We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The highlight of our trip!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tibibt
Ranked #370 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The highlight of our trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

If you are travelling to Marrakech – look no further and book now!

Riad Tibibt is an impressive riad full of charm and character. It has been beautifully restored and the rooms have a traditional Moroccan theme. Thierry (the owner) is also an interior designer which is clearly evident - as there are some very nice features and touches.

I can not emphasize enough – how warm and welcoming our hosts were. Thierry and Abdou were simply amazing and anticipated all our needs. Upon arrival, we instantly felt at home and completely at ease. I can truthfully say that the hospitality we received was indeed the highlight of our stay!

We were initially thinking of staying closer to the main square – but in hindsight, this would have been a mistake. Rather, the location is in fact ideal for those who also want to relax a little. It manages to provide a tranquil retreat away from all the chaos and motorcycle noise; yet remains within a short walking distance from the main attractions.

As for the food, I highly recommend having at least one ‘home-cooked’ meal at the riad. I consider myself somewhat of a ‘foodie’ and was particularly impressed. We ended up having dinner three times – simply because it tasted far superior to the (mid priced) restaurants!

Overall, we had a marvelous stay at Riad Tibibt. Naturally, one can always find minor niggles – but in all honesty, these were insignificant when considering the experience as a whole. Therefore, I can gladly and confidently rate Riad Tibibt 5 stars all round.

A massive thank you to Thierry, Abdou and Fatima!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    30
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
53
192
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2012

We only have the best things to say about this riad, it's owner and staff. Location was ideal for the souks and main square (only 10-15 minutes' walk) but in a very quiet residential area. The owner could not have been any more welcoming and he anticipated all our needs and requests (most friendly, helpful and laid-back guy!). The home-cooked dinners were the best Moroccan food we've ever tasted (and I cook a lot of Moroccan food at home myself!). Breakfasts were HUGE with a variety of local breads, pancakes, pastries and home-made jams (loved Fatima's potato jam!!). Our suite was spotlessly cleaned daily - including a complete change of bedsheets and covers after 2 or 3 nights! The ambience of the whole riad was fantastic - looking out from our windows onto the courtyard with a fruiting orange tree and palm trees and having hundreds of little birds sing their morning and good-night songs in the orange tree every day was something to treasure. The roof terrace was fantastic and we spent many afternoons there lying on the sun loungers, reading and drinking mint tea and coffee.
We will be returning without any doubt :-)

Room Tip: All rooms and suites are themed with authentic furnishings and decorations - you can't go wrong...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashibashi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were there for 3 nights and initially booked one room for 3 people. Thierry was so kind enough to gave us 2 rooms on the ground floors. On the first night we had a dinner at the Riad, we agreed that Fatima's chicken Tajine was the best meal we've had for the entire trip. We could not thank Abdou enough for his hospitality. He always make sure that we've got that we need. The breakfast is delicious and massive.Thierry was a great host. The location might be a bit difficult to find but once you've get to know the area you will feel more comfortable walking around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beauing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We were there for only one night because of a change in plans but the service by the owner himself was spectacular. He was eager to help and made multiple arrangements for us within the first 30 minutes upon arrival.

Located in the heard of the SOUKS it is great to move around the inner Medina of Marrakech but getting in and out with lots of luggage can be quite a feat. Highly recomended for a great Riad with great decoration and spectacular service.

Room Tip: Rooms get cold during the winter nights, ask for heater and additional blankets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Motrebla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2011

We chose to stay in Riad Tibibt based on the excellent reviews and location. When we booked in November 2011, it was ranked 3rd place in TA. We stayed for 4 days and booked directly with the Riad. I contacted the Riad on numerous occasions prior to our stay, and Thierry and Hassan were prompt and very helpful with their responses, despite my constant bugging with emails (!!).

Thierry arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport to take us to the Riad; taking the stress out of our journey. Abdou was there to greet us at the taxi and walk us to the Riad.

Upon arrival we were greeted by a very welcoming and pleasant Thierry who showed us to our Suite. I was instantly amazed by the Suite and the Riad itself; the ground floor courtyard was absolutely beautiful with a rustic feel to it. The Suite was lovely, it had its own private terrace leading to the bedroom, and overlooking the courtyard. And to make this even more magical, there were birds in the orange trees- simply beautiful and relaxing!

The Suite was beautifully decorated, with a four poster bed, and a very clean bathroom. Fatima cleaned with bedroom and bathroom every morning, and did a perfect job at folding our clothes :-) we were truly spoiled :-)

The Riad was close to the Medina and the Souks making it a lovely evening stroll. However, it was away from the hustle and bustle, making it a perfect retreat.

All I can say is staying at this riad was perfect! I am planning to visit Morocco again, and will stay at this riad again....my home :-)

Room Tip: Suite Maiya- on the first floor with its own private terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaTibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

I stayed here for 3 nights, booking directly with the riad after reading positive TA reviews.

We initially booked one room but Thierry kindly upgraded us to the Douiria suite which is lovely. Large and airy with a four poster bed and a very clean private bathroom. The riad offers a full breakfast which was definitely more than anyone could eat. We also had dinner at the riad which was once again a feast and could be tailored to your particular tastes.

The staff at the riad are very welcoming. Thierry was away for the first day but Abdou and Fatima did a great job at keeping things running smoothly. Everyone was always at hand to ask questions or get advice.

The only slight downside for us was the location. A 15 minute walk from the square (the closest point for a taxi). Definitely get the riad taxi on arrival or you'll never find your way!! However, being away from the main square did mean the riad was a quiet oasis away from the roar of Medina motorbikes! Don't let this put you off as most riads are tucked away.

If I were to return I would stay at Riad Tibibt again. The staff really do make you feel at home.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomo_nufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2011

Thought the location of the riad was great being so close to the square and the souks. Hosts were fantastic and went out of their way to help us, The riad was lovely,clean and quiet, food was great with delicious and plentiful breakfast served on the rooftop terrace - a great start to the day before venturing out into the hustle and heat of marrakesh. As two ladies travelling together we thought the only drawback to the location some people might find was the labrynth of alleyways you had to navigate down to find the little oasis that the riad was but in the end we felt safe walking about despite initial concerns! - think this would be the case for any of the riads in marrakesh though. The riad organised the taxi from the airport for us which was a great move as we would never have found it. My only advice would be to have lots of change in the local currency on arrival as the taxi can't drive right up to the riad. A porter needs to show you the way to the riad door for 20 dirhams and we didn't have any change so had to pay him 100. If you look vaguely lost or get out your map anywhere in the souk, be prepared to have lots of children and adults offering to show you the way but they will always ask for payment at the end even if you didn't want the help in the first place and having lots of change comes in very handy!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vivhurley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Dar Zelda
Dar Zelda
#248 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#29 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#42 of 512 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Zaman
Riad Dar Zaman
#65 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 512 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,700 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#148 of 1,187 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Property: Riad Tibibt
Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing