We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Zaya
Nearby Hotels
Riad Jaaneman(Marrakech)
$237
$192
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$371
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$256
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
$93
$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
El Fenn(Marrakech)
$383
$357
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$410
$308
Relais & Châteaux
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$593
$516
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$280
$260
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$249
$225
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,058
$1,016
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (394)
Filter reviews
394 results
Traveler rating
341
40
6
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
40
6
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscarry your luggagethe main squareyogurtwinding streetslovely riadbustling medinadouble bedeach morningalliedtaxisignalportercamelmaprooftop
Filter
Updating list...
93 - 98 of 394 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Unfortunately we could stay for one night only. We were warmly welcomed and our room was lovely and the breakfast delicious.
Close and very convenient to the central square and within walking distance (30 minutes)of all the museums and other attractions.
We would definitely stay at Dar Ziah again

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Everything at Riad Dar Zahia was perfect!! Emanuela was wonderful and very welcoming, helpful, and charming! Our lunch and breakfast there were delicious. The riad is beautiful and exotic!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly to friends. The best!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. You can't go wrong.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycecritelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights, arriving on New Year's Eve, 2012. First of all, although it's legal for unmarried couples to share a room if they are non-moroccan, I've read that it can be a bit dicey depending on where you stay. Riad owners aren't legally inclined to put aside their Muslim beliefs just because you're a foreigner. This was NOT a problem at all in Dar Zahia. No questions asked and everyone was extremely pleasant.

My girlfriend and I had originally booked a different riad just around the corner called Riad Ilayka, but I believe they over-booked our room so upon arrival we were told we'd be staying at Dar Zahia with the same agreement—no funny business about rate changes or anything. I should note that we still had complete access to Riad Ilayka and the people over there were extremely nice. Riad Ilayka, although bigger and with a few more amenities, lacked the quaint touches and personal charm of Riad Dar Zahia. After meeting the owners of both riads, we were convinced that everything was fine. In the end I was happy with our arrangement.

Paulo and Emanuela, the owners of Dar Zahia were lovely people on all fronts. They were just getting started at this Riad but you couldn't tell based on the experience. Everything was immaculate and beautiful. They were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. If memory serves, Paulo is French and Emanueala is Italian. They both speak English.

Our room was terrific and the riad was clean and beautiful to look at. Wifi was available in the "lobby," which is the large open room on the first floor. Although we had a difficult time picking up the signal sometimes in our room on the second floor, if you are near the interior window it works fine.

Breakfast was delicious, featuring coffee, breads, jams and fruit as well as some kind of hot item—a Marrakechi pancake or some other regional specialty—each day. Dinner was delicious as well, although we only ate there once. You can buy a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price off of Paolo's iPad wine list! The technology was striking considering the ancient feeling of everything else in the city.

All in all it was a delightful stay. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are more secluded, but have poor wifi connectivity. I imagine the first floor room has better connectivity, but it's directly connected to the main "lobby" (can't remember what the room is called in Arabic). If you don't have plans some night, stick around for a delicious traditional Marrakechi dinner!
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jordachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2012

Stayed here with friends and we booked out the whole house.
Was a great stay, really felt like we were in Morocco with such intricate architecture everyone that the eye can see.

The beds were comfortable and the place was clean.
There is a lady that stays there the whole time to make sure we were comfortable. She doesnt speak English but we got by okay on French.

The only downsides were that toilet paper kept running out (probably coz there were six of us and I think toilet paper is seen as a pretty western thing) and that the roof terrace has high walls and no real view. The place is also a little bit hard to find through the windy alleyways, even our guide got lost at first, but it's an ancient city and that's the way it should be experienced anyway. Once you memorise the turns, it is really a great location and right in the heart of the medina close to the main square and all the action.

The breakfasts were good but the dinners were better! We should have booked more dinners at the house as we discovered that Moroccan home food is far better than anything you could get at a restaurant. And better value. The dinner has to be booked in advance but the lady who cooks for this house is a an amazing cook. Restaurant food in Marrakesh tended to be pretty same-same. Home food is where its at.

The owner is a young guy, incredibly laid back and pretty cool guy to chat with.

There is a fireplace that was pretty fun to sit around at night with some drinks (we stayed in winter).

Overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2012

Two friends and I stayed in Riad dar zahia, after a trip in the desert and before going to Casablanca.To stay at this Riad made our visit to Marocco particulary lovely.Great hospitality
and good service in a traditional house located in an old area of the city. The friendly atmosphere and the extreme helpfulness of our host Tarek was fantastic.We would recommend you dinner at the Riad , the food is really good.
David L

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews