We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quiet hotel”
Review of Las Palmeras

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Las Palmeras
Ranked #630 of 1,153 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Liverpool, England
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice quiet hotel”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Take no notice of the petty sad reviewers marking this hotel down. Their the type of saddo's who mark a hotel as 'poor' just because they didn't get yogurt for breakfast!! Get a grip people. Its a decent hotel...very quiet and chilled. Room was fine..i only sleep in it so I'm not after a palace! Only downside was no fridge in my room. Only bad thing i can say about this hotel is the distance from town...15 mins in a taxi...300 dhs for a round trip is steep. Hotel needs to organize a free shuttle bus like other hotels if it wants to succeed. Other than that i cant fault it. I get so sick of victor meldrew trip adviser reviewers who mark things down for petty things. Take no notice of these people.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank toxtethscouser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    69
    34
    18
    39
See reviews for
54
100
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I travelled with my 80 year old stepfather, we had arranged a transfer from the airport prior to travelling. On the paperwork it said that the hotel was 15 mins from the airport yet it took 2hours. Taxi man got a little angry when I did not put money in his hand for a tip. I was getting a bit distressed due to riding around in the dark and being on my own with an 80 year old man we felt vulnerable..The hotel was all locked up and lights dimmed around the place when we got there. A member of staff had to be located by the security guard. We had upgraded to inside the hotel due to the bad feedback about the garden rooms, we were glad we did. The rooms were traditional and very airy.Hot showers were welcoming.

The next day we had a trip planned.We had asked to book a taxi checking the price before hand and told the hotel boy that we needed to be in Djma Sq for 9. Our taxi did not arrive until a quarter to nine, when he started driving he was detouring so we asked him to hurry -we finally arrived in the square at 9.30 We thought we missed our day trip. We arranged a pick up from the same spot and was taken back to the hotel. We had 200 dirham ready (as this what was quoted) and the taxi driver became quite animated waiting for yet another 100 which I refused to pay. The hotel boss came over to see the commotion and calmed him down. The boss said that the price was 300 dirhams (£30) and always has been, although not what we were quoted the day before.
I explained we missed our trip but the boss rang the company only to find out that I had got my dates wrong and rebooked a taxi for the following day to arrive on time. (The taxi driver came at 8 this time!)

We did a cookery course in a house in the souk which was fantastic (city discovery tours)
We ate in the hotel (I dont think it can be called a restaurant) a few times, food was traditional and wholesome. Drinks are limited but the local Moroccan wine is not bad.(It is a Muslim country after all) Breakfast was basic ,fresh local bread and jam one morning with pancakes and jam another. Not 5 star though! There was no real atmosphere at meal times as we ate on our own and the tables were low.

The grounds of the hotel are very calming and the pool inviting although too cold to attempt. The hotel is charming and tastefully traditional but a bit of a way from anything if you dont have transport.There is a bus stop at the top of a long the road but I felt it was too far and too dangerous to walk at dusk as there seems very little lighting.

Noises in the evening are what you expect in a village (with dogs barking and cats mating) being a Muslim country you also hear the call for prayer from the minarets.I did not sleep that well as someone came into the hotel at 4am which unsettled me (no hotel staff were there and as far as we were aware no guests inside the main hotel either only us) it turned out to be a guard checking around? I got ear plugs and slept like a princess in my four poster the next day.

I would definitely not hire a car as the roads are horrendous with what we saw there is little evidence of rules of the road, five people on the back of a moped was not uncommon! People wander across busy lanes of traffic, we saw a boy of about 5 trying to cross on a cycle?? Compensation setting in????????????????

Would visit La Palmera again perhaps at a warmer time. Cafe de France in the Djeema Sq has the best and cheapest coffee and tremendous views over the market.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 675Betsyboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

we stayed there for fore night The room we were showed to was a lovely, It has a small corridor leading to a bathroom where there was a plentiful supply of hot water. very good place, bit out of town. but staff was great and always helpful. internet is very fast.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hassan1_388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

People are looking for different things. Most of travellers are prepared for 5 star all inclusive hotels (for free would be the best option). I've read some of the negative rewievs and I'm suprised. If you are looking for 5 star hotel than go to Hilton or Mariott and pay a lot. Garden room is a normal room (clean not dumpy) with everything what you need(you don't wont to spend all your time in the hotel, right?). Rooms are clean, confortable and there's nothing wrong with theme. Hotel manager Mohamad is a lovely and well informed person who always share his knowledge and good advice with customers and it's a really good thing that he runs this place. Also the service provided by friendly Mustafa is on top level. There is no space for complains cause everything is in right oreder. Food is great and the portions are enough to eat well(it's not eat all you can). Prices are resonable(please don't froget this is a hotel not take away). Also Hammam is perfect(my wife enjoy it much). All you need to know is that the hotel is situated a bit far from the city centre. For people who wont to know the country, people and culture it's not a big deal cause like in every country there's a local transport(you can get to centre by Alsa bus nr 17). Local people are very friendly and kind. This hotel is a perfect place to run away from noise, tourists and to know the reall face of Marrakesch. Thanks to the hotel crew we had a lovely time with a lot of adventures and fun with you probably wont find in money makeing directed hotels in centre. Expect the best and unexpected(in a positive way) in Las Palmeras Marrakesch(check it by yoursellf and you wont regret it)
Once again I would like to thanks to all of the staff members and specially to Mustafa and Mohamed. You are great!!!! ;)
Hope to see you in the future.
Szukran!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bart K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

stayed in this hotel for one night only. we were a family of four and had booked 2 rooms, just like everyone else ripped off as the booking was for the "Garden rooms". these were just adjoining shed with no electricity and on arrival were recommended by Ali to upgrade, as i have a mobility problem was given a double room downstairs while the other 2 were given a double room upstairs. my room was awful, the bed had a slab of stone to hide the sagging, so did not sleep all night. the breakfast was just bread with fried eggs and jam, no fruit or english tea or coffee. NO WAY is this a 5 star, I would recommend booking the Albatross Gardens or Ryad Mogador which is where we went afterwards. a complete waste of money as in the back of nowhere, no shuttle service to the town or bus. DEFINITELY not going back to this hotel although this was my second trip to Marrakech. Love Marrakech though,

Room Tip: Book somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parveenrani786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Las Palmeras for 3 weeks in December 2012. It was a little pocket of tranquility in a busy city. I would most certainly return.

The room we were showed to was a lovely, spacious room with 3 single beds. It has a small corridor leading to a bathroom where there was a plentiful supply of hot water. (Yes, you had to flick a switch- we did not find this too complicated a task!) the room and bathroom were absolutely spotless. This is one of the cleanest hotels we have e stayed at Las Palmeras for 3 weeks in December 2012. It was a little pocket of tranquility in a busy city. I would most certainly return.

The room we were showed to was a lovely, spacious room with 3 single beds. It has a small corridor leading to a bathroom where there was a plentiful supply of hot water. (Yes, you had to flick a switch- we did not find this too complicated a task!) the room and bathroom were absolutely spotless. This is one of the cleanest hotels we have stayed in, and we are regular travellers. The floors were hand scrubbed daily! There was a fridge, a safe and plenty of storage. It was chilly in the evenings, and we used the heater in the room, which also provides air con in the summer.

The hotel itself was very traditional, with beautiful decor and furniture. It was spotlessly clean throughout. The pool was too cold to swim in but the grounds and gardens were breathtakingly beautiful (photos attached). It was outside of the city centre, which suited us perfectly. We hired a car and had no problem finding our way around once we got used to the left hand drive! There is also a bus from the top of the road that takes you all the way into the city centre for 4MD (about 30p!!) So getting around really is easy.

Mustafa met us and showed us to our room, and was there to answer any queries that we had. He even lent us an iPhone charger as we had forgotten an adaptor. His English, wasn't excellent, but then why should it be? We got by on a little French and a lot of mime!

The Mall was close by and lovely restaurants inside. Also, a Metro wholesale supermarket was minutes away from the hotel where we stocked up on water and anything else we needed.

We stayed on a B&B basis, so cannot comment on the lunch and dinner, but the breakfast is absolutely WONDERFUL! The bread is baked fresh locally every morning. (I can't, for the life of me, think why those 3 previous reviewers called it stale bread. Moroccan bread is much denser than European. They were expecting 'Croissants, fresh fruit and yoghurt'.. A continental breakfast in North Africa?!? the 'soggy crumpets' described were actually traditional Moroccan Crepes, which were served all over Marrakech. The ones at Las Palmeras were second to none though, and absolutely divine when smothered in the fresh butter and honey that they are served with. There was also cake, orange juice, coffee and a jug of hot milk. We wanted a bit of early morning protein, so we picked up a dozen eggs at the local metro and the staff were more than happy to boil them for us at breakfast time. The only down side is that breakfast is not served earlier than 7.30, which was a shame as we had to miss it on a couple of mornings due to early starts.

We are likely to travel to Marrakech again, and if so, will most certainly go back to Las Palmeras. It is a welcome haven of tranquility and we were made to feel very welcome.

As far as value for money is concerned, this is possibly one of the best value trips I have every had the fortune to do. We didn't eat or drink at the hotel, so paid for no extras.

The statement made in the previous review 'every single person in morocco is out to get more money out of you' is ignorant and blantantly untrue. The people of Marrakech that we met would bend over backwards to help others.

10/10 to Las Palmeras!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Lilfiish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Dock, Wales, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Me and my daughter have just come back from a lovely week in morocco. The good points, the hotel(Riad) was clean, tidy and the pool and hotel was spotless. On the night of arrival, no taxi driver at the airport had heard of the hotel, so arrange transport is advisable. Only the deputy manager to greet us, the hotel was dark, and locked up. It was not until next day that me and my daughter was advised that we were the only 2 guests. The other negiatives were that me and my daughter (21 years old) had to share a double bed, and that the hotel was locked up at 7pm until 7am and no staff on duty so if you required anything you could not get it. Breakfast was lovely and my daughter had great evening meals and lunch meals at the hotel. When the ower arrived back on Friday the whole hotel atomsphere changed, they could not do enough for us. It would have been good to have a heated pool. And if the hotel had their own transport into town it would have been cheaper than than the taxi which cost us (200 dirhams every trip) Marrakech is worth visting in the day and the night but especially at night. We will be back and we will stay at las palmeras, because overall we had a fab holiday. but we will be prepared and we will hire a vehicle i can not thank the staff and mohemmed enough thank you again see you in 2014xx

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
7.1 mi away
Corail Hotel
Corail Hotel
#465 of 500 in Marrakech
163 reviews
7.5 mi away
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
Amalay Hotel Marrakech
#448 of 500 in Marrakech
101 reviews
7.4 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#431 of 500 in Marrakech
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nabila
Riad Dar Nabila
#279 of 500 in Marrakech
111 reviews
6.9 mi away
Tachfine Hotel
Tachfine Hotel
#435 of 500 in Marrakech
107 reviews
5.7 mi away
Riad Dubai
Riad Dubai
#379 of 1,153 in Marrakech
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Palmeras? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Palmeras

Property: Las Palmeras
Address: Nouvelle Route de Ouarzazate | Next to Golf Royal, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #630 of 1,153 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Las Palmeras 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This guest house is located only 15 minutes from Marrakech's city centre and 10 minutes from the main golf courses. Las Palmeras offers comfortable and modern accommodation It is an ideal choice for guests arriving with children. Guestrooms provide you with an elegant and functional living space. They are all equipped with modern en suite facilities. Wi-Fi internet access is available in the hotel's public areas and is free of charge. Should you desire to eat on the terrace, the garden or by the pool the staff will meet your request. Tasty meals and snacks made with fresh produce from the market will be offered. A free shuttle is proposed from and to the airport and city centre. We speak your language! Bed and breakfast: 12 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Las Palmeras reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Palmeras Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing