We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful introduction to an otherwise daunting city”

Marrakech Food Tours
Ranked #5 of 38 Food & Drink in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Want to experience the real food of Marrakech? Get away from the restaurants catering only to tourists and experience the food Marrakechi's eat! We take you to some of our favorite places to try authentic Moroccan food - the same quality you'd eat in a Moroccan home with plenty of surprises along the way. Join us on a walking food tour or a gourmet food tour where you'll experience the best of the city!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed December 8, 2014

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed our day 1 introduction to what is a daunting city for first-time Western visitors by taking the afternoon food tour. Even walking through the souks we were not harassed, we didn't have to find authentic cuisine that the locals eat and figure out what to order or what it cost (there is often no menu) - all of these things were a big plus! Over the following week we realised just how big a plus this was. We would really recommend this tour to any first- time visitor!

Thank Kim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marocmama, Owner at Marrakech Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2015

We really enjoyed spending time with your family and eating - we hope the rest of your trip wasn't "washed out" with the weather!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lamb"
in 31 reviews
"evening food tour"
in 19 reviews
"sheep's head"
in 17 reviews
"food culture"
in 12 reviews
"underground oven"
in 7 reviews
"food stops"
in 5 reviews
"snails"
in 18 reviews
"locals eat"
in 6 reviews
"first night"
in 19 reviews
"moroccan pastries"
in 6 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 12 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 8 reviews
"bread"
in 19 reviews
"four hours"
in 5 reviews
"great introduction"
in 6 reviews
"street food"
in 12 reviews
"local bakery"
in 4 reviews
Filter

365 - 369 of 412 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2014

We landed Friday and met up with Amanda and Youssef and their son Mikhail at 6pm at Jemaa El Fna. We walked around the area and ate at three great places. The couscous and the doughnuts were highlights for our three children. We would highly recommend this tour and it is agree at way to see the area and eat in places you would never go to or find on your own.

Thank Josh_UK_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marocmama, Owner at Marrakech Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you for sharing this review! Our son is still asking about your kids. Hope that you were able to salvage a decent remaining time with all the rain - we were thinking of you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2014

The is not a food tour but a progressive dinner or lunch, depending if you go at 1pm or 6 pm !! All food groups are covered in a fun and greatly visual way. There is much to see and eat and talk about even if you are not a foodie.I learnt a lot and loved the easy company of tour owners Amanda and Yousef. Don't miss this tour !!

1  Thank travellingmum0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marocmama, Owner at Marrakech Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Love your title line! Glad you enjoyed the food and time together - we did too!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2014

We booked this tour for our 10 year wedding anniversary trip to Morocco end of November. It was one of the highlights of our amazing time in Marrakech! Great food, wonderful company, you learn so much about Moroccan food history, culture, artisans...the food itself was lovely and we were in a food coma by the end of the 3 hours!! For more details of what the tour included plus images, see my blogpost review of Marrakech Food Tours http://selimfamily.com/2014/12/03/review-of-marrakech-food-tour/ Highly recommend!

Thank Samiya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marocmama, Owner at Marrakech Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

The pleasure was all ours! Here's to many more anniversaries over great food!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed November 25, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend (Hannah) and I booked the evening food tour as a way of tasting Moroccan food outside of the tourist hotspots. We met up with our group at the post office (Poste Maroc) in Jemaa el Fna square. After a very friendly introduction, the six of us, including our guides Amanda and Youssef, set off to our first eatery.
 
Our starting plate was a lamb tanjia with preserved lemons, garlic and cumin. We ate this in the traditional Maroc style by using torn local bread to dip and pinch off portions of the succulent meat. It tasted delicious. At the same venue, we ate a slow-cooked lamb dish with cumin salt which was cooked in a pit oven for 12 hours (Youssef gave us a tour of the oven). We paced ourselves as we knew a lot of food was coming our way over the next four hours! Sweet mint tea and soft drinks were also provided whenever we wanted it throughout the evening.
 
Our second stop was at an olive and preserved fruit stall where we sampled various types of olives, served plain or covered in an assortment of herbs and spices. Amanda and Youssef were on hand to explain the different products on sale and if you would like to purchase a jar of anything they make sure that you pay a fair price for it.
 
Our third visit was to a fish stall where we enjoyed eating what I could imagine a Maroc sandwich would look like. It was a handy meal of minced sardines, onion, olive and harissa salsa - all filled into a local bread bun. We also had sardine patties dipped in harissa chilli sauce. Both were excellent.

We then moved on for something sweeter at a shop selling syrup puffed doughnuts and savoury pancakes. This was a welcome break to sit outside the cafe and talk to Amanda and Youssef, who are both grat story tellers. We had plenty of time to digest between stops and chat with the guides and the other members of the group.

The fifth stop was at a restaurant where we ate a stewed green pepper starter followed by a 'Royal' three-times steamed cous cous dish which is a very traditional Maroc dish with sweet dates, nuts and mixed vegetables.

The food was too good to resist and at this point we were getting full, so we walked off the aforementioned feast and headed back towards the main square. I was thankful to have a guide who could navigate the alleys and streets and Youssef and I visited one merchant to buy spices for my kitchen back home. The quality of the spices (harissa, cumin, paprika) is superb. 20Dhs (£1.50) for 100g of spice.

The last stop was at a sweet pastry vendor where we had a large box of assorted almond pastries and jam shortbreads. After sampling, we took the rest back to our hotel and ate them the next day! We finished with an avocado and almond milkshake known locally as 'Male Viagra'. Not sure about that claim but it certainly tasted good! Hannah liked it too! :)

I would definitely recommend a friend to do this tour and when I am back in Marrakech I will be doing the tour again. There are so many stalls to choose from and foods to eat you can't do it just the once!

Best wishes,

Jonny and Hannah

1  Thank Jonathan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marocmama, Owner at Marrakech Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

Thank you for this comprehensive and great review. We loved getting to know both of you - hope the rest of your trip was also excellent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakech Food Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Marrakech Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing