historical "medina" of Marrakech. Numerous places of interest such as palaces, museums, shops, & restaurants are less than a 5 minutes' walk away. The Riad Khabia staff possesses a wide ranging international experience, and is always present and happy to welcome our guests and share our advice and extensive knowledge of Marrakech and Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Budget Places so you can book your Riad Khabia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing