We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL in every way!”
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Zahia
Ranked #160 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed January 10, 2014

It's been a really pleasant trip from the start! Good communication prior to arrival and everything that followed was well taken care of by Emanuela & Paolo & their staff. The raid is within walking distance to the souks and it's relatively easy to get to with good amenities nearby.

Jardin Anjar is unpretentiously beautiful - every piece of furniture and the small details. Waking up to the relaxing music played in the riad was one of the greatest things! They want you to feel at home and you just do as soon as you step into the riad. Love this place!

Breakfast was yummy - both food and drinks. The new year's eve feast prepared by the amazing Lina and the ladies at the riad - every dish was VERY YUMMY to say the least!! Emanuela & Paolo are great hosts, everyone had fun and it was a great night!

Many Thanks to Emanuela & Paolo... All their staff are very personable and welcoming, I wish them all the best... They're really nice people doing such a great job Mashallah :)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wingxoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Zahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 385 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

If you are looking at this Riad or Riad Anjar, just book! Everything that was said before is true. Wonderful building and staff for a holiday like a fairy tale from 1001 nights. Emanuela and Paolo and their staff have the philosophy this wonderful Riad should feel like your home and do everything to make you enjoy your holiday. Nice breakfast with variety, and every day fresh fruit and yoghurt. We ate in one evening and got a wonderful Tangia (not a tajine), something you will usually not get in the restaurants as it takes very long to prepare. Perfect location, a little north from the central square so within walking distance from all (maps on tripadvisor, booking.com and google are incorrect for the Medina) nice things to do. Walking to the Jardin Majorelle is 10-15 minutes (this is the furthest north you will go) and to the Royal gardens (furthest south) is also 10-15 minutes. Everything else within the Medina is 5 minutes away, top restaurant Maison MK even less than 1 minute. Disadvantages(Riad Anjar) as mentioned before are minor: Hard to regulate shower temperature and no insulation from noise as the doors to your room are part of a frame that is placed 5cm (2 inches) in front of the wall, leaving a wide gap. Very nice price compared to what is offered. So no need to look at the other 400 Riads!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joost v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

We stayed in this Riad last month and it was a very nice experience.
First time for us in Marrakech. The city is dazzling and with loads of tourists. We never felt unsafe.
The Riad is beautifully located in che center of the Medina. We were greeted at the airport and taken directly to the Riad, which was a delight to us.
Staff is delicious and always ready to help.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lashagan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I honestly cannot recommend this Riad enough, from picking me up from the airport, through to dropping me off at the end of my trip, everything was made perfect by Emanuela and Paolo and their staff, which feel more like a family to which you are accepted with open arms.

The rooms are exactly as described below and on their website, what you do not get a sense of is just how accommodating the owners are, i honestly felt like no matter what my question or request, anyone would have gone above and beyond to meet my needs. For example, at around 12 am on my second day into a four day trip, i decided i would like a trip into the atlas mountains, this was arranged almost instantly for a price that was extremely competitive whilst still providing an amazing experience

The owners do have another Riad less that five mins walk away, which seems to be the main Riad of the two however, that does not detract from the beauty of Riad Dar Zahia or the experience of the stay.

Although the Riad is tucked away down a little maze of alleyways, once you are shown how to get in and out, its absolutely fine. it is well light at night which does take away the imposing feeling of the rather tall buildings, anyone i passed in this alleyway maze greeted me with a smile and a good morning/afternoon/evening. It is worth noting that the other Riad although still tucked away, would be easier to find if not using the transfer service, which i personally suggest either way as it makes the whole experience far easier.

I will literally never stay anywhere else if i return to Morocco, the location of the Riad means you a no more than a 2min walk away from one of the many starts of the other maze that is the souks.

Thank you both for an amazing stay and i hope that all the other readers take you up on the amazing experience you offer.

Room Tip: I had the privilege of seeing all of the rooms in this Riad, all of which would have received the sa...
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aspiringexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I chose the Riad dar Zahia because of the glowing comments of others and I was not disappointed in any way. I cannot fault the hospitality, care and attention that was lavished on us by Paolo, Emanuela and their wonderful staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were given advice on where to eat and where to go. Paolo went with us to the foothills of the Atlas Mountains and acted as our guide which was a wonderful experience. We enjoyed a cooking lesson making a tagine and our own bread, etc. The Riad is absolutely splendid, so beautiful and comfortable where one is surrounded by beauty. The situation was perfect, being in the centre of the Medina and we were met the Airport and transported to our Riad. Paolo and Emanuela own another beautiful Riad about 5 minutes walk away where one is also welcome to come and go. We had our cooking lesson in this Riad, which has a small pool, and we also had some meals which were very good.

Room Tip: The Superior suite lives up to its name but they are all good
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I never would guess that in that dark (but very safe) alley in Marrakech there would be a hotel like this. a dream to enter. only a few rooms give you a feeling of being a vip person. they also threat you that way. The room was perfect and romantic, the atmosphere is great but above all the hoses Emanuela gives you a warm and family feeling during the stay. I will go back in the future

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Youssef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I had the most amazing stay and experience in Riad Dar Zahia and Marrakech. Despite all the reading about Marrakech to prepare myself and mom, we were still shock when we arrived at the Medina.
Our stay would not have been better without Emanuel and Paolo's tips and guidance. They even go out of the way to show us the Medina and help us to get our direction right as we arrived in the evening.

The Riad were adorned with all the beautiful local accessories, brass shower head, beautiful lantern etc. The breakfast was great, a balance breakfast that is just what one needed for a great start of the day. And the employees there are just fantastic, always happy and helpful.

Lastly, I would also recommend you to take up the travel that is organized by Paolo to visit the "real" Morocco outside Marrakech. My mom and me had a wonderful time. This is easily one of our top trip and stay at a hotel and I would love to visit again in the near future.

Room Tip: When I was booking the Riad, I noted that most of the Riad does not offer king size bed but it was a...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pscw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#150 of 502 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#9 of 502 in Marrakech
1,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#225 of 502 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,245 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Yasmine
Riad Yasmine
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
274 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $97 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Zahia 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 5-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy. LOFT Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for style, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, tadelakt, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture as well the beauty of boucherouite rugs that personalize the ambience and reflects the wonderful art expression of Berber womens. LOFT Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a stylish living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a big private terrace with view, surrounded by plants, three design suites comfortably sized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing