We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful stay thank you!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tibibt
Ranked #373 of 1,171 Marrakech B&B and Inns
South East
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay thank you!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The highlight of our stay in Marrakech was Riad Tibibt! A beautiful place (stunning rooms, centre courtyard with fruit trees and peaceful sunny terrace) and a much welcome oasis in a hectic but exciting city. Andrea and Abdou were warm excellent hosts, in the absence of Thierry, and made us feel so welcome. They both went above and beyond making our stay memorable and we both felt very comfortable.

The riad is in a bit of a maze but you quickly learn where it is. I'd recommend arranging a taxi with the riad for arrival before you get your bearings. Andrea gave us a navigation tour on our first morning and after that we were fine in getting 'home' after a day of getting lost in the souks.

As we arrived in the evening, we had arranged a meal in the Riad. It was our best dining experience. Tasty tagine in a beautiful candlelight setting, under the orange tree and banana palm. Lazy breakfasts on the warm sunny terrace (in December!) were also lovely.

Thank you Abdou and Andrea! :-)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank g_green25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    30
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
52
190
19
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The riad had no vacancies, so Theirry and Hassan offered a room in their private dar (few doors down from the riad) instead. During our 3-night stay, we got to spend some time in the Riad for the WiFi access. I can tell you both their Dar and Riad are beautifully decorated and comfortable. But beyond the decor, it's the hosts that really made the stay a super experience.

We rented a car during our stay in Morocco. Marrakech was our last stop and it was the most challenging to drive. We had to drive through the medina with crowds of walking people and scooters to find the parking lot. It was scary. But when we found the riad and was met with Hassan's friendly face, we felt instant calm. From then on, we were well taken care of by mostly Thierry, who was such a fabulous and funny host!

He made sure all our concerns were addressed and escorted us to places when needed. We took a day trip to Ait Ben Haddou, which meant a drive across the Atlas Mountains. We were fine, but upon our return, Thierry said he had called the parking lot attendant to see if our car had returned. He wanted to make sure we were okay. How caring!

To the reviewer, elterrill, I'm not sure what happened, but his/her scathing review is clearly out of the norm. I am not sure what s/he was expecting, but please know that if you stay in any Dar or Riad, you are, in essence, sharing a home with others. Sounds like s/he would have been more comfortable in a typical western hotel.

If you want an authentic Moroccan experience, stay at the fabulous Tibibt! If you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs. You are in Muslim country, so be prepared for the daily pre-dawn call to prayer.

I miss you Thierry and Hassan and your beautiful Riad and Dar!

P.S. Just a general tip for Morocco. Do not ask random strangers or childern for directions/help--only ask the store owners. If you are driving, the parking area on Moukef is hard to get to. But once you find it, you can just park. If questioned, just tell them you're staying at Riad Tibibt. You pay the riad and they will pay the parking lot owner, so do not pay anyone when you park.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suma33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

Its all been said already but this is a simply wonderful place.. an instant contrast to the chaos of the souk. Inside, the riad is calm and cool, the courtyard fragrant and the terrace sunny and warm - in November! Thierry is a marvel, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and sincerely interested in the well-being of his guests, he oriented us on the first morning and took us to town making the daunting walk the most normal thing in the world. Riad Tibibt gives an authentic experience from a small staff of friendly faces, it's clean, quiet at night and breakfast is plenty and tasty - what more could one want?

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This is a beautiful place to stay in Marrakesh, albeit a little hidden away. Thierry (the owner I think) was wonderful and very helpful. When we arrived we decided we could find it on our own, so we didn't call on arrival (they knew what train we were on though). The riad is hidden away and quite difficult to find if you haven't been before so we were a bit lost until someone found us - apparently they were worried about us and sent someone to look for us! The riad and our room had a beautiful feeling of faded grandeur (whilst still very functional) - we really loved the style and attention to detail. We have a 2 year old so they put us in a beautiful room on the ground floor. We arrived around 8am and although check in isn't until midday they gave us the room early and also some breakfast (on the beautiful terrace). They were extremely helpful and even held our luggage for a few days until we returned from a trip to the seaside. We had dinner one night and it was delicious and romantic - I recommend it. It is about 10-15min walk to the Djemaa el Fnaa if you know your way, considerably longer if you get lost. Overall it is a beautiful place with wonderful and accomodating service, but it is a little hidden away.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank floweryflipflops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Thierry the host was wonderful. This Riad was an amazing experience for our first trip to Marrakech. We arrived in the Mediena feeling apprehensive but Riad Tebibit was an oasis of calm. Our room was perfect romantic and beautiful. Dinner was lovely. Thierry guided us through every detail of the best of making our 2 day break special. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Every room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonShell50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We booked Riad Tibibt based on the reviews we read on trip advisor and were really looking forward to our stay.

I will start by mentioning the two wonderful aspects of this riad.....Abdul and Fatima. They are an asset to the riad and to Thierry. Diamonds in the rough!

When we arrived at the airport late at night we were supposed to be met by someone with a sign bearing our name. The man who met us only had the name of the riad on his paper and spoke absolutely no english and apparantly very little if any french either. This was not to be a significant problem until he got lost. He had no idea where the riad was and tried to call them numerous times during our journey but never got an answer. So, when he got within the general vicinity (Still 1 km away) he pulled over, got out of the taxi and disappeared into the night for over half an hour. My mother and I (who have travelled extensively in the third world) were left sitting in a taxi with the windows stuck down, in a dark alley, with people passing by and the key in the ignition with no driver and no explanation as to what was going on.....not just disconcerting, terrifying. When the driver was unable to confirm the location of the riad, he had a young man come and lead us the 1 km remaining to the riad down tiny, dark alleyways, through unlit tunnels and to the riad at which point he asked us for money. We had to pay 15 euros for the privilage of being put through this ridiculous farce Thierry likes to call a chauffer driven taxi.

Then, as if it couldn't get any worse, the room we had booked months in advance wasn't available for us that night so we had to sleep in a double room instead of a twin room in which they had made up a devan for me to sleep on. I am tall and slender and it was so tiny both length wise and width wise that I was in no way able to sleep.

The following day we were moved to the room we had booked which was an improvement but three major problems prolonged throughout our stay:
1. Noise from the courtyard in the middle of the riad travelled up and bounced off the walls making it impossible to sleep through even the slightest bit of noise on the ground floor. You could also hear everything going on within every other room on our floor.....enough said. When we complained about the noise ealy in the morning Thierry told us we should be up by 9:00 anyway....!!!!
2. There was very little lighting in the rooms or the common areas of the riad making it nearly impossible to read or look at a map.
3. The hot water in the shower ran out after only several minutes, meaning if two people wanted to wash their hair, there was not enough hot water to do so.

For a riad rated number 3 in all of Marrakech, none of these issues are acceptable. Thierry is charming and charismatic but if you have a problem he doesn't seem willing to address it at all.

Fundamental issues really let this place down.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We were met at the airport late at night by a driver who did not talk at all. He called on his mobile throughout the journey and then left us in the taxi in a dark alley for half an hour. He told us nothing. Finally an unknown young man arrived and took us and our luggage to an unknown destination. Even though we are seasoned third world travellers, this was terrifying. When we finally reached the riad he demanded money and left us with luggage battered from the walk to the riad. The riad charged us 15 Euros for this "airpot transfer" as well.
They put us in a double bed room when we had booked a twin. The second bed they brought in was so small that only a tiny child could have slept there.
Although there was no street noise, guest noise was a big problem. The courtyard is covered in a platic sheet and amplifies every sound. We could hear the bodily functions of every guest on our floor. Lobby noise was amplified into our room, preventing sleep. When we complained that I was ill with a virus and needed sleep, Thierry arrogantly replied that we should get up earlier! Hot water ran out after only one of us had showered.
Entire riad was so dark that it was impossible to even see a map or book.
They gave us one free night but it was still a nightmare stay.
On a good note, Abdul and Fatima were wonderful and are what made this hotel worthy of a poor rating instead of a terrible one!
AVOID El Tibibt.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
poyenne, Propriétaire at Riad Tibibt, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
this is not fair!
this is not my home......................
thierry&hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.3 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
5.3 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#99 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Le Meridien N'Fis
Le Meridien N'Fis
#138 of 505 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 1,390 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#79 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,563 reviews
2.2 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
#51 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Property: Riad Tibibt
Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #373 of 1,171 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing