We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Quiet and beatiful place in the medina of Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Touyir

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Dar Touyir
Ranked #571 of 1,186 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Quiet and beatiful place in the medina of Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The hotel is located in a quiet little street inside the medina, which is usually full of noises. The
courtyard of the hotel is a nice place to read, take a rest from the movement of the medina...
The bedrooms are very clean and comfortable and the bathrooms very big. It has a beautiful terrace where the good and home-made breakfast is served. The staff is nice and ready to help.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mercedes C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    17
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
29
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a hospitable self sufficient farm where you can relax and have no issues. The meals were awesome, staff friendly and rooms amazing! The owner was always there to help out with any questions (tours, places to visit, etc)Will be back or have already recommended to others!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rwt15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Dar Touyir is a very special hotel. Hidden away in the Medina at Marrakesh, peaceful, serving delicious food. The sunny terrace, with plenty of shade, was a joy. The staff were so kind and helpful, Fatima replied to all my emails promptly and patiently, and Robert, the owner, is a mine of information about Morocco. We visited the farm as well, and had a wonderful lunch. If we were to return to Marrakesh we would definitely stay at Dar Touyir again.

Room Tip: Our rooms were on the first floor, overlooking the courtyard. Cool and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailR057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Very quaint and very quiet! Incredibly comfortable beds! Very clean. The staff was friendly and breakfast on the roof was charming. Good location in the old city, BUT do not recommend walking around late at night in this area (the same as with many Riads tucked in the small twists and turns of the old streets).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CooperMuscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2011

So accommodating. . .I had a hectic travel schedule in Marrakech and this hotel was more than happy to help me. I arrived one evening and was greeted with cookies and an offering of tea. I requested bottled water instead, which was free during my entire stay. The owner gave me a map and chatted with me about the Medina and the places that I shouldn't miss on my one day whirlwind tour. The hotel was very clean, the decoration was low key, and the room had a great shower. The breakfast was served on the gorgeous and large roof terrace. The breakfast could have been more well rounded; it was tea/coffee, juice, bread, cheese, and jams. Anyway, when I was leaving for a high atlas trek, they were more than willing to hold my bag for no fee. I returned four days later, stayed one more night and left again at which time I was given yet another bottle of water, an offer of a taxi, and when I declined, specific instructions on where and how much a taxi to the train station should be. Of note, the hotel is easily found just off a main street and can be almost driven to. All the workers were extremely helpful as well.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ellen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

On one hand, we loved the hotel for its tasteful decor and central location, on the other hand, there're plenty of room for improvement.

To start with what we like about the Dar:
(1) Central location, (2) stylish decor, (3) Nice rooftop terrace

And what we're not so sure:
(1) No window in the room meaning that we have to keep the door open to let air in. Result: lack of privacy given that our room was on the 1st floor facing the main courtyard with reception area right downstairs. I believe the situation might be better with other rooms not facing the main courtyard.
(2) Arriving late in the evening at Marrakesh, we arranged private transportation from the station with the hotel for 100 Dirham one-way (while taxi costs about 15-30 Dirham depending on your negotiation skill) for added peace of mind. We ended up waiting outside the station at night for half an hour despite calling the hotel up a few times. Every time the answer was that the driver would arrive in a few minutes (without any apologies). When the driver arrived, he even made up excuses that he had been there before our arrival time and that he couldn't see us. But the fact is that we were there all the time and apparently he was just being late (there weren't that many people so impossible to miss especially since he's supposed to be holding our name plate). It might just be the problem of the driver BUT, advice: there're plenty of taxis right outside the station, so NO NEED to arrange transportation service with the hotel.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jacjac0120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moultouyir, Propriétaire at Dar Touyir, responded to this review, July 14, 2011
Thank you for posting a comment on Tripavisor. Those comments are paramount to help us to improve our services.
We are realy sorry that yours feelings are mixed afther your stay in Dar Touyir. You didn't tell us about those feelings during our several pleasant talks in Dar Touyir.
We are astonished that you declare " no windows in the room": you were accommodated in "janoubia" ( south) room during your two nights stay...and there are two windows in this room !
Most of your comments concern a Supratour bus station to Dar Touyir transfer.
Transport and taxi are realy a problem in Marrakech
In order to help trip advisor's reader in Marrakesh's taxi's jungle i will try to be as informative as possible:
A "petit taxi" ride" from Supratour, or Ctm or train station to Medina should not ,( meter using),cost more than 15 dirhams. We know that it is practicaly impossible to pay such a price, even afther hard bargaining. (most of our guest had payed from 50 to... 300 dirhams from train station to the medina)
No one pre arranged transports ( minibuses or privately hired taxis) accept such orders for less than 100 dirhams ( 150 from the airport)
In order to contour this problem and keep guest satisfied Dar Touyir offer one free transfer for each three nights stay.
In your case, we talk to you about the different solutions and prices for your transfer from Supratour bus to dar Touyir. You opted for the private point to point transport.
We ordered this transfer to our usualy reliable ( 0.2 % mishap) transport provider.
Unfortunately , for one or another reason, you where picked up with some delay...and eventualy transported safely to Dar Touyir's door.
We are deeply sorry for this inconvenience...but there is unfortunately nothing we can do about it.
We regret that your mixed feelings are builded on false informations (your room had two large windows) and complains about a third party.
Trip advisors comments have a direct impact on our bookings, on our incomes, on Dar Touyir's staff and crew future.
We hope that you'll enjoy the best in your future travels and that none will suffer anymore from such punishing and unfair comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Lovely belgian host greeted us upon arrival
Very pretty riyad with traditional features
Good breakfast - whenever you want it served
Very laidback and peaceful atmosphere
Nice to have an outdoor space and room on the top floor

Room Tip: top floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmmsoymilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#49 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kniza
Riad Kniza
#18 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#2 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Al Nour
Riad Al Nour
#59 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Alili
Riad Alili
#6 of 1,186 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Touyir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Touyir

Property: Dar Touyir
Address: Derb Dekkak 132 | Bab Doukala, Marrakech 40030, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #571 of 1,186 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Touyir 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A haven of freshness and peace, this little traditional house welcome you to taste the magic of his patios, the sun of his terraces and to taste this unique lifestyle that makes the charm of Marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Touyir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing