We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (669)
Filter reviews
669 results
Traveler rating
499
128
23
7
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
499
128
23
7
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sidi ben slimane low door taxi stand roof terrace narrow streets hidden away small pool relaxing massage breakfast is served the main square pancakes tranquil oasis plunge pool rose petals call to prayer airport transfer stayed nights
Filter
Updating list...
282 - 287 of 669 reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We stayed at Riad Al Jazira for two nights before trekking in the Atlas mountains and again for the final night before flying home. It is the most beautiful, tranquil oasis of calm; an escape from the frantic hustle and bustle of Marrakech. Nothing was too much trouble for the smiley friendly staff who hit just the right note between helpful and unobtrusive - we really felt like personal guests in a rather grand arab town house rather than hotel clients. Breakfast was perfect - home made vanilla yoghurt, fresh fruit, a range of breads and conserves and eggs if you wanted them. The rooms are elegant and minimal with fabulous showers. Best of all for us was that this riad is in the top end of the city - the non touristy part where Moroccans live and work. Still only 5 minutes walk from the souk as nowhere is very far in the old city of Marrakech. And don't believe what you read about being hassled in Marrakech... since the government cracked down on this a few years back it really is not an issue... as long as you are polite and respectful, but firm.... then you will be treated the same way. Photographs are an issue - always ask first and respect those who don't want to be photographed. And in the main square accept that you pay to take a photo.

Room Tip: rooms around the pool where breakfast is served and people tend to gather are not as quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

"Almost heaven..." - this riad is one of the most tranquil and beautiful abodes, a paradise amongst the chaos that is Marrakesh. There is a silence inside that brings stillness to the soul.

The Arabesque carvings and traditional decor throughout the building are stunning. The riad has an open roof above the plunge pool and the courtyard to which the bedrooms are adjoined. A large rooftop with cushioned loungers, towels & sunhats, is the perfect location for a sunset or stargazing.

The entire riad was spotlessly clean, our bedroom had a high ceiling and was tastefully furnished. The staff at the riad are exceptionally knowledgeable and welcoming (with a special thank you to Rashid and Mohammed who organised our Hamman spa within the riad, parking for our car, restaurant bookings and numerous other favours).

The entire experience at Riad al Jazira was unforgettable. I shall return again to Marrakesh this summer and would not dream of staying anywhere else but here!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jesuisrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

I had a great stay at this riad. The riad is beautyful and the rooms are big with nice interior. I will definetly recomend this riad.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Betts_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at this riad in August 2011 for 7 days and it was truly one of the most relaxing holidays we have been on.

Our first night was actually a bit of a disaster (nothing to do with the riad). We arrived at the airport and found our transfer bus. It turned out we were the only 2 people staying at our riad so there was a little confusion as to what driver was taking who. We got our transfer bus eventually with one other couple who were going to another riad nearby. All was well until we got to our riad and as the driver handed us our suitcases we realised the couple who has been dropped off at their riad before us had accidentally been given my boyfriends suitcase and we had one of theirs!

We arrived at the Riad (we paid a 10 bob to a wee boy who took us directly to the riad door as there was absolutely no chance we would have found it ourselves and the driver didn't seem botherd about A) losing our suitcase or B) taking us to the actual riad!). I was stressing at this point as we had no idea what we were going to about the suitcase (thank goodness it was my boyfriends and not mine) but when we arrived I relaxed immediately.

We were reassured that the riad would sort out the confusion (which they did the next day by contacting the transfer service), we were given a delicious pot of their homemade mint tea and relaxed by the beautifully lit poolside as our rooms were prepared.

The staff were absolutely wonderful the whole week, the room we were allocated was tiny but they had absolutely no problem with changing it and we were given another beautiful room that has our own personal staircase that lead up to it. Everyone was so pleasant, always a warm smile whenever we saw any of the staff and we were both made to feel completely at home. The rooms were immaculately cleaned every morning, fresh towels/soap/shampoo.

The breakfast was amazing. Fresh bread, fruit, fruit juice, an array of jams, egg, coffee, pancakes. All of it was delicious. We ate it all (and there was a lot!!). we did find out on our last day though (unfortunately) that any leftovers goes to the children on the streets which i found very heartwarming :)

My boyfriend and I had a candle lit dinner one evening on the rooftop. We had a beautifully cooked starter, main and dessert for a fine price, however we much preferred going and eating at the markets in the evening.

We went during ramadan so it was quite difficult to find food during the day however the benefit was in the evening the city came alive. The souks were packed, food selling everywhere, fresh orange juice stalls (although be prepared to make them squeeze the oranges in front of you as they try to give you pre-prepared watered down stuff), everyone seemed to be on an unimaginable high. It was such an experience.

Overall we had an amazing holiday. The riad was the perfect place to end our jam packed days and gave us the best holiday ever and we couldn't recommend it more. Definitely stay at this riad, you will definitely not regret it!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Siobhan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Al Jazira is a little paradise, beautiful, quite, clean, very friendly staff, great breakfast... We felt immediatly at ease. Try the hammam if you don't mind losing some skin, it's lovely. This Riad is the perfect place to enjoy the beauty of Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara_Steven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews