We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect holiday”
Review of Villa Dinari

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Dinari
Ranked #42 of 1,193 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2009

The selfish part of me wants to slate this place, simply to keep it a secret, but the truth is that we had the most perfect time at the Villa Dinari.
Before we even set off Heather e-mailed us, organising our collection from the airport, lunch and our Hammam treatments. (We went to La Maison Arabe as Les Bains des Marrakech were being weird about deposits/giving over your credit card details upfront, including security numbers - La Maison Arabe was wonderful though).
When we landed in Marrakech our driver was already there to collect us and we arrived at the villa well within half an hour. Heather was there to meet us and is absolutely fantastic. She gave us a tour and took us to our room, having upgraded us to the Dinari Suite. It is a lovely cottage at the top end of the garden, with a living area, kitchen and patio. It is beautifully and practically furnished, private and you could be totally self-sufficient there. (Ironically exactly one week previously we stayed in the Opium Suite at Le Manoir aux Quat' Saisons which is very similar in style and layout but 12 times the price) If there is anything you need, you could of course just ask, but I would suggest that you have a look around first because it is more than likely that Heather has already thought of it. There are pool towels, corkscrews, an i-pod dock, bug spray, candles (and spare ones), a lighter, board games etc etc. There is also complimentary tea, coffee and water. The bathroom has big bottles of shampoos etc for you to help yourself to - just like staying at a friend's. The suite is well-lit with lots of beautiful lamps and is air-conditioned/heated as you desire. (It does get cold here at night and the architecture is well designed to keep out the heat, so bring pj's).
We were also met with a tray full of assorted olives (grown in their own gardens), nuts, fresh fruit, water and a bottle of wine - all a complimentary welcome.
We snacked, settled in, had a quick wonder around and then were called for our lunch. My boyfriend had mentioned that I avoid eating wheat and Heather had organised special barley bread to be made for me! This is a fine example of how the Villa Dinari is run, with genuine thoughtfulness. There is a personal touch in the way that everyone treats you. It is a far-cry from those impersonal hotels that can often leave you feeling like a mere number/potential tipper. All the staff are kind and accommodating, Khaleed or Heather are always around to liaise with re any plans/needs you have. They booked our restaurants, drew us maps, changed bookings, and ordered our taxis (which always arrived within 15 mins and are paid for on account at the end of your holiday directly to the Villa). Heather also let us use her personal gym.
The food here is wonderful - Nizha prepared all our meals and she is a genius. We had tagines, salads, meatballs, bbq meats, kofte etc etc. You just need to mention that you wish to eat home and lunch or dinner (which is from a set menu) will be served at your time of choice. It is excellent, authentic Morroccan cuisine (approx £8 each for lunch £17 or dinner) and the portions are very generous. The wines (about £8 each) they have available on top are really well-chosen too.
Breakfast is served whenever you surface and in fact Nizha brought it to our suite in order to wake us up whenever the mornings were hot and sunny. It comprises yoghurt, fruit, fresh oj, tea/coffee, breads, jam and honey.
We did eat out (Tobsil - excellent food, surly waiter, beautiful surrounds and worth a trip, but a bit touristy) but decided to mostly eat home as the food served at the Villa was varied and flawless.
The gardens are beautiful - really well groomed but not sterile. There is real life here which includes lots of birdsong and 4 gorgeous dogs. The pool area is brilliant, perfect for relaxing and admiring your surrounds - which includes a view of the Atlas Mountains.
The main villa has so many spots, both inside and out, where you can hang out and relax. We had pre-dinner drinks in the main house each night and usually ate lunch outside and dinner on the formal dining room, but again, I think they are so chilled that you are free to choose.
The main house is beautifully designed and decorated, like a minimalist Morroccan style, if such a thing exists. It is true to Morroccan culture without being the tiniest bit chintzy. It is homely and spacious.
We saw all 4 of the guest rooms and they are all done up to a very high standard - I would be really happy to stay in any of them. Privacy was not an issue or us as we were the only guests but there seems to be tonnes of space for 8 guests to share.
With relation to security here, there are locks on the doors but we rarely used ours as we didn't feel the need. (There is a watchman and big dogs for goodness sake!)
I could go on forever about all the details but basically this is a fab place, run by enthusiastic and kind people (Heather, Abdul and their son Adam are super nice) who are easy-going and keen that you enjoy yourself. It is not a sprawling 5 star resort in the city (thank God) and it is not run with military precision, but with heart. It is 20 minutes out of town and the air is all the better for that. A great place to relax - we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PEAandNOTCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeeBeeEssex, owner at Villa Dinari, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2009

Thank you guys so much for this review.
We knew you liked it here, but hadn't realised just how much.
We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 259 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2009

If you are looking for an oasis of calm with excellent accommodation, delicious food, beautiful gardens and a great swimming pool, look no further than Villa Dinari. It is only about 15 minutes drive from the centre of Marrakech and provides a peaceful contrast after sightseeing and exploring the Medina, Souks and all that Marrakech has to offer.
The owners Heather and Abdel and their son Adam make your stay extremely comfortable, their main concern being that you are well looked after and that you enjoy yourself. It has a real family atmosphere which is relaxed and informal. This together with the excellent service provided by the staff make for a holiday you will never forget.
We very much look forward to our next visit to Villa Dinari.
Paulene & Phil Jones

Stayed: December 2008
2  Thank hendersonyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerVillaDinari, owner vila dinari at Villa Dinari, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2009

Thank you so much for your review.
We are so glad that your stay with us was such a success. We look forward to seeing you both again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2008

This is the first time that I have written a review and have mixed feelings about doing so. We are all of different ages and experiences, what I would have thought of as a fab hotel /location in my twenties would probably not enter into my top 20 now! I will therefore try and be as factual as possible.
My husband and I are in our mid forties and work in order to travel! Our flights were booked via Easy Jet. Fleewinter organised our accommodation - they're fantastic to deal with.
The villa - Villa DInari is a beautiful detached villa with a private walled garden and pool(not heated).
The accommodation - our room was situated off the inner courtyard of the villa on the left hand side. Decor & furnishings were nice but not fantastic.
The room lacks privacy with windows opening into the central courtyard and the french doors opening onto the garden which was not private. We were lucky though as the room we had origiainally booked (right hand side of the courtyard) was directly opposite a new building project which was nearing completion but still noisy!
If you are considering booking go for one of the cottages in the garden. They have a seating and kitchen area and a greater degree of privacy as they are situated on the top right and left hand side of the gardens.
Location - in the middle of nowhere! Great for bird watchers and for going on trips to the Atlas etc. (we saw a good number of birds in the gardens includign the Sadrinian Warbler, Rufous Tailed Robin, Nightingale & Crested Larks to name but a few).
Getting into Marrakech by taxi is 20 - 30 min drive. There are no restaurants etc within walking distance.
OVERVIEW - this is the first time my husband and I have ever stayed in a this type of accommodation. The owners live in the villa, they have staff who will provide you with lunch & diner as long as you give them some notice. The food is excellent and well worth staying in for! . You are welcome to help yourself to anything that you need from the kitchen etc.
There are no locks on the doors or safes because at the end of the day you are staying in someones home.! There needs to be element of trust between everyone includung the other guests. I do have mixed feeling about this.
The owner of the property, who is English is very helpful and will arrange taxis and trips for you.
My main concern before booking was that the experience was going to be too 'up'close and personal', and whilst I did enjoy the experience I did find the lack of privacy an issue.If you want a tranquil location I would reccomend.
Value for money? - Yes, I was happy with what we paid, icluding the cost of food and drink.
A word of warning - Marrakech is expensive where alcahol is concerned. The posh restaurants are also for pricey for what can be a hit or miss meal. Charly's Cabanna is Gueliz (the New Town) is a very reasonable Italian with excellent service.
We stayed at VIlla DInari for 5 nights and then went into the Medina for a 4 night stay at Riad Dar el Souk.Remember to take a French Phrase book if your French isn't up tp scratch!
Marrakech - I would return to Morocco but would visit different areas.
The Medina itself is beautiful but the souks are full of the usual tourist crap! Three days is enough to see all there is to see. It's hard work for anyone with a walking disability - please make sure that if you are booking into a riad that it is easily accessable (You have to walk along narrow uneven alleyways to access the majority of them) . There are also issues the rooms in the riads. There isn't always someone there to help with cases and all the action in Marrakech take place on the roof top terraces!
The big hotels are situated in Gueliz - The New Town , the Medina and all the sights are easily accessable.

Stayed: May 2008
Thank twitchers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ownerVillaDinari, owner at Villa Dinari, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2009

Thank you for your review. It is always interesting to hear the opinions of our clients.

We have taken on board the privacy issues and our rooms, which do have locks, now all have safes as well.

The trip into town is actually 15 to 20 minutes maximum and we have an excellent driver service who is available at all times of the day or night.

We have upgraded our two front rooms, please see www.villadinari.com, and they all are equipped with hairdryers and i-pod docks as well as mini-bars.

Yes, its's true that the two garden studios are very private, but most guests that stay with us are very happy with the privacy of the two front rooms.

They each have a terrace overlooking the garden and as we only have four rooms in total, there are never hordes of people milling around as we are a private house.

Guests staying at Villa Dinari are made very welcome and we do our utmost to make you feel at home with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2008

We stayed at the Villa Dinari and honestly couldn't fault it. The house is stunning, the grounds are large and beautiful. The pool is great! The home-cooked breakfasts, lunches and dinners were as good as the highest standard restaurant, and Heather, the owner, was very helpful, with great recommendations for things to see and do, and where to eat.

If you want a relaxing base from which to explore Marrakech, and you enjoy stylish surroundings and delicious home cooked Moroccan food, I don't think you could do better than Villa Dinari.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsRadLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2008

Just come back from Villa Dinari and had a fantastic 4 days! The accomodation is lovely and is immaculately clean and tidy. The pool area and gardens outside are the perfect area to relax away from the bustle of the Marrakesh medina but still within easy reach (about half hour in taxi).

The staff were attentive and the meals at the villa were excellent and inexpensive. There is no set time for breakfast so you can get up at anytime and they will prepare it for you when you come outside which was great. Breakfast is included and lunch and dinner are optional.

Heather (the owner) was very friendly and happy to help with organising trips and booking and recommending restaurants.
We went to Le Foundouk, Comptoir and Boi Zin which were all very nice with gorgeous surroundings and all offer the chance to sample the Morrocan cuisine. Only drawback is that mostly tourists and expats were in there so did not feel like a true Morrocan experience. I would suggest sampling at least one less expensive local restaurant to get a true feel of Marrakesh.

Shopping at the Souks was great and all the stall owners were very friendly and had a good sense of humour. Always barter though! I found that the stall owners normally asked for about three times the price they would actually accept when you had negotiated.

Wanted to visit Les Bains de Marrakesh, a spa which has great reviews but couldn't unfortunately as it was fully booked. Make sure you book with your credit card and confirm via e-mail before you come if you want to go.

Take a jacket if you go at this time of year as can get cooler in the evenings.

I would definitely recommend Villa Dinari for your holiday- it was perfect.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Sunshineinthecity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
khaboua, Kalid at Villa Dinari, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2008

Thank you very much for those comments.
we are doing our best to honorate our job
and make you feel in real holidays with all comforts we can offer.
Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2008

What a fabulous place!

Around 9 miles from the Medina, Villa Dinari is in a quiet residential part of Marrakech. Incredible views of the mountains and a wonderful garden (with huge pool) to relax in.

We stayed in the Garden Studio for over two weeks and had a brilliant time. Breakfasts, which we had in the sunshine, by the pool each morning were wonderfully prepared by the in-house cook (who will also provide incredible light lunches and delicious dinners).

The Garden Studio was amazing value and has it's own tiny kitchen where you can prepare pasta/salad etc. Nice seating area and wonderful terrace to lounge around on.

Had a peek at the other accommodation in the main house which is equally gorgeous.

There is also another Garden Studio under construction which already looks fab - think it'll be ready in a couple of months.

The owners are utterly charming and extremely helpful. We had access to a computer to check e-mail and Abdul (the man of the house) organised some brilliant trips for us.

We hired a car which was a definite 'must' for us as we were house-hunting. Would suggest a car for anyone planning a stay longer than a week as there isn't much to do within walking distance! But it is a prefect place to luxuriate and go nowwhere for a good few days.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SocietyCafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2007

My Fiance (now wife) stayed at the Villa Dinari for a couple of days during our trip to Marrakech, and enjoyed it thoroughly. Its a shame we couldnt stay longer!! A lovley family and great company - utterly relaxed - thanks alot..

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mo_one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
4.8 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#163 of 500 in Marrakech
177 reviews
5.3 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,193 in Marrakech
692 reviews
8.3 mi away
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
Riad Al Mendili Kasbah
#77 of 1,193 in Marrakech
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Palais Amador
Palais Amador
#30 of 1,193 in Marrakech
173 reviews
4.8 mi away
Riad Dar-K
Riad Dar-K
#54 of 1,193 in Marrakech
409 reviews
5 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#11 of 1,193 in Marrakech
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Dinari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Dinari

Address: Alpha 41, Lots Bouazaoui | Amerchich, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 1,193 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $107 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Dinari is a privately owned guest house just 12 km and 20 minutes from Marrakech. The Villa has eleven rooms and suites to let. Situated in one hectar of beautifully landscaped gardens, it has a heated swimming pool, gymnasium, treatments room and massage facilities and can provide half or full board. It has a real family atmosphere. It is the ideal location for dipping in to Marrakech or exploring the surrounding countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Prestigia so you can book your Villa Dinari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing