We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Inner city getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Ranked #68 of 495 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inner city getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

The smell of room 14 was filled with orange blossom when we arrived for the last part of our two week honeymoon. The service was friendly and extremely welcoming...with a huge hug to the lovely gentleman on the front desk! It is very well hidden...I felt immersed in old Marrakech. The restaurant round the corner, is unforgetable. Just stunning! Eveything about this riad is beautiful...I hope to find myself there again really soon!

Room Tip: Ask for the suit, apparently room 14 or 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Enas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    292
    92
    20
    6
    11
See reviews for
52
187
15
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

I've stayed here a couple of times now. While it is minimalist in design in a Zen-like sort of way (at least compared to two other riads I have visited), it is friendly and comfortable. Other reviewers have commented on the fact that first arrival is not for the faint-hearted. Because the medinah lanes are too narrow for cars, you are set down a fair distance from the riad. A local guide leads the way down ever narrower streets. When you eventually arrive at a narrow, low passage where the local teenagers smoking what smells suspiciously like weed hang out, you begin to doubt your choice of guide (although you're glad that he's carrying your suitcase as you attempt to simultaneously stoop and walk). It takes a leap of faith to enter the low passage. A dog-leg makes it seem as if you are walking to a blank wall. A sharp turn brings you to what seems to be a cul-de-sac. A knock on the low door brings relief. Entering the riad is like stepping into another world. The welcome is warm and a glass of mint tea soon revives the spirit.

Service is friendly, if a little lackadaisical. It can take a while for tea or coffee to appear in the morning -- or a bottle of wine in the evening (must be purchased off site) -- but be patient. It will appear. The rooms, by the way, were spotless.

The riad has three courtyards, each with a different personality. The first (Baby Bear) courtyard has a couple of banana trees. The second (Mama Bear) has 8-10 armchairs spread around a largely unadorned courtyard. The third (Papa Bear) has a fountain/plunge pool as well as a sprinkling of banquets and low tables. It is here that breakfast is served each day.

Breakfast is local style -- mostly various kinds of freshly baked breads. Tea is ubiquitous. Coffee ("Turkish" style -- thick, muddy) is available for asking. As is lovely, sweet fresh orange juice. Ask nicely and you can get an egg. Probably tomatoes and cucumbers, too. Very simple, very plain, understated but (I think) authentic.

Rooms are long and narrow. The bed is the same width as the room -- it touches three walls, so you enter it by crawling in from the foot of the bed. It was comfortable. Lots (too many) pillows. Other furniture was minimal. A small divan, a small coffee table, a small armchair. All very low. Good if you're short. Not so good if you are tall and have arthritic knees. There was a closet with plenty of hanging space (and hangers), plus a couple of shelves and a safe. The bathroom is an enigma to me. It looks as if it is made from bare, unpainted plaster, yet somehow it stands up to continual dousings of water. Even the (excellent) shower was on the seemingly unfinished plaster. I don't get it -- I would have expected it to all crumble away at the first splash -- but the Moroccan builders know what they're doing. Somehow it works.

This riad is a place to get away from it all. (Businessmen beware. It is impossible to do any work here. The only flat surfaces are around 12 inches off the ground and the internet connection is, shall we say, intermittent. This, I suppose, is less the fault of the riad than of the Marrakech telephone company. Bandwidth seems to be low, so the internet is slow and drops out frequently. I tried at various times of day. Early morning was the most reliable.) It is not, however, luxurious. If you are looking for the 1001 Arabian Nights Experience, best to look elsewhere. This is the comfortable-but-with-no-frills experience.

Would I go back? Yes, I have. Three times.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sleepysteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

A stunning and stylish 17th century building, located in the heart of the medina but extremely tranquil. Beautiful rooms, excellent breakfast (no matter what time you get out of bed), a small swimming pool on the ground floor and an extensive roof terrace. Great service from the staff.
The riad is located in a car-free zone but watch out for the mopeds!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
94 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the 4th time, we stayed at the Al Jazira riad in Marrakesh. Do you stay 4 times in a row in the same place if you don't love the place? This riad is really classy, kept as original as can be, still very comfortable, very resting for the guests with its wide walls. We did visit a number of riads in Marrakesh, and none of the others we visited - and we have not exhausted them all - keep this spirit of respectful rehabilitation. The breakfast is perfect, the personel is attentive, never intrusive. Once, we had diner - to be ordered in advance - and this was just great: the quality was equivalent to what we experienced at the nearby excellent Dar Zelij restaurant.
With temperatures reaching 25C these last days of November, we enjoyed the roof terrace. Would strongly recommend this place to anyone who does not like the ostentatious and prefers the authentic!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the upper floor, rather on the remotest patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JollapParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
86 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

We wondered where we were going to, narrow, noisy , people filled passage ways. then a huge wooden door opening onto peace and calm. .. Rose petals , blue pool, candles. An oasis. With a warm welcome.

Room Tip: Number 3. Over looking pool. Very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LlandyrnogLasWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

This Riad is hidden away in the Medina so make sure you ask to be collected from the airport or rail station.

Despite the unconvential entry through a low-roofed passage once you enter you are transported to a different world. We were greeted by Ashraf who could not do enough to help us. We loved the informal atmosphere and the lounges where we could sit a read quitly before venturing out into the hustle and bustle of Marrakesh.

If you are visiting this town this is the place you meust stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EggFollower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

Riad Al Jazira was wonderful. Simply and elegantly decorated. Extremely clean and just a wonderful place to relax away from the hectic outside.
Breakfast was basic but there was always a little variation every day! Our room was lovely and the only warning I give is for the hot water - as it could be scorching hot at times.

The service by the staff was fantastic, they were helpful, polite and wonderfully funny at times. Thank you all so very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#34 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Africa
Riad Africa
#81 of 495 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#33 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Tamarrakecht
Riad Tamarrakecht
#74 of 495 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira

Property: Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#48 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing