We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good tajin”
Review of Cafe chez ZaZa

Cafe chez ZaZa
Ranked #29 of 871 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $12
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: %%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%% A casual, traditional Moroccan restaurant that serves lunch, dinner and coffee, with a good view of the souk and the Jemaa El Fnaa square. Hours are from noon to midnight, all days of the week.%%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%%
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“good tajin”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

Very friendly staff. Most delicious meal we have ever had in Morocco. The roof top seating area was delightful and atmospheric. The harrira soup was delicious as was the chicken and the lamb tagine. You must find this place if you are in Marrakech and you will not be disappointed!!! Excellent all around! We will be going back again!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    229
    42
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“lovely terrace”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our riad host had suggested Cafe Zaza and we are so glad he did. We found it easily - just remember to look up for the sign and the terrace. The food was yummy and inexpensive. We both had different tangines. Nice breezes at night with people watching below. There are probably 10 small two-tops on the terrace. Lovely if you want a simple, good meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Must do!”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We read the Trip Advisor reviews and went to Chez Zaza. Easy to find and well worth it. Food was very good and well priced. The chicken pastilla was amazing. Very good service, friendly and attentive staff. We ate there three nights in a row.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manu m, Responsable relations clients at Cafe chez ZaZa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi thanks for your review, all the team of restaurant are happy if our guest are satisfed

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good food but hard to find”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly. Accurate directions:
Opposite the post office on the Los of the square is the police station. Walk past it and head into the first souks, past a huge lighting stall. You'll then come into a triangular clearing. Chez zaza is to your right. If you look up you'll see the sign and the red steps to it are between 2 stalls.
Menu is limited but the food is very good. I had the lamb tagine with apricots. Cheap. Plentiful and the staff are amazingly helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank claireWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manu m, Responsable relations clients at Cafe chez ZaZa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi and thanks for your review you are right its dificult to found so i had put a map in picture of our restaurant and on facebook.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This little place is amazing and well deserves its high tripadvisor rating. We arrived the first night and it was full so they said they would reserve us a table for the next night. No name taken or anything but they remembered us the next night and we are not that distinctive!

Terrace is small and at the top of the building. The host was lovely and the food was fantastic. Really tasty and we got a free soup to start, then our starter and main courses and then a free melon for the table and some mint tea.

It is a family run affair and it was one of the best dinners we had in Morocco. A definite destination if you are in Marrakech.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe chez ZaZa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe chez ZaZa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing