We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A Special Marrakech Riad Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Zahia
Ranked #89 of 511 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Special Marrakech Riad Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Raid Dar Zahia. The website is quite accurate as the detail of carved and painted wood is very special. There are only four rooms and you feel like you are visiting someone's home instead of a hotel. All of the rooms are large, well appointed and have great air conditioning if you need it.

Emanuela is from Italy and oozes warmth and charm. Her recommendations were also outstanding! She has very good taste and is really cool. She even arranged for us to go to a resort outside of town so we can lay by the pool, have a wonderful lunch and then return to the hustle and bustle of the Medina.

She will tell you how to negotiate with the taxi drivers and vendors too!

It was more like visiting a long lost friend in a magical Moroccan setting.

The breakfasts in the morning were more than enough food with fruit, yogurt, pastries, coffee, tea, orange juice and homemade local treats.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    33
    5
    5
    1
See reviews for
36
253
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Dar Zahia for four nights at the end of March 2013. It is a lovely place, as were the warm and friendly owners, Emanuela and Paolo. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. An excellent dinner is served downstairs in the central courtyard by a small fountain. The breakfasts are good too. There are beautiful flowers downstairs and in the rooms, and also on the peaceful roof terrace. We were given both of the (two) first floor rooms, and were the only guests, so the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed - which was much appreciated after returning from the busy nearby central square and souks. Emanuela and Paolo made us feel very much at home, even with small touches like Easter eggs and sharing the recipe of some of the delicious food that was served. We would warmly recommend Dar Zahia.

BB & CB

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BBCB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a perfect weekend at Dar Zahia, Emanuela & Paolo were incredibly accommodating and took great care of us, recommending and even walking us to restaurants, spas, and other activities.

The Riad itself is absolutely beautifully decorated and comfortable. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful too, but be sure to have them prepare dinner for you, we had the best tajin of our trip in the Riad. Recommend this riad 100%!

Room Tip: I recommend email them personally to determine which room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank orh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Divonne-les-Bains, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very charming Riad well located in the medina!
The room was huge, the breakfast excellent and the staff perfect!
The riad is very nice, very typical you really feel like being in an arabian fairy tale!

Special thanks to Manuela!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorking
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately we could stay for one night only. We were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely and the breakfast delicious.
Close and very convenient to the central square and within walking distance (30 minutes)of all the museums and other attractions.
We would definitely stay at Dar Ziah again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything at Riad Dar Zahia was perfect!! Emanuela was wonderful and very welcoming, helpful, and charming! Our lunch and breakfast there were delicious. The riad is beautiful and exotic!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly to friends. The best!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joycecritelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Bellingen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights, arriving on New Year's Eve, 2012. First of all, although it's legal for unmarried couples to share a room if they are non-moroccan, I've read that it can be a bit dicey depending on where you stay. Riad owners aren't legally inclined to put aside their Muslim beliefs just because you're a foreigner. This was NOT a problem at all in Dar Zahia. No questions asked and everyone was extremely pleasant.

My girlfriend and I had originally booked a different riad just around the corner called Riad Ilayka, but I believe they over-booked our room so upon arrival we were told we'd be staying at Dar Zahia with the same agreement—no funny business about rate changes or anything. I should note that we still had complete access to Riad Ilayka and the people over there were extremely nice. Riad Ilayka, although bigger and with a few more amenities, lacked the quaint touches and personal charm of Riad Dar Zahia. After meeting the owners of both riads, we were convinced that everything was fine. In the end I was happy with our arrangement.

Paulo and Emanuela, the owners of Dar Zahia were lovely people on all fronts. They were just getting started at this Riad but you couldn't tell based on the experience. Everything was immaculate and beautiful. They were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. If memory serves, Paulo is French and Emanueala is Italian. They both speak English.

Our room was terrific and the riad was clean and beautiful to look at. Wifi was available in the "lobby," which is the large open room on the first floor. Although we had a difficult time picking up the signal sometimes in our room on the second floor, if you are near the interior window it works fine.

Breakfast was delicious, featuring coffee, breads, jams and fruit as well as some kind of hot item—a Marrakechi pancake or some other regional specialty—each day. Dinner was delicious as well, although we only ate there once. You can buy a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price off of Paolo's iPad wine list! The technology was striking considering the ancient feeling of everything else in the city.

All in all it was a delightful stay. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are more secluded, but have poor wifi connectivity. I imagine the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jordachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad El Mansour
Riad El Mansour
#45 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#36 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.4 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#58 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#29 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#63 of 511 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
0.2 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#62 of 511 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Property: Riad Dar Zahia
Address: 60 derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#58 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Zahia 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 5-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy. LOFT Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for style, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, tadelakt, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture as well the beauty of boucherouite rugs that personalize the ambience and reflects the wonderful art expression of Berber womens. LOFT Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a stylish living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a big private terrace with view, surrounded by plants, three design suites comfortably sized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing