We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Dar!”
Review of Riad Dar Zaya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Zaya
Ranked #185 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed at Dar Zahia for four nights at the end of March 2013. It is a lovely place, as were the warm and friendly owners, Emanuela and Paolo. It is beautifully decorated and very comfortable. An excellent dinner is served downstairs in the central courtyard by a small fountain. The breakfasts are good too. There are beautiful flowers downstairs and in the rooms, and also on the peaceful roof terrace. We were given both of the (two) first floor rooms, and were the only guests, so the atmosphere was quiet and relaxed - which was much appreciated after returning from the busy nearby central square and souks. Emanuela and Paolo made us feel very much at home, even with small touches like Easter eggs and sharing the recipe of some of the delicious food that was served. We would warmly recommend Dar Zahia.

BB & CB

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBCB_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 385 reviews

Reviewed April 7, 2013

Had a perfect weekend at Dar Zahia, Emanuela & Paolo were incredibly accommodating and took great care of us, recommending and even walking us to restaurants, spas, and other activities.

The Riad itself is absolutely beautifully decorated and comfortable. The rooms were very large and comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful too, but be sure to have them prepare dinner for you, we had the best tajin of our trip in the Riad. Recommend this riad 100%!

Room Tip: I recommend email them personally to determine which room is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orh203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Very charming Riad well located in the medina!
The room was huge, the breakfast excellent and the staff perfect!
The riad is very nice, very typical you really feel like being in an arabian fairy tale!

Special thanks to Manuela!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Xavier R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately we could stay for one night only. We were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely and the breakfast delicious.
Close and very convenient to the central square and within walking distance (30 minutes)of all the museums and other attractions.
We would definitely stay at Dar Ziah again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything at Riad Dar Zahia was perfect!! Emanuela was wonderful and very welcoming, helpful, and charming! Our lunch and breakfast there were delicious. The riad is beautiful and exotic!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly to friends. The best!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycecritelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights, arriving on New Year's Eve, 2012. First of all, although it's legal for unmarried couples to share a room if they are non-moroccan, I've read that it can be a bit dicey depending on where you stay. Riad owners aren't legally inclined to put aside their Muslim beliefs just because you're a foreigner. This was NOT a problem at all in Dar Zahia. No questions asked and everyone was extremely pleasant.

My girlfriend and I had originally booked a different riad just around the corner called Riad Ilayka, but I believe they over-booked our room so upon arrival we were told we'd be staying at Dar Zahia with the same agreement—no funny business about rate changes or anything. I should note that we still had complete access to Riad Ilayka and the people over there were extremely nice. Riad Ilayka, although bigger and with a few more amenities, lacked the quaint touches and personal charm of Riad Dar Zahia. After meeting the owners of both riads, we were convinced that everything was fine. In the end I was happy with our arrangement.

Paulo and Emanuela, the owners of Dar Zahia were lovely people on all fronts. They were just getting started at this Riad but you couldn't tell based on the experience. Everything was immaculate and beautiful. They were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. If memory serves, Paulo is French and Emanueala is Italian. They both speak English.

Our room was terrific and the riad was clean and beautiful to look at. Wifi was available in the "lobby," which is the large open room on the first floor. Although we had a difficult time picking up the signal sometimes in our room on the second floor, if you are near the interior window it works fine.

Breakfast was delicious, featuring coffee, breads, jams and fruit as well as some kind of hot item—a Marrakechi pancake or some other regional specialty—each day. Dinner was delicious as well, although we only ate there once. You can buy a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price off of Paolo's iPad wine list! The technology was striking considering the ancient feeling of everything else in the city.

All in all it was a delightful stay. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are more secluded, but have poor wifi connectivity. I imagine the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jordachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here with friends and we booked out the whole house.
Was a great stay, really felt like we were in Morocco with such intricate architecture everyone that the eye can see.

The beds were comfortable and the place was clean.
There is a lady that stays there the whole time to make sure we were comfortable. She doesnt speak English but we got by okay on French.

The only downsides were that toilet paper kept running out (probably coz there were six of us and I think toilet paper is seen as a pretty western thing) and that the roof terrace has high walls and no real view. The place is also a little bit hard to find through the windy alleyways, even our guide got lost at first, but it's an ancient city and that's the way it should be experienced anyway. Once you memorise the turns, it is really a great location and right in the heart of the medina close to the main square and all the action.

The breakfasts were good but the dinners were better! We should have booked more dinners at the house as we discovered that Moroccan home food is far better than anything you could get at a restaurant. And better value. The dinner has to be booked in advance but the lady who cooks for this house is a an amazing cook. Restaurant food in Marrakesh tended to be pretty same-same. Home food is where its at.

The owner is a young guy, incredibly laid back and pretty cool guy to chat with.

There is a fireplace that was pretty fun to sit around at night with some drinks (we stayed in winter).

Overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#140 of 500 in Marrakech
235 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#27 of 500 in Marrakech
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 500 in Marrakech
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#249 of 500 in Marrakech
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#41 of 500 in Marrakech
1,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#77 of 500 in Marrakech
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaya

Address: 60 derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#126 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: $74 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Zaya 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT Riad Dar Zaya enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 5-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy. LOFT Dar Zaya has been renovated with the utmost respect for style, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, tadelakt, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture as well the beauty of boucherouite rugs that personalize the ambience and reflects the wonderful art expression of Berber womens. LOFT Dar Zaya consists of an amazing open-air patio, a stylish living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a big private terrace with view, surrounded by plants, three design suites comfortably sized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Prestigia and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Dar Zaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing