We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I got burned at Al-Kabir” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Al Kabir

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Al Kabir
Ranked #465 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Alberta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I got burned at Al-Kabir”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2009

AVOID THIS HOTEL. 1500 dirhams was stolen from my room, staff and management weren't the least bit concerned. It's not secure, and it's overpriced.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlbertaProf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    15
    26
    9
    11
See reviews for
9
25
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
agadir
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

The second stay was very poor Hotel undergoing building work
Food poor restuarant staff inconsiderate
Choice of menu non existant
There is no garage Was told to park on street at 15dh per night
No guardian on duty at night for vehicles

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallyAgadir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2007

The Hotel had a good and nice vicinity-shops and cafes around;not too quiet.Its service is terrible and for 2 nights stay,its a waste of money and not worth it.There weren't any heaters in the hotel be it the lobby or even the rooms.Besides the climate and weather(very cold because it is winter),the temperature in our rooms were very cold like the climate.We had to step on the freezing cold floors of our rooms and there were not much carpet.The bedsheets were dirty and the extra pillows given were yellow as in it wasn't changed and was dirty.The toilet was okay .The corridor of the hotel was so dark that we had to swith the lights ourselves and we had to run to our rooms quickly before the lights were off again.The waiters in the restaurant were chatting away among themselves when the guests were eating their meals and kept looking out of the window as if they had nothing to do.They didn't do their job properly.The woman receptionist was very rude that when we reached our rooms,she called us and ordered us to straightaway move to the restaurant for dinner when our tour guide told us that dinner usually ended late for all hotels but this hotel ended so early.When we reached the restaurant level,the receptionist from the lobby shouted across and ordered us to move to the restaurant rightaway as if we didn't know where it was.The cost for the beverage was much more expensive than outside the hotel.Food was not up to standard.The restaurant was dark and miserable-quiet.I hope the hotel improves on its manners and service although the rooms were not up to standard.There are better 3 star hotels around the vicinity in Marrakech.

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank littlepilot92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2007

This hotel is right on the junction of 2 main roads, ask for the pool view room, no extra charge and peace and quiet.

The hotel has no shopping facilities, half a bar and a bath for a pool.

I have to say I love staying there tho', the air con was the best ever, the rooms neat and tidy, as always only 1 english channel but there is nothing wrong in keeping up to date with the news !!

The food was ok, breakfast and dinner, only continental for breakfast and a set seated meal for dinner, always a starter of soup, a main meal and a dessert.

One small downfall, over run with French 15-18yr old students in a smallish size hotel is not always good.

All in all, defo worth the budget price, good servive, 5 mins walk from main drag, tourism buses and macdonalds.

  • Liked — The air con unit
  • Disliked — The itsy bitsy pool
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank lamio01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#416 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 99 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Mont Gueliz
Hotel Mont Gueliz
#435 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#440 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#463 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 95 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Akabar
Hotel Akabar
#398 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Oudaya
Hotel Oudaya
#382 of 505 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 stars 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Kabir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Kabir

Property: Hotel Al Kabir
Address: Rue Lobnane | Guéliz: Bd. Zerktouni, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #465 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Al Kabir 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Al Kabir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing