We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Home away from home in Marrakech” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Zouina

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Zouina
Ranked #165 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Home away from home in Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is a relaxed, warm and comfortable Riad in the medina, in the Bab Ksour area which is very convenient for exploring the souks and reaching the square.

Catherine very much makes you feel as though the Riad is your own home, it has a very warm and family-run atmosphere. Her staff are also friendly and excellent, and breakfast is tasty and substantial. We had dinner there on the first evening and the flavours were fantastic, the produce fresh and the food was in abundance.

The courtyard and pool area provides a wonderful cool oasis on hot days, and the air conditioning and hot water systems worked perfectly. The terrace is large (Zouina is actually two Riads joined together), and a wonderful place to have breakfast or a sunset drink.

I traveled with my parents and it was their first trip to Marrakech. They absolutely loved it and enjoyed the relaxed environment Zouina provided. They both had spa treatments at Zouina and said they were fantastic.

My only negative comment would be the use of generic soaps such as Lux in the bathrooms. Morocco is known for its apothecaries and beauty products, a local soap and locally sourced body products would be a nice touch.

This is not one of Marrakech's 5 star Riads (the price reflects this, it is excellent value), but if you want a warm, welcoming, beautiful and relaxed Riad, Zouina won't disappoint.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank miss_mish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    25
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
33
106
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

In our first trip to Marrakech, we did not know what to expect. Either from our choice of hotel or the surrounding area.
We were greatly surprised by both!
Riad Zouina, offered us an oasis to the hot, hectic, dizzy lifestyle that is Marrakechs' Medina.
From the very first time we entered the Riad Zouina we were welcomed with open arms. As if we were family. Our room was always clean and fresh and the room's air conditioner, which worked overtime because of the intense heat outside, never faltered. The rooms are quiet and the bedding comfortable. The service was impeccable
Now we come to the important part, the food. Marrakech is famous for it's restaurants, it is true but you must have dinner at the Riad Zouina. You will not be disappointed. The Moroccan cuisine is outstanding and having dinner on the roof of the Riad is a special moment you and your loved one, will not forget. A truly romantic experience.
When you visit Marrakech, we highly recommend you stay at the Riad Zouina.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nnavarro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great location (a few steps from Jamel El Fna, the souks...), great breakfasts, nice pool (not big, but sizeable enough even for the kids to enjoy), beautiful courtyards, nice views from the terrasse, Catherine is helpful whenever you have questions, good hamman, large and nicely decorated rooms, kept very clean.
Only one downside: the last few days were hot and the AC had a hard time keeping up, so the rooms were quite hot when good to bed. Would still recommend very much that place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Philippe_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights, our first visit to Marrakech. We wanted to be able to walk everywhere and the Riad Zouina was wonderfully located and an oasis of tranquility after the hustle and bustle of sightseeing. Spread over three floors, you have a sense of spaciousness, privacy and 'home from home'. Catherine and her team are discreetly attentive and helpful - just the right amount! Visitors shouldn't miss the opportunity to eat at the Riad, the food is beautifully cooked, the table decoration is exquisite and the service is excellent. Staying at Catherine's Riad made our holiday extra special and I wouldn't hesistate to return again or recommend to others.

Room Tip: We stayed in Hibiscus, ground floor, away from main activity of house. Stepping outside the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antwerp
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

After 15 days and 5 riads we there was no riad who could closely match this riad. Critical as I am, I tried to find the defaults, but could not find anything to complain about. Maybe the only point of critisism could be: "people who hate perfection should stay away from this riad".

Thanks to personnel and Catherine,
Mira and Bram

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bram v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I stayed for 8 days. Catherine, the Manager/owner was very hospitable and helpful giving advice and welcome to each new arrival. Her ? 4 staff were very friendly and helpful. Smiles and greetings abounded. The atmosphere was casual and warm with the roof of the riad being the meeting place- flowers, birdsong, a sleek cat, swaying trees- many places to lounge around or gaze over the roof tops. This was an intimate riad and everyone was treated like priviledged guests. Its is enviably situated at one of the main entrances to the souk and is within 10 minutes meandering walk to the square. Catherine was happy to arrange and give advice to all sorts of queries. After my stay she helped me arrange a 6 day desert and gorge trip with her driver Hassan who is a charming man who must be easily Morrocco's safest driver. Come to Morroccco- stay at Riad Zouina and relax into this wonderful place! I am certainly staying there again should I get the opportunity to visit Marrakech again.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room called Jonquille which was done up in the traditional wood painted morroccan st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank ohlikwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

Ok, the title may be a tad overstating it, but after staying in a riad in each of the four imperial cities, we can now certainly say this one was the best. By far.

- Location -

Literally less than 5 minutes from the famous Djema El-Fna place, the riad is perfectly located if what you are looking for is to see the medina, the place, the Koutoubia, the Mamounia Hotel, etc. Everything in the old parts can be reached on foot, which is a blessing in this part of town. I guess it would be much less convenient with a car, but I do not know if the riad has parking arrangements or not.

- Service -

Not only is Catherine a wonderful and helpful host, she also has the best staff we've had the chance to meet. Always polite, always willing to assist. It is probably the first time I mention this aspect of a stay in a review and that is because it's not really my priority when I travel. But in this case, they really raised the bar in terms of hospitality. And when we requested transfer from and to the train station, it was graciously offered to us at no additional costs. That was much appreciated.

- Room -

While the room ("Gentiane") we had was a tad on the small side, we did appreciate the fact that our 13-yo son had his bed in a small mezzanine. We all had more privacy than the other rooms we stayed in afterwards, which we ended up missing. But the highlights of this riad are outside the room: the roof patio offers amazing views over the Koutoubia and the Atlas mountains, while the first floor garden was absolutely beautiful and perfectly groomed. One small thing: Wi-Fi doesn't reach every place in the riad and that included our room. So we had to sit in the living room or on the upstairs patio for this.

- Food -

The breakfast was delicious and was able to leave us full for our days of sightseeing. We did not have lunch or dine at the riad, however, so I cannot say about the rest of the food.

Definitely our coup de coeur of the whole trip and we wish we can be back here one day. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you travel with a kid, ask for the Gentiane room. They'll love the mezzanine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Elmarto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#74 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 331 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Aladdin
Riad Aladdin
#225 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 147 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Sukkham
Riad Sukkham
#541 of 1,177 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
Riad Dar Al Kounouz
#217 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Ghali
Riad Ghali
#105 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Justo
Dar Justo
#130 of 1,177 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Zouina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Zouina

Property: Riad Zouina
Address: 43, Rue Sidi Yamani - El Mouassine, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #165 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RYAD ZOUINA is situated in a prime location, on the main street of district “Mouassine", the most wellknown of the Medina : only seven minutes by feet from the famous Jemaa El Fna Square and three minutes from the Souks. As soon as you come through the remarkable chiselled copper door, you will be amazed at the space, quietness and spell of the site. Two authentic ancient ryads were gathered together, restored and turned into Guest House with deepest care of preserving the priceless architectural inheritance and with the full respect for Moroccan traditions. The whole RYAD ZOUINA gets now a huge surface (almost 1000 square meters) with only 10 bedrooms and 2 patios, 2 living-rooms, 1 hammam, 1 massages room, 1 swimming pool/jacuzzi, 1 terrace for breakfasts and 2 panoramic ones. Catherine, the owner, lives on site and will welcome you in her house, making your stay in Marrakesh an unforgettable experiment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Zouina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing