We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“lovely terrace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe chez ZaZa

Cafe chez ZaZa
Ranked #22 of 760 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: %%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%% A casual, traditional Moroccan restaurant that serves lunch, dinner and coffee, with a good view of the souk and the Jemaa El Fnaa square. Hours are from noon to midnight, all days of the week.%%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%%
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“lovely terrace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Our riad host had suggested Cafe Zaza and we are so glad he did. We found it easily - just remember to look up for the sign and the terrace. The food was yummy and inexpensive. We both had different tangines. Nice breezes at night with people watching below. There are probably 10 small two-tops on the terrace. Lovely if you want a simple, good meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jordan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    153
    31
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Must do!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We read the Trip Advisor reviews and went to Chez Zaza. Easy to find and well worth it. Food was very good and well priced. The chicken pastilla was amazing. Very good service, friendly and attentive staff. We ate there three nights in a row.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manu m, Responsable relations clients at Cafe chez ZaZa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi thanks for your review, all the team of restaurant are happy if our guest are satisfed

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food but hard to find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Firstly. Accurate directions:
Opposite the post office on the Los of the square is the police station. Walk past it and head into the first souks, past a huge lighting stall. You'll then come into a triangular clearing. Chez zaza is to your right. If you look up you'll see the sign and the red steps to it are between 2 stalls.
Menu is limited but the food is very good. I had the lamb tagine with apricots. Cheap. Plentiful and the staff are amazingly helpful.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank claireWilts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manu m, Responsable relations clients at Cafe chez ZaZa, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hi and thanks for your review you are right its dificult to found so i had put a map in picture of our restaurant and on facebook.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

This little place is amazing and well deserves its high tripadvisor rating. We arrived the first night and it was full so they said they would reserve us a table for the next night. No name taken or anything but they remembered us the next night and we are not that distinctive!

Terrace is small and at the top of the building. The host was lovely and the food was fantastic. Really tasty and we got a free soup to start, then our starter and main courses and then a free melon for the table and some mint tea.

It is a family run affair and it was one of the best dinners we had in Morocco. A definite destination if you are in Marrakech.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcjctrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Level Contributor
167 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Great food, beautiful birds-eye view of square”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at chez ZaZa. The food was superb -- among the tastiest Marrakech meals we had in our weeklong stay. We brought our family of 5 and everyone enjoyed their meal. The restaurant is family-owned and very friendly. The view of the square is great! No alcohol.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MDMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe chez ZaZa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe chez ZaZa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing