We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Zouina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zouina
Ranked #150 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 14, 2014

Yet another fantastic stay in this beautiful riad. This is my fourth time. Catherine and Maurice are superb hosts. The girls are delightful and cannot do enough for you. The food is memorable and the rooms are unbelievable with amazing painted ceilings and antique bedsteads. I never want to stay anywhere else in this city.

Room Tip: As there are quite alot of steps the best option is to choose a room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 214 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2014

The riad comprises two traditional buildings that have been refurbished with great flare and taste by the owners. It is situated in a quiet street within walking distance of the Place Jemaa el Fna and, and near to the external boulevard where taxis can be found.
The building has two beautiful courtyards and roof gardens where the fine breakfast is served, weather permitting. There are views of the Koutoubia and the Atlas Mountains; for bird lovers, there are bulbuls, blackbirds, collared doves and house buntings lurking in the abundant foliage and, looking skywards, swifts, swallows, house martins, storks and the occasional raptor.
Catherine is the image of helpfulness and a mine of information; her staff are discrete and and thoughtful.
The rooms are individually decorated in traditional materials including the beautiful tadelekt wall decoration. The soft furnishings are equally tasteful. Our bathroom was large and well-equipped. We found a welcoming tray with water, fruit and yummy local pastries. Meals (home-cooked) are available on request.
We cannot recommend this riad enough and would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank oldbirder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014

My partner and I had 4 nights at this wonderful Riad. It was absolutely stunning with it's two courtyards and amazing roof gardens.The decorations were perfect with enormous attention to detail. Catherine welcomed us on the first evening with a drink and very useful suggestions for restaurants and places to visit. The breakfasts were served on the roof veranda and were delicious. i had a Hammam on the last day which was amazing. Although our flight on our last day wasn't until 8pm, Catherine very graciously allowed us to hang out at the Riad all day until the taxi she had arranged for us arrived at 6pm. I cannot praise this place enough..just lovely..and we met some lovely people whilst we were there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FiLi1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

WE had 4 days here as part of a two centre break. We knew the reviews were good, but it exceeded our expectations on all levels. The rooms are lovely. All individually decorated with moroccan textiles, ceramics, wood, metal. and leatherwork, with rich evocative colours. The staff are tireless, constantly cheerful and friendly. The roof terrace offers magnificent views across the city and is a perfect place for peace and tranquil calm from the urgent activity down below among the souks. I know it's already been said but Catherine the Riad owner and host is constantly helpful and friendly. Breakfast each morning on the terrace is an event in itself. The food is lovely, but it's the calmness of the morning, either in sun or shade that sets your day up. . We also had a terrific Lamb Tagine dinner there one night. The Riad courtyards offer a cool calm retreat if it gets too hot as you sit among the trees and bamboos. My wife, daughter and boyfriend felt this place was one of the highlights of the whole holiday. I cannot recommend it enough. !!

Room Tip: WE stayed at Jasmine on the ground floor and my daughter was in Jasmine, both lovely, but they are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Great location, friendly staff, good food, elegant rooms what's not to like.

Apart from a small problem with our arrival plans , which Catherine sorted out effortlessly , there was NOTHING that we could fault.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeDabell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Always an entirely comfortable stay with friendly staff and impressive attention to décor, a real flavour of the finer things in the old town of Marrakech. I'd rather not write a review at all but since asked I could hardly say no.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nothing posed a problem to Catherine and her staff - starting with us having to change our booked days as we were unable to cross the mountains due to snow. We ended up breaking our stay into two time periods and were welcomed each time.
The riad is located in an outer alley of the medina and the medina itself is clean and bright.
The riad is converted from two traditional houses and is constructed around both inner courtyards - one having a small pool. It is filled with light and openness and a home-made delicious breakfast is served on the terrace. A wood fire heated the interior sitting room each night.
The room was well appointed and heated comfortably with a hot water radiator. Delicious pastries and fresh fruit and water was provided.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robynnsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#169 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#73 of 499 in Marrakech
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#18 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Anabel
Riad Anabel
#16 of 1,172 in Marrakech
338 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Vanilla sma
Riad Vanilla sma
#32 of 1,172 in Marrakech
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zouina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zouina

Address: 43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #150 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $100 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RYAD ZOUINA is situated in a prime location, on the main street of district “Mouassine", the most wellknown of the Medina : only seven minutes by feet from the famous Jemaa El Fna Square and three minutes from the Souks. As soon as you come through the remarkable chiselled copper door, you will be amazed at the space, quietness and spell of the site. Two authentic ancient ryads were gathered together, restored and turned into Guest House with deepest care of preserving the priceless architectural inheritance and with the full respect for Moroccan traditions. The whole RYAD ZOUINA gets now a huge surface (almost 1000 square meters) with only 10 bedrooms and 2 patios, 2 living-rooms, 1 hammam, 1 massages room, 1 swimming pool/jacuzzi, 1 terrace for breakfasts and 2 panoramic ones. Catherine, the owner, lives on site and will welcome you in her house, making your stay in Marrakesh an unforgettable experiment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zouina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing